We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #68 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hotel staff went beyond expectations. Friendly and happy to help with anything.
Really enjoyed the breakfast, and snacks in the bar.
The rooms are nice, with a couple minor problems with the floors as a result of water from the showers. The rest of the experience definitely overcomes the minor flaws in the floors.
Best place to stay in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Eurostar hotel was probably the best hotel my family and I have ever stayed in.

Staff: Probably the best bit about the hotel were the staff. They were willing to provide maps, service and help us in any way they could. They spoke perfect English and we grew a close relationship with them. Special thanks go out to Hugo and Lara.

Rooms: We bought a standerd room, but were pleased to find we had been upgraded to the same room on a higher floor. It was brilliant. It was clean and surprisingly roomy. The bathroom was clean and had a high pressure shower. We would come back in the evenings to find the room clean and our beds made.

Location: The location is perfect. It is very close to the Avenida da Liberdade, the 'Oxford Street' of Lisbon. However, it was around 5-10 minutes walk from the Avenida, meaning it was quiet at night. Overall the location was perfect. It was close to the Avenida, but also within walking distance of other Lisbon attractions, such as the Santa Justa elevator (20 minutes walk) and the train station similar to the underground. It is also close to the Baixa district.

Features: The hotel was packed with features, such as a swimming pool and gym, as well as a sauna and computer room. However, we only used the sauna as we were so busy exploring Lisbon.

Breakfast: Great. There was a wide selection of cold and hot meals including meats, omeletes, cereals and traditional Portuguese cakes and pastries. To drink, there was tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate or a selection of juices. The breakfast was a buffet, meaning when you finished, you could always get more.

Overall: The Eurostar Das Letras was a perfect hotel. We could not think of a single thing wrong with it. If you want a affordable, luxurious hotel in an excellent location with amazing staff, this is the hotel for you.

MUST VISIT PLACES in Portugal: Belem, Castelo de Sao Jorge, Bairro Alto at night, Alfama, Tagus river, Baixa, Sintra.

PLACES SUCH AS BAIXA AND BAIRRO ALTO ARE WITHIN 20-30 MINUTES WALKING DISTANCE OF THE HOTEL. HOWEVER, THE OTHER LACES LISTED ABOVE CAN BE VISITED VIA A TOUR BUS THAT LEAVES NEAR THE BAIXA AREA, AROUND 20 MINUTES FROM THE EUROSTAR HOTEL. I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND VISITING ALL THESE PLACES, ESPECIALLY ALFAMA AND SINTRA

BE WARNED-ALTHOUGH WE WERE NOT EFFECTED, LISBON HAS MANY PICKPOCKETS. AVOID THE NUMBER 28 TRAM AND GET THE TOURIST ONE INSTEAD. IT COSTS A BIT MORE, BUT IS SAFER AND HAS AUDIO GUIDES THAT ARE WORTH PAYING FOR

Room Tip: Higher rooms have incredible views and are nicer overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Squig3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed for five nights in july, great service checking in, friendly and polite. The room was outstanding, the bathroom was lovely, room looks as the pictures show. It's a very well located hotel, close to the Avenida station and easy access to the centre of Lisboa. Breakfast buffet had a great choice of cheeses, pastries, meats, cakes and also served scrambled egg and bacon. The staff in the dining room were very polite and attentive. The only complaint we have is that on checking out the reception guy seemed very dismissive, you would expect of any hotel especially a five star hotel to ask you if you had enjoyed your stay, little complaint we know, but it is the little touches that make a place special. Overall we definitely stay there again and undoubtably recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetraveling85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for one night while surfing in the area around Lisbon, and wish we had stayed here for the entire week. So close to sights and shopping, and great restaurants nearby, (Cafe Buenos Aires, Cantinho Lusitano for example). Breakfast was better than other hotels we have tried in Portugal. We had a room with parking, internet, breakfast and romance package included, and everything lived up to our expectations. We are going back in August!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the city have great wievs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Location was near the main street,just 5 min.from main street Avenida da Liberdade
Staff helpful and friendly.
Well maintained modern and clean rooms with all facilities required including free wi-fi. Also has sauna and gym.
Very spatious bathrooms.Very good breakfast with big variety of food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massimomanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Last week we stayed in Euro Das letras (July 12) . After a long flight from San juan the staff was far from our expectation . The hotel is great, very well located. The staff from the breakfast buffet was excellent any request was granted ,expresso ,fried eggs omellette you name it . The rooms where clean and comfortable and bed where cozy and big, as well as the bathrooms. We stayed for 4 nights.The location couldn't be better a 5 - 10 minute walk from all the main attractions.Thank you Euro Das Letras for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors from 6 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roque63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed 4 nights for wedding with friends in Lisbon. Very good location, central Lisbon. Steep street up to the hotel, but good exercise. With stayed in a suite with one bedroom and balcony. Very nice view from balcony. Modern decor, a bit dark, but in all ways nice. Friends also satisfied with rooms. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: View to San Jorge Castle is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerRJOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
The Vintage Lisboa
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
789 reviews
Altis Grand Hotel
#85 of 255 in Lisbon
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,145 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6-12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £80 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing