We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Will stay here the next time we're in Lisbon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #67 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

From the moment we walked into the lobby, we knew the hotel was absolutely class. Staff were very friendly and made the check-in/out process speedy and hassle-free. The room was excellent, definitely more than what we expected it to be. Bed was very comfortable (only drawback was that it wasn't a double bed, but two singles pushed together) and the provided coffee-making facilities are always a plus. Location was very good, very near Marques de Pombal Square and the centre of the city itself.

Our complete review can be found at our food blog here, http://www.eatonlylar.com/indian-food/restaurante-tamarind

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatOnlyLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

We loved this hotel- stayed with my partner in this gay friendly hotel close to the center & not far away from the night life. The rooms are modern, spacious & the breakfast fantastic! It also has wifi in the room & a coffee maker. Plus , service was attentive. A great deal for under 100 Euros.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markusinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I would recommend this hotel if your're staying in Lisbon. The staff were excellent, very helpful on directions and give you city maps if you require them. Breakfast was good, served indoors or out (weather dependent).
My only crictism can be the size of the gym, which is very small for a 5 star hotel, and no swimming pool. Location was central but a fair walk up a hill from the main street to get to, as with most of Lisbon .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James-nh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

None of the guide books to Lisbon really state how hilly the city really is! It is an uphill battle most of the time so anyone wanting a bit of exercise Lison is the city to visit!!! The Hotel Das Letras is a great hotel in a good location. It does not quite meet the 5* rating maybe a good 4*- lacks tea/coffee facilities and shower caps! The hotel is situated in a quite area about 10 mins walk from the city centre but just off one of Lisbon's main streets- Avenida Da Liberdade. We took the bus(aerobus €3.50 on board) from the airport and got off at Marques de Pombal roundabout. It took us about 5 mins to walk to the hotel. The hotel is very modern in decor with a nice bar and restaurant just off the lobby. The staff at reception were really helpful and recommended 3 really fabulous restaurants.
I highly recommend the restaurant "Solar dos Presuntos" which is literally across the main road from the hotel , down a lane on R. Portas santo Antao. We were the only tourists in the full restaurant which is a good sign. Get the hotel to reserve a table for you. If you like fish and particularly lobster you can choose your own from the massive tank just inside the door. The restaurant state that they make the best chocolate dessert in the world and they are not wrong!!!! This is a really quaint and old fashioned restaurant with fabulous food and I am not a fish eater normally but was converted in this restaurant!!!!

For a totally different vibe try the chic and trendy "Sacramento" restaurant on Calcada do Sacramento. The food here was also very good and the atmoshere was buzzing. As we were only in Lisbon for a weekend we made the most of the gastronomic experiences available. If you like Argentinian food try "La Paparrucha" on R. D. Pedro V. The food and the views are amazing.

Visit the castle and try out the fabulous wine and cheese available in the small winebar (Wine bar do Castelo, Rua Bartolomeu de Gusmao) beside it. Do not bother with a two day yellow bus sightseeing tour- it literally drives up and down every street it can but unfortunately there are no sights on most of them unless you want to see friends and family queuing up to visit the inmates in Lisbon prison!!!!! Jeronimos Monastery is really worth a vist as is the Gulbenkian Museum. MUDE- the museum of Design was very interesting as was the Museu Antoniano- museum about St. Anthony of Padua who was born in Lisbon. Take tram 28 as it passes a lot of Lisbon's tourists attractions and the trip is worth the experince alone. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purplepats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very nice this hotel. A super price for great location. Breakfast is expensive but the pastelaria Picasso is two minutes away and is great. The best nata in Lisbon
We pay € 92 per person. Good price for a five-star hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel is ok for a short stay. Nothing special about it. The location is quite convenient, although not perfect. It is situated in 5 minutes walking distance from Avenue Liberdade on a steep hill. Underground station is not far though. The interior of the lobby and the room is too dark to my taste.
The service and staff are very good, they are friendly and nice. The room is quite spacious. There the pros end. 
I did not like: the air con is really loud - one can't sleep when it's on. You can open the window but a giant piece of some equipment at the back of the hotel produces a loud monotonous noise, so that is not an ideal option either. 
There is a sauna in the hotel but no jaccuzi or a swimming pool. Strange for a 5 star hotel.
In my opinion, the hotel is a 4 at max. 

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for a week and found it really comfortable. The staff was extremely attentive, polite and helpful -- indeed, we found the people in Lisbon to be some of the friendliest we've met on a city break. Breakfast was very good, room was very comfortable and cleaned extensively every morning. The hotel is only 10-15mins walk away from the town centre and 3mins from Avenida metro stop in a quiet and safe area. We ate in a couple of lovely restaurants: Flor da Laranja on Rua da Rosa in the Bairro Alto region, an authentic Moroccan with a friendly host and 1º de Maio on Rua da Atalaia also in Bairro Alto, which is an authentic Portuguese serving great seafood and black pig. We ate in a poor Indian called Bengal Tandoori, which we certainly wouldn't recommend.

If you have time, Cascais is a wonderful place to go to on a day trip (take the train from Cais do Sodré, as the sight seeing tours are a rip-off). In Cascais eat some piri piri chicken and chips with salad at Dom Manolo (doesn't look anything special, but it's delicious and very good value) like Nando's food, but half the price.

Sintra is also worth spending a day in (train from Rossio) and if you only look round one sight it has to be Palacio da Pena (get the 434 bus as it's a long way to walk uphill). You can see the Moorish castle from the palace wall.

If you go on the 28 tram get a day pass from the metro machine at around €4.60, which allows you to travel on trams, metros and busses all day as much as you like as opposed to the €2.50 charge for a single journey on the tram.

The Oceanario is amazing and the pastries at Belem are so good it's hard to exaggerate -- it's the same price to sit inside and be served at Antiga Confeitaria de Belem as it is to buy them to take away, so sit in and buy the coffee and food ad it's cheap and delicious. I went and ate custard tarts twice within a couple of hours. They're delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyDrewPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
The Vintage Lisboa
#59 of 253 in Lisbon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altis Grand Hotel
#89 of 253 in Lisbon
910 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 253 in Lisbon
905 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 253 in Lisbon
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6-12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £95 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing