We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of HF Fenix Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HF Fenix Garden
Ranked #61 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have just came back from Lisbon, and I am very pleased with our hotel choice. The hotel is in excellent location, clean, comfortable, great breakfast, polite staff, really good value!! I would recommend this hotel any time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Fenix Garden is located very near a metro station relatively close to the center of Lisbon (two metro stops to Rosio squre), while at the same easily reached by car by a major road from the freeway. The room on the seventh floor, facing south, was excellent and had a panoramic view of the city. Breakfast had a wide variaty of hot and cold dishes. Last but not least we paid 133 euros for a doubleroom for two nights, best value. The hotel has its own parking for 9.90 euro for 24 hours, which is quite reasonable in a major city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing south for a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dindan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Decent tourist hotel next to Marques de Pombal metro station. Pleasant room with very comfortable beds. Good choice at breakfast. Nice small bathroom. Good price (69 euros) for what we got. Some restaurants in the area but having a metro stop outside makes it easy to get most places in Lisbon including the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had room #511 on the fifth floor with a lovely view over the park. It had double glazing so we didn't have any noise at all from the busy traffic far below. The room was well furnished, very clean and had all of the things to make your stay a comfortable and pleasant one - except a little fridge (which would have been very useful). The bathroom was good with lots of hot water, shower, good toiletries and sufficient towels - but I really think frosted glass doors on bathroom facilities are a negative!
We had a few initial problems with accessing the internet but these were eventually solved and the reception was constant and good.
Breakfast was buffet style and was abundant, fresh and varied. The breakfast room staff were smiling, attentive and hard working.

We took the Aerobus from the airport (3.50 euro p.p.) and the drop off point was was only about 200 metres from the hotel - fantastically cheap and convenient. . We returned to the airport the same way. The hotel is very close to the Marques de Pombal Metro (very easy to use) and lots of buses run frequently into Rossio Square and beyond. If you like walking, the hotel is about 25 minutes from the centre. We made use of a one day public transport pass (6 euro) which allowed us access to all the trams, buses, lifts and metro - but not the ferries.

We liked the Fenix Garden very much and would recommend it as very good value in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very good hotel with good price. Staff were friendful and helpful.
Quick check-in/out,calling the taxi with very cheap prices!
Room was clean and comfortable with nice design. Breakfast was excellent.
Location is very good. Near the Park Eduardo VII.
This is one of the best hotels with such kind of prices!

Room Tip: We lived in room no.502. Near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinchi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed there for one night and that was more than enough...

Lisbon was unusually cold and unfortunately rooms only have air conditioning to make it colder inside, not warmer. Our room was on the first floor, right next to the lifts. And it was freezing, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We initially tried raising the temperature on the air conditioning controls, but we noticed that it would make no difference whatsoever. I got it up to 32 degrees Celsius on the little screen, and it didn't affect the air temperature at all.

When we called reception they confirmed that that would not help anyway, that all we could do to warm up the room was to turn the air conditioning off. We did, but told them as we were leaving for dinner about how cold it was, and they said they would send someone to check.

Once we got back, not only the room was as cold as it was before, I found out whoever went in there only turned the air conditioning back on (that's a customer service for you...) ! So all the time the room could have had to 'warm up' was lost. It was so cold we had to keep coats and jumpers on the whole time, and at 2am we asked reception to bring me extra blankets. It was a cold, badly slept night. The room was still freezing the next morning, and it was extremely unpleasant to stay there. That only cost a little more than 50 pounds...

My mother in law's room on the second floor was much warmer, so it must have been bad insulation in ours. Nothing was done to improve the situation, afterall why would they?

The internet connection was also a problem. The wifi in the room would not work on our phones. When I went down to the reception, it would work perfectly. So I told the concierge and his reply was "Well the wifi is working on my phone, so it must be a problem with your phone". And we turned our phone off and on time and time again, and it would never work. So at one point he said he would send someone to check the router on my floor, and when I got back to my room late that evening, the wifi was finally magically working.

So considering we stayed in youth hostels that have better internet and better room temperature in the same area, I thought this kind of experience in a 'proper' hotel was extremely poor (to stay polite).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jingeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location at the busy marques de Pombal where the tour buses start and finish. The subway is just around the corner which is easy to use and navigate. The hotel reception is clean but basic . The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great for the price (4 euros) and the choice was excellent. the hotel is annexed to Hotel Fenix which has a bar, a snack bar and resturant which guests of the the fenix garden can use. We found it great after a long day out. The only thing to complain about which we English miss is tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The price was great for our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: A garden room means it is on the front by the road overlooking the park, not a garden as i thought a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#31 of 255 in Lisbon
1,049 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Lisboa
HF Fenix Lisboa
#82 of 255 in Lisbon
2,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
HF Fenix Urban
HF Fenix Urban
#92 of 255 in Lisbon
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#67 of 255 in Lisbon
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Garden

Address: Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, 3, Lisbon 1050-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HF Fenix Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban haven where the commotion does not enter.To enjoy the city does not mean you need to do without some peace and privacy.The HF Fénix Garden provides the desirable paradox of staying in the heart of Lisbon and feeling protected from all stress.The referential acoustic insulation allows you to observe the city bustle from the window as if it is not real. A strange feeling of seclusion kept in the wide aisles and common areas where, even if the hotel is full, you can feel peace.The decoration and comfort of the HF Fénix Garden make you forget the city and even that you are in a three star hotel. Something that you will only remember on check-out. Very closed to the hotel is Marquês de Pombal, several of Lisbon's main points of interest and all the transportation networks in the city.The HF Fénix Garden offers several free services, such as Internet access in the entire hotel. But the most surprising offer is the feeling of staying in an oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HF Fenix Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Garden Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing