We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #67 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

4 night stay 4th to 8th July. What can anyone complain about about this Hotel. New, modern luxury rooms. Great buffet breakfast to start the day off. Ideal location for visiting this great interesting city.Staff extremley helpfull.
Used the open top bus tours to see all the sights, done lots of walking,used the local metro,it was so easy to get about. Taxi 9 euros from the airport.
Used the train to go to the beach at Cascais, recommend a visit for a relaxing day.
If we want we can all pick little faults with any hotel, take my honest view, go stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed.
Also forgot to mentions the bottle of wine and fruit sent by the manager to celebrate my birthday,what a loveley gesture.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floors to get good view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Very nice hotel with excellent staff ... spent a week and never had a bad experience ... highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The trip was excellent, lisbon is a great city. there are a lot of thing to do, everyday we woke up a had breakfast, and get on the sight seeing, and come back late night we our foot tired and almost swollen, and go straight to the shower and straight to bed, the room was amazing starting with the bed...or maybe we were so tired that we just past out...LOL i highly recommend this hotel is located en the heart of the city within walking distance to the metro, train station, buses and downtown!! if you go to lisbon don´t forget to visit Belem and Sintra, two of the most beautiful places that I ever seen in my life!!!
Lisboa, Maginfica!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed there 6 nights between 20.06 and 26.06.
Let's begin with what makes it a good hotel:
good location next to Avenida metro station, on a quiet street
very comfortable bed and excellent sound isolation, room size very decent, free wifi working very well.

Now to what makes it a 4 Star hotel instead of 5 Stars:
no porter, ridiculous bar tucked between entrance/elevators/reception desk.
restaurant/room service are a shame: had ordered 2 veal entrecotes with roasted vegetables and fruit salad covered in honey from room service; first, it did not come on a trolley, which does not make it easy for 2 people to eat in a room with only one chair; then vegetables had been replaced by basic frozen fries, and honey forgotten on the non ripe fruits.
bathroom amenities are no better than in an Ibis hotel.
no pay tv, only basic portuguese/spanish/german channels
And finally, airco is turned off when the card is retrieved from its reader, so expect a very warm room when you return at the end of the day...not 5 Stars!

And last but not least, cleanliness is far from perfect as already mentioned by other reviewers (lots of dust and stains on bathroom floor).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paddymunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Yoqu can go anywhere from here to downtown to the barrio alto, to baixa, anyway is a very central location, Lisbon is beautiful, but be aware of the thieves on the train, buses and specially on the tram 28!

I will come back to lisbon in a heartbeat to eat the pastels do Belem, in bakery called pastels do Belem, they are fresh, warm and delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divalicioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

With all the praise from other guests, I do feel a little out of place pointing out negative aspects of this hotel, but that is what Tripadvisor is here for, isn't it ? Well, I do not want to fall too harsh on the Eurostar which is a good choice for a three-day getaway break in Lisbon. Ideally located close to the Avenue of Liberty (main avenue leading to the city centre), Parks and museums (Lisbon is not such a big city anyway), it shall indeed be stressed that it is in a very quiet location, with great views on the city roofs and Castle of St George.

The decor is somehow neutral with this tendency to strive for a lounge atmosphere (mainly based on dim lighting, dark wook, use of steel, hi tech and a twist of fantasy in some of the furniture).....pretty much like anywhere else which does not provide the premises with a strong personality. The suite was a good size, with a bathroom the same size as the room. Actually got the impression that "suite" is a big word aimed at charging more for what really is a large room with a partition with the tiny TV/sofa area. Overall, a very quiet and peaceful experience, in a brand new hotel. So where did it go wrong ? Why do I feel that this is not at all a 5 star experience ? (pretty far from it actually)

Well, dark wood is fine but it requires skills at dust cleaning. And it felt bad when realising that the cleaning was a bit neglected and the furniture in the room covered in a thin layer of dust, revealing a not-too-thorough daily room cleaning. Also the front desk staff is ranging from amiable enough to completely indifferent and even verging on slightly rude. When asked when the room would be ready/cleaned (4:30 pm on the second day!) I was answered that I should have more clearly put the "please tidy the room" thingy onto the handle....my oh my, what did I do. Not up to a 5 star standard, I'm telling you.

Bar / restaurant area also need rethinking as this looks like a train station waiting lounge with no intimacy or frame to enjoy a drink / meal in a relaxed area. Breakfast is good enough also apart from the fruits nothing seems really fresh (frozen pastries, ready made fruit juice, Heaven for this price, can't you squeeze some oranges ???) and instant coffee.

Well there are many bright sides to compensate, but I would certainly try another place on my next stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwenFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Booking through Eurobooking.com, we were able to secure a room rate of $104e. It was a real value.

This high-end, modern hotel has lovely rooms with great amenities. A large bathroom with fun shower and a large tub was just what we needed to end our Portugal vacation. The large king-size bed wasn't what we'd requested (two women traveling together), but was spacious enough that we could sleep separately. The sheets and pillows were great (requested two additional pillows and they were brought immediately).

Located midway up one of the seven hills that makes up Lisbon, it was within easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see, including St. Jorge Castle.

We didn't eat at Das Letras, as $18e per person for breakfast is silly. There are many nice cafes to experience at a more reasonable rate -- but mostly pastry and coffee -- not what most would consider a real breakfast.
.
When we checked in, our room wasn't ready and they offered us use of the gym bathrooms to freshen up and change. That was a very nice gesture which we accepted. They then stored our bags for us while we started to explore the city.
Once back at the hotel, they found one of our two bags, but then kept bringing out bags that weren't ours. Would be bad if people weren't honest.

Our room included robes and slippers, hairdryer, iron/board, safe and mini bar. Free wifi in rooms and a business center if you don't have your computer with you.

We did have one drink in the bar and would not recommend it. I wanted a plain vodka martini and the bar tender insisted on putting vermouth in it. YUCK. The bar total was $20e without tip. That's almost $30usd for two drinks. Seemed like a lot to me.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Altis Grand Hotel
Altis Grand Hotel
#87 of 255 in Lisbon
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altis Prime
Altis Prime
#53 of 255 in Lisbon
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#16 of 255 in Lisbon
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6 12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £66 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Eurostars, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing