We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lisbon Calling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisbon Calling
Ranked #29 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

All of the three workers I got to know were friendly and funny and made you feel right at home. The place itself looked awesome and modern, and it was incredibly close to the main city, bus stations, train stations and barrio alto. Perfect location and perfect homely vibe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
67
68
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

That's an amazing created hostel in the city of Lisbon with really great staff! They have trendy beds and furniture, nice sitting and living areas and a really sweet kitchen. Only the toilet & bathroom is a little bit small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvs m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Friendliest welcome, exceptionally friendly staff and clean, simple rooms. Location was perfect really , access to trains metro and airport within 5mins walking . Great food around but slightly trashy tourist nightlife close at hand but that's no slight to the hostel. Was great to hang out with other guests , cooking drinking wine etc. beautifully presented place and tucked away just enough, fav hostel so far ever, looking forward to definitely visiting again and not just saying I will.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side were v nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
358 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We followed TripAdvisor's reviews and booked a room AND we were not disappointed!
Firstly, it is easy to get to the Hostel. It is very nicely located, close to train, boat and tram stops. Walking distance from main attractions, bars and restaurants. Very nice and welcoming staff. We had a double room and it looked exactly like on the photos from the website. Nicely decorated, spacious and clean. We left satisfied. Thank you Lisbon Calling.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked this after reading the fab reviews and wasn't disappointed. Not being a seasoned 'hosteller' wasn't sure but the staff, in particular JP were so lovely you felt like you were staying with friends. We had the private room with en suite and it was spotless, as was the whole place. The location is as perfect as you could get to see old town Lisbon easily and if you wanted to go further afield the Cais de sodre area has every transport link on your doorstep, not to mention the new Ribeira market. In fact I could go on and on. Coming home each night to that lovely little area was so comfortable, so many friendly little bars and eating places. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I have to have my own bathroom but the rooms with shared bathroom looked pretty good also as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lisbon calling is one of the most homely hostels I have stayed in. As soon as you arrive the place is relaxed and you feel at home. This is definitely not a party hostel which makes a nice change. It also has a hippy type feel to the place. The only downside is that it can be hard to find. It's really central, but you need to have the exact address to find it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mglegg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We opted for the private room with its own shower. Great retro furniture and and drencher shower. Really great position for bars and tourist attractions. Only stayed one night but would def book in for longer. Great staff, all ultra friendly and their local knowledge is second to none.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeb_Jebson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#12 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#35 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#19 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Calling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Calling

Property: Lisbon Calling
Address: Rua de Sao Paulo n 126 Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200-429, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a 250 year old building we're all about fit to size. Standard isn't our thing, so you can sleep in huge tailor-made wooden bunkbeds or raised sleeping platforms. In the heart of the old city, we're few minutes walking distance from everywhere. Be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lisbon Calling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing