We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, staff, and rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 254 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Guesthouse has an absolutely perfect location in the heart of Lisbon. It's easy to get everywhere, including to/from the airport. The staff were incredibly helpful and very nice. The breakfast is delicious (especially the rolls), fairly comprehensive, and in a homey spot. The room we stayed in (Fado) was large and comfortable. There is no elevator so be prepared to carry your bag - although the staff kindly offered to help us with ours. The guesthouse might be tricky to find at first, but if you follow their directions carefully and remember their lamp post logo, you should have no trouble. All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Lisbon Story Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend and it really helped to make our stay in Lisbon one to remember. Good value for a place right in the centre of Lisbon - rooms not luxurious but perfectly adequate, and a great buffet breakfast which will set you up for a day out in Bairro Alto or Alfama which are both within walking distance. The hostel has real character too, with a wonderful cushioned living/breakfast room (you need to visit to see why people rave about it!), and the staff are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. If I visit Lisbon again I will definitely be staying at Lisbon Story Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a simple guesthouse: there's no airco or television, but there is a wonderful atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpfull. We only stayed one night in the Azulejos room which was quite large, clean and had it's own badroom with toilet and shower. The breakfast in the morning was basic but more than OK for us and the key chain of our room was the most original i've ever seen staying somewhere.
If you're not after luxury I would definitely recommand this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieke_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent a few days of our honeymoon here and stayed in the largest room, Azulejos. It's at the top of the building so has fantastic views but has quite steep stairs on the last staircase so might not be ideal if you have children. There's also a bonus little roof terrace.

The staff were really friendly and gave us good tips about things that were happening that day (eg the flea market / warning there was a train strike the day we wanted to go to Cascais!). They also took our luggage up those steep stairs to our room and as it was our honeymoon even presented us with a bonus bottle of fizz and bowl of cherries!

The breakfast was well presented usual continental spread, with various jams, honey, nutella, crusty rolls, cereals, cheese, charcuterie etc. The breakfast room is a shoe-free zone and you sit on cushions - we liked the relaxed feel and eating with the shuttered windows open and Portuguese radio burbling away.

The room itself was large so is the most expensive in the place, but it can sleep four as it has a large futon too so would be a good option for groups. There's no TV or air con but they provided a big, efficient fan for the warm evenings.

My only criticism would be that the room wasn't cleaned until our third day there. Aside from this it's a lovely place to stay in a great central location (not many hills!) and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGMLR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at Lisbon story guesthouse for 4 nights. The hostel was easy to find when using the directions on the website and was in a fantastic location- right near bustling squares, restaurants, shopping districts and the hop on hop off bus tour. 

Unfortunately, the positives stop there. When we first saw our room, we were shocked at the lack of space and amenities. We had the Sete Collinas room, which has no space for suitcases and doesnt allow for easy access around the room. This was an unfortunate case of the website making the space appear far more than what it actually is. 

While there's a computer with Internet available for free, it is quite slow and the wifi access which is only available in the breakfast room is virtually nonexistent. My advice would be to pop over to the nearby Starbucks if you're after a good wifi connection. 

Breakfast was average but consistent to what we've experienced across Portugal- toast, juice and cereal. There are kitchen amenities if youd like to put something more sufficient together.

In saying all that, the staff were friendly and very helpful, which counts for a lot in my opinion. 

All in all, while the hostel itself underwhelmed us, the location is a winner, so if that's a main factor for you, then I'd definitely recommend it. Just be aware that it's on quite a noisy street and with the windows open you'll have an interrupted sleep for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at LSG for three nights in room ESCRITOR and didn't regret our decision to chose this accommodation. The rooms are smaller than it seems on the pictures on the website, but still lovely and stylish. I wouldn't recommend the room for four persons, in my opinion it is too small for four.
The whole guesthouse, especially the bathrooms, are very clean and new. It was no problem for us to share them with other guests.
The staff is totally amazing, they are very helpful if you need advices concerning what to do the day. Very welcoming and always with a smile on their lips.
The breakfast is offered until the last guest has taken it, so we had breakfast at 12pm and it was no problem (which is very chilled if you don't mean to stand up that early every day).

Concerning the location I don't have to say much... it is just perfect, as you're completly in the centre of Lisbon. Not far from the beach, not far from a lot lot shopping facilities, not far from a lot lot restaurants and cafés. Just perfect.

I can recommend a stay at LSG, especially if you like the atmosphere of staying at a friend's house. The ones that prefer a hotel atmosphere and a full breakfast (including english breakfast, etc pp)... you should chose a real hotel.

Next time I'll be in Lisbon again, I'll stay at LSG again! :]

Room Tip: You can get an impression of how the rooms like alike on their website. They are all individually ar...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. The location was great (right at Rossio Square), and the airport bus drops you within a few hundred feet of the hotel. My daughter and I stayed in the Azeluejo room, which has twin beds and it's own bathroom. The bathroom was completely updated and the room was large. It even had a futon couch and a small table and chairs. The windows looked out on the square, for a good view. Breakfast was good and always included fresh rolls that were picked up from the bakery first thing every morning. The room was only cleaned every 3 days, but that was fine for us - we're not messy people.

The only negative that we have is that the stairs are very steep, and hauling a suitcase up and down the stairs is quite a chore.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have access to a small kitchen area where you can make tea or coffee. Al...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 254 in Lisbon
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
The Sky Lofts Lisbon
#42 of 254 in Lisbon
111 reviews
Lisbon Style
#27 of 254 in Lisbon
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Story Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Story Guesthouse

Address: Largo de Sao Domingos 18, Lisbon 1150-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £40 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon Story Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon Story Guesthouse is an enchanting tale where you are the main character. Come and be part of our story, and let us be a part of yours. In exchange for your company, experience and tales, we assure you; life, charm, warmth, peace, light, tradition and comfort. Discover the story behind our 11 themed bedrooms (that fit 1 to 4 people in twin or double beds), chill out in the shoe-free lounge area, enjoy a free delicious breakfast, listen to music, exchange a book, use the free Wi-Fi internet, enjoy free tea and coffee all day, or prepare your meal in our kitchen. In addition, you will also benefit from a highly desirable central location, right in Rossio, next to the National Theatre, and within walking distance of the main city-centre attractions, or just take the next-door 28 tram along the hills, the train to Sintra, the metro, or the Aerobus to anywhere in the world. Let us introduce our guestbook to your travel log! "CAME AS STRANGERS, GONE AS FRIENDS." JÜRGEN, Germany ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon Story Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Story Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing