We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central and affordable hotel to stay in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensao Estacao Central
Ranked #192 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very central and affordable hotel to stay in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and founded this hotel clean and cozy. I understood that is family run and very central just near 1º de Dezembro street in center Lisbon, just aside Rossio train station. I highly recommend this place as it did work fine for me. If you wish to be in center LIsbon just a 1 minute walk away from Rossio central square and Teatro D. Maria II this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    90
    59
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
67
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Small hotel, good for a short trip to Lisbon. Depending on what kind of trip you are doing, this hotel can meet your expectations (of course is not a Kempinski or a Crowne, but it's good in it's range and price). The staff is friendly and helpful, they speak good english. At the reception you can buy very cheap drinks (1-2 euro). The hotel is located less than one block away from Rossio in Chiado district, close to many attractions and restaurants (the Aerobus from the airport drops you almost in front), it is in a second floor and the access is granted electronically from the reception only; there is only stairs so don't bring lots of luggage. I travelled alone in November 2011, and I had a small room with double bed, tv, fan, closet and a small bathroom with hot water. I just stayed one night, but as I was going to spend most of my time outside, I needed just a bed and a bathroom. The bed is not the most comfortable one but it was ok to sleep on, it was clean and with enough blankets for a cold night. The bathroom was also clean, with clean towels and the usual toiletries. Not sure if they offer any sort of food service or internet. It is a good deal for only 25 euro/night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Good location, just off Rossio. My room had a good view when the window was opened.
Security was spot on as the entrance to the hotel as well as each hallway was buzz thru controlled by the desk clerk.
The room was a little disappointing I'm 5'11, and the bed ended at my ankles leaving me sleeping diagonally on the bed. The room itself was just about a foot each direction larger than the bed. At one point I actually took towels from the bathroom and pushed up to the room door in an attempt to keep out the stench of cigarette smoke- wish it had worked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sctt2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September this year and the rooms were really small. The 3 piece bathroom I couldn't put my knees straight in front of me when sitting on the toilet so had to keep the door open and knees to the right, I'm only 5 feet 6 inches so not very tall. That was a bit inconvenient to say the least and it was a bit of a process to shower in the tiny shower. The room and bedding were clean but the beds were hard as nails.. Location was great though. Right behind the railway station and walking distance to the local walking street and lots of shops and restaurants all within reach. The staff were very helpful and this helped to compensate for the size of the rooms. There was a fan in the room which helped as it was 38 degrees while we were there but it cooled off at night. Also, we could open the 2 big windows which also helped. A tad noisy at night with them both open though as there's bars very close. The main problem was space and bed quality. An older pensione for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynneVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I agree with other reviews. Very neat, tiny rooms, comfortable and hugde beds, clean bath. Very helpful and nice staff. When i asked, they took my baby food into the frigde. For 50euro it was perfect for us. Fantastic location. There were only three weak points:
- noise from the street
- no air condition
- no elevator

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

As seen and disapointed by other reviews, it is true that you have to hold the shower head with your hand that there is no lift or parking and that the decoration has not been designed by norman foster, however i do think that we have to stop being greedy and want to get luxury for peanuts! The hotel is a very good value for price and location.

We took a three bedroom + 1 additional bed which is enough if you don't plan to stay too much at the hotel. We did not get any drug offered in front of the hotel.

The staff were very nice and helpfull with requests notvrelated to the accomodation ( advices, locations).

So if you plan to have waterjets and nespresso machines pull more money from your pocket or accept that you will have what you paid for!

I sleep in all kind of hotels and even though i spend nights in famous hotel rooms/suites it was great to have such a hotel while sharing a trip with old friends.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sifounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

For 50 euro a night, this place was perfect for us. Jump off the ultra cheap airport bus at Rossi, walk 5 metres, turn to your right and walk 10m and there you go. Or if you come back from Sintra on the train, Rossi station is only across the road.

Spoke with about 4 different staff members and they were great, lovely & friendly (and most of them spoke great English). The pensao is small & budget. Kind of like going to an old aunt/grandmothers place many years ago. It won't win any style awards but I'd have no qualms returning. Actually, I did return when I was departing from Lisbon a week later. Rooms were small, bed was comfortable, room was clean, tv worked, spare powerpoint to charge all our devices etc. There was decent sized wardrobe to hang clothes/stash bags etc. No remarkable views (neighbours courtyard was rather unexciting). Bathroom in one room was ultra small - I'm not large by any means, but sitting on the loo left little space between tub & wall. The other bathroom had just a bit more space. Yes, it is only a hand held shower.

This isn't the kind of hotel you take someone to for a romantic weekend. But if you like heading out for a few drinks, 5 minutes up the stairs & you've got loads of bars to choose from, was really busy on the Friday night we were there, loads of people drinking in the street and enjoying themselves. If you want to jump the tourist buses, they aren't too far away either. Yes, there are some slightly dubious characters that hang out nearby. But seriously, there isn't a railway station in the world that doesn't have shady characters trying to do deals. I may have only been on the streets of Lisboa for 5 minutes and had some one offer me hashish. But hey, that's Lisboa's reputation and the locals are sticking to it. I didn't feel threatened in this area of Lisboa - not at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#137 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#217 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Residencial O Paradouro
#147 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#175 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Estacao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Estacao Central

Property: Pensao Estacao Central
Address: Calcada do Carmo, 17 - 2o, 3o, Lisbon 1200-093, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Estacao Central 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensao Estacao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Estacao Central Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing