We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfama Patio Hostel
Ranked #16 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a great hostel in a great location. The staff was extremely friendly, the garden was fabulous, breakfast on the terrace in the morning was awesome and all the facilities in the building were exquisite as well. This hostel really added to my Lisboa experience...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molloy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
55
177
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My amazing experience in Lisbon can be attributed to my wonderful time at this hostel. The staff was so personable and willing to answer any questions that we had regarding day trips, getting around and group hostel activities. They really took the time to make sure we settled in, even for the four days we stayed. Besides the staff the view from the patio was amazing, breakfast was spectacular (crepes!) and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I cannot recommend this hostel enough; it definitely stole my heart.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Amazing atmosphere, location and staff! I felt really welcome and the daily activities and many Fado loctions nearby made it very easy to meet people. I cant wait to stay there again soon! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finlay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This will be the furst review I hope I'm writing even before I 've stayed at a place! I made a booking with them via Booking.com for 22-24Aug'14. Booking.com clearly said in the booking confirmation that NO PREPAYMENT whatsoever is required for any of the hostel bookings. The Alfama hostel guys mailed me asking Credit card no., Expiry date AND the Security code (or aknown as CVV no.) It definitely struck me as unusual as none of the ther hotels / hostels I've ever booked (on this trip alone I've booked 6 hostels all via Booking.com) have not asked for my card details.
Within an hour of me sharing the card no. & expiry date, I get two alerts on my mobile phone saying two invalid transactions have been attempted on my card but declined due to incorrect CVV!
The Alfama guys claim claim it's a 'Misunderstanding' & they were only trying to 'VALIDATE MY CARD'!!! with nothing really being charged!!... that's what they mailed me saying!!!.. My question is (1) The transaction / attempt to validate my card without my knowledge is in itself considered to be a FRAUD! I checked this with my credit card co. - Citibank (2) The practise always is that on arrival the staff will ask for the credit card & then block certain amount as security... Am also attaching the screenshots as validity of all that I've written here...people BEWARE of this place!!! BOOK AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarati_Bose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Originally I was supposed to stay at the sister hostel, Sunset Destination Hostel (also wonderful), but due to a booking mistake, I ended up finding an extra room here! And I am so happy that I was able to stay here for a few nights. The staff, as I expected, was wonderful, friendly, funny, and helpful. One of my favorite parts of the hostel is the intimacy of it - it is so easy to talk to other people and make friends through just sitting out on the patio or in the main common room. The beds are great and the hostel is very clean!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ejfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was just top! A big thank to the Alfama Patio team: welcoming, smiling, everything clean, beautiful and quiet patio, super well loclised in the city center, like a family house ... I was like at home :-)
I already miss this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damaris444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my first stay ever at a hostel in my life but it was worth it! A very nice hostel, lovely and great staff ! I had a shared bathroom, which was very clean The breakfast was really good and I´ve taken a seat at their wonderful terrace with a fantastic view to the Tejo river every morning! The little garden was beautiful and they also offer every night dinner for less money but with a great value! Special thanks to Carlos in my special case! He helped me so much in this strange situation I´ve had!! I would always recommed this cool place for every age!!

Constanze from Berlin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsTanze67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#131 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfama Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfama Patio Hostel

Property: Alfama Patio Hostel
Address: Escolas Gerais 3, Lisbon 1100-213, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alfama Patio Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hostels in the world. Lots of character and atmosphere, where you will feel immediately as at your home. A private patio and a terrace with stunning view over the river and Alfama. In the oldest district of Lisbon, a cheap accommodation where everything started. Free wi-fi, delicious breakfast included, and a fully equipped kitchen for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alfama Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing