We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banging pad”
Review of Lisbon Calling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lisbon Calling
Ranked #29 of 483 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Friendliest welcome, exceptionally friendly staff and clean, simple rooms. Location was perfect really , access to trains metro and airport within 5mins walking . Great food around but slightly trashy tourist nightlife close at hand but that's no slight to the hostel. Was great to hang out with other guests , cooking drinking wine etc. beautifully presented place and tucked away just enough, fav hostel so far ever, looking forward to definitely visiting again and not just saying I will.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side were v nice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Lisbon Calling
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We followed TripAdvisor's reviews and booked a room AND we were not disappointed!
Firstly, it is easy to get to the Hostel. It is very nicely located, close to train, boat and tram stops. Walking distance from main attractions, bars and restaurants. Very nice and welcoming staff. We had a double room and it looked exactly like on the photos from the website. Nicely decorated, spacious and clean. We left satisfied. Thank you Lisbon Calling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked this after reading the fab reviews and wasn't disappointed. Not being a seasoned 'hosteller' wasn't sure but the staff, in particular JP were so lovely you felt like you were staying with friends. We had the private room with en suite and it was spotless, as was the whole place. The location is as perfect as you could get to see old town Lisbon easily and if you wanted to go further afield the Cais de sodre area has every transport link on your doorstep, not to mention the new Ribeira market. In fact I could go on and on. Coming home each night to that lovely little area was so comfortable, so many friendly little bars and eating places. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I have to have my own bathroom but the rooms with shared bathroom looked pretty good also as they ar...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soozwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lisbon calling is one of the most homely hostels I have stayed in. As soon as you arrive the place is relaxed and you feel at home. This is definitely not a party hostel which makes a nice change. It also has a hippy type feel to the place. The only downside is that it can be hard to find. It's really central, but you need to have the exact address to find it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglegg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We opted for the private room with its own shower. Great retro furniture and and drencher shower. Really great position for bars and tourist attractions. Only stayed one night but would def book in for longer. Great staff, all ultra friendly and their local knowledge is second to none.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeb_Jebson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

By friendly I mean friendly. The hostel is owned by two girls and is run by a group of friends who all share a common interest to make you feel welcome and at home. I arrived on a quiet Monday after a busy weekend so they put me up in a dorm room of my own so that the few that were staying had their own space. Not that you would need it here. Without wanting to sound cliche hanging out in the communal kitchen-lounge area is quite like being at home. Its just well, friendly. And right in the centre of Lisbon, a mere 7min walk from the old part of the city. Cool.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have to confess that I was rather suspicious of hostels. But after reading excellent reviews of hostels in Lisbon, I decided to give it a try. And keep in mind that my husband and I do not fit the category of relaxed young backpackers. Lisbon Calling came as a charming first experience for us. We loved it from check in through check out. We can highlight, for instance, the retro decor (our room was the 70's suite), the timber floor, which all gave us a sense of personalized, cozy atmosphere; the staff, Ana, Pedro and the lady from Ucrania, were so kind, welcoming and helpful in everything we needed; the fresh bread at our door handle in the morning, the privacy of our room and , etc, etc. To top if off, the hostel is closer to tourist attractions than our first plan with downtown hotels. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: The 70's room is quiet and private with its small ensuite bathroom. From the room you have easy...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseli n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 483 in Lisbon
361 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#14 of 483 in Lisbon
429 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#15 of 483 in Lisbon
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 483 in Lisbon
571 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Sunset Destination Hostel
Sunset Destination Hostel
#13 of 483 in Lisbon
455 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 483 in Lisbon
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Calling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Calling

Address: Rua de Sao Paulo n 126 Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200-429, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 483 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £16 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a 250 year old building we're all about fit to size. Standard isn't our thing, so you can sleep in huge tailor-made wooden bunkbeds or raised sleeping platforms. In the heart of the old city, we're few minutes walking distance from everywhere. Be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lisbon Calling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing