We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #68 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Very nice, spacious and clean rooms. Really good breakfast buffet. Service is attentive and efficient. The bed was really comfortable which is not always the case even in hotels in this category. And finally, very well situated, right by the Liberdade avenue but without all the noise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank User1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

I would have liked to have given this hotel 4 stars, but having been woken up every morning at 4am by the lifts, despite being told by the helpful chap who booked us in that we had a quiet room, I'm afraid I couldn't. We had a suite which had a good sized bedroom with HUGE comfy bed (not 2 twins pushed together), 2 TVs, ensuite with lovely big shower, a reasonable sized lounge, tiny kettle with teabags and a long thin balcony. The windows from both the bedroom and the lounge are sliding doors so you can step out onto the balcony from both rooms. The lifts, and therefore our room, was on the side of the hotel which faces the St Georges Castle and has a fantastic view over a large part of Lisbon, including the river. We also had the great sunrises and sunsets on our side to watch, but the balcony is not especially wide for chairs to sit on whilst you enjoy the view.
We booked to include breakfast (cheaper than paying once there). There was the usual choices - cereals, fruits, toast, breads, yogurts, meats and cheeses, scrambled egg, warm bacon, pancakes, (very) small selection of pastries, a variety of juices and teas, coffee etc.
There is free internet access (not v fast connection) in the reception area (behind the stairs) - only 2 PCs available, but they do have a printer which you can also use for free.
The hotel is situated down a quiet narrow street which runs off the Avenida da Liberdade - the street is rather steep (think Bath, or Winchester), OK except gets you slightly out of breath when you've been walking all day or had a big dinner. To Rossio station it takes about 15min to walk. The Avenida metro station is just where the side-street the hotel is up meets the Avenida - so very convenient for this. You can buy re-chargeable tickets for the metro for 50cents each, and once empty you can use them for another mode of transport e.g. boats. You wouldn't need a car for sightseeing around Lisbon, although the hotel does have parking available.
There is a nice (but pricey) seafood restaurant on the corner of the hill opposite the metro station, and loads of other restaurants and cafes further into town. There's also a couple of little cafes actually on the hill up to the hotel, and a Thai restaurant though didn't visit them. If you turn right out of the hotel, rather than left and first left down the hill, there are also restaurants along that road, and on the streets coming off this so no problem finding dinner. The hotel serves a few dishes for lunch/dinner in the lobby (the bar is to the left as you enter the hotel, with the reception desk to the right). All in all, I think the hotel could be comfortable if you want to be relatively central but don't mind steep hills, if you got a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed for 8 nights. We had asked for a room with views & were allotted a room on the 8th floor. Room was a good size, bathroom was large & kept clean. Coffee & tea facilities in the room, toiletries replenished as they were used up, room cleaned well each day. Location of the hotel was excellent, - just off Liberdade with its restaurants & upmarket shops. People at the front desk were friendly & helpful and gave us many tips of where to eat, restaurants for new year's eve, etc. Computer & printer is just behind the reception & there is no charge to use them. One aspect to note is that with luggage, it is a steep upslope (gradient) to the hotel. We took a taxi and paid 12 euros one way. The only downside was that there was no milk for the tea & we could not manage to open the mini-bar & hence could not stock milk. Otherwise, a 5-star experience.

Room Tip: Request room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rain66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This place is just wonderful. Impeccable service, decor and details... We stayed in the Henrik Ibsen room and it was amazing—great view, awesome sound system, two tv's, spa like bathroom, big robes, slippers, great toiletries, mini bar, coffee/tea set and a huge real bed (not twins pushed together). The hotel is a short walk from the downtown area but you can also easily get to the barrio alto which has great restaurants and shops. Very near the hotel there are taxi stands, public transit and several fantastic restaurants/cafeterias.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momomoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Pro's - Wow! This hotel is fabulous - a true representation of 5star hotels. I was a bit dubious that a 5star hotel was so reasonably priced, but I needn´t have been. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and all speak English very well. The hotel lobby is beautiful and has plenty of lounges to sit in, and a small bar area which also serves light meals in the evening (by a very friendly and polite gentleman whose name I unfortunatley did not get). The room is enormous and contemporary. I requested a large bed when I made the booking as my husband is over 6ft and when I emailed a month before our arrival to confirm our booking, the hotel very quickly responded and advised they would give us a king bed, which they certainly did. The gym is well equipped, and the breakfast is fantastic - a huge variety of cold meats and cheeses, bacon and eggs, cereals, pastries (you must try the Portugese pastries!!!). Parking is underground, very secure, and reasonably priced.

The Con's - We had no wifi coverage in our room using our iphone, however we were happy to sit in the bar area and take advantage of the free niblies that came with our drinks and the fantastic service. The shower, whilst beautiful, is small - room only for one. If you are after a meal in the hotel, the restaurant does not open at night - you can choose from the small selection of light meals available in the bar, but as this hotel is such a short stroll to the inner city, you are better advised to walk there and dine in one of the many restaurants in the old town (just ignore the odour in some spots in the neighbourhood especially if you are there in summer).

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, so the only suggestion I can make is to request a king bed, which...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

we stayed here for 7 nights.Most important for us was: a quiet room and a comfortable bed.The room, and the hotel were very clean.The service was unbelievably good. On top of all that a really nice breakfast, again with great service.The location was practical (close to public transport, but also walking distance to different interesting neighbourhoods)and we had a nice view (from our little balcony)

Room Tip: we think the backside of the hotel (where we were) has the nicest views.We aksed a quiet room, got r...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia-louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Talk about a trendy hotel in a perfect location, the Euro Star was an excellent value. Although we never really hung out at the restaurant or bar, the place was clean and modern, the staff was friendly, and the room impressive. We had a little junior suite with a mini living room and bed combination, two flat screen TV's that really had a nice layout for two people. The bed was big, clean and super comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate and the housekeeping people were right on top of it, keep our place dialed in the whole time we stayed (6 days/5nights). They have a small workout gym but the equipment is new and more than enough to keep fit. The management was professional and everything from checkin to checkout was smooth. The staff was as good as they get. The included breakfast included some of the best fresh fruits we've had while in Europe. Only improvement they need is to upgrade the slow WiFi which drops your login like a hot potato if you look away from the screen. We really loved it and it's a place we'd stay again when in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Get the mini-suite
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rohbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
The Vintage Lisboa
#59 of 253 in Lisbon
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altis Grand Hotel
#90 of 253 in Lisbon
907 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 253 in Lisbon
903 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#36 of 253 in Lisbon
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6-12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £95 - £561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Eurostars, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing