We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincci Baixa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vincci Baixa
Ranked #53 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for a long weekend and this was a great choice. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful and the locations is a short stroll from the Praca de Comercio, a selection of restaurants and the shopping district. The rooms are well done but a touch on the small side.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments, and we will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. It is our greatest satisfaction to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and this is our motivation for working every day.

We would be delighted to welcome you again to our hotel.

With best wishes.
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    620
    95
    20
    13
See reviews for
165
824
45
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to friends.
Location: We travelled with our parents and our Mum is not completely mobile - Lisbon as a very hilly city and you have to be relatively fit to get up and down the hills. However, this location provided easy and relatively flat access to transport to all of the attractions we wanted to go to. It was only a short walk to Roccio and a VERY short walk to Placa Comercio where the tourist buses, trams and busses passed.
Staff: Very friendly (as are most people from Lisbon it seems!). They fulfilled our request of a balcony room as it was Mum's special Birthday and also our parents came back to a bottle of bubbly to celebrate - a lovely touch which was really appreciated.
Cleanliness: Excellent cleanliness. Everything was clean and fresh.
Facilities: The room itself had all the facilities we needed/wanted (lots of toiletries, etc). There aren't any leisure facilities.....but on a city break that isn't what we were looking for.
Value: Good value. Of course you can get cheaper hotels in Lisbon, but I think for the quality of accommodation and service this is a fair price.
Breakfast: Quite pricey at 15 Euro per person, but a good and fresh selection. We had breakfast of 2 of the 3 days. You can pay when you get there so you can see if you like it.
I can only think of one small negative - the air conditioning seemed to be limited to 19oC (min) - a like to sleep in a cool room. But this is a small point as the AC was working and effective.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful that you chose us for your stay in Lisbon, and that you dedicated part of your time to provide us with these comments.

We are very pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed the Vincci experience at our hotel. Please know that we will provide your words and congratulations to our whole staff. Clearly comments such as your motivate us to continue to work hard so that our customers' experience can enjoy a pleasant experience at our hotels.

We would be very happy to welcome you again to our hotel or to any of our establishments.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here while having a city break in Lisbon. The hotel is perfectly placed, close to Praca Do Commercia and central enough to reach everything. We used the AeroBus transfer from the airport to central Lisbon and this was effortless and only €3.50 PP one way. The bus stop is within walking distance (200m) from the hotel so we used it there and back again. Everything is accessible from the hotel and public transport stops are close by. The Trams are worth using too (Tram 28 is a must) and buy a Viva Viagem card and you can hope on/off at leisure and much better value than paying each time you use transport. It also allows you on the Bus (run by Carris), trams, funiculars, the Santa Justa Elevator and Metro.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, providing advice and directions whenever you required them. The reception area is very nice and modern and the bar/restaurant are located at the rear of the ground floor. We didn’t eat at the hotel (other than breakfast) but we did use the bar. Again, staff very friendly and the choice on offer and the prices charged were very good.

The rooms are compact, however, are very clean, modern and have everything you need for a city break. Breakfast was more than adequate, everything is fresh and replenished regularly. Lots of fresh fruit, juice, cereals, excellent coffee and tea, bread and cold meats etc. There's also a hot selection including bacon, scrambled eggs, beans and mushrooms. If you can't find something to eat then you're too fussy.

We were extremely happy with our stay and highly recommend this hotel if you’re planning a city break to wonderful Lisbon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read comments such as yours that encourage us to continue making an effort so that our customers' experiences at our hotels is pleasant and enjoyable.

We will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. It is our greatest satisfaction to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and this is our motivation for working every day.

We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again to any of our hotels.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is centeraly located. Beautifuly desinged. Carlos at the reception desk was super nice. Room is small but sufficient and well decorated. Very cleen. Only thing a bit off was the toilets almost being inside the bed room,without any soundproofing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilach s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Customer,

We are very grateful that you chose us to celebrate your honeymoon in Lisbon.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory. We will convey your words to our whole team and especially to Carlos.

Thank you also for your comments. We will take them into careful consideration since they help us improve the service that we offer to our customers day after day.

We remain at your service, and we hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Positive :
- Well located (town center, near tram line, tube and mean monuments
- Clean
- Design
- People are very nice (receptionist, cleaning lady, waitress,...)

Negative :
Bad experience at the restaurant. Quality of meal (No freshness products)
Bad quality of mattress. Too hard
Bad Soundproofing. (Room near elevator & footstep)
No SPA. (pity)

Correct value for money

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments.

We were pleased to hear that you rated the hotel's location positively along with its design and the treatment received from our staff, but we are sorry that other aspects did not completely live up to your expectations.

We regret that you did not enjoy the restaurant. We always try to offer a wide selection of specialties, which are always prepared with top-quality ingredients.

We also regret that in spite of our soundproofing system, you were bothered by noise during your stay.

We remain at your service for anything you might need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Vincci Baixa is in the heart of downtown Lisbon, very close to Praça do Comércio. It was a great location and perfect for first time visitors like us on a quick 3-night stay in Lisbon. We found the AeroBus ideal for getting fro/to the Airport, only €3.50 p/p one-way. Tickets were available on the bus & drop-off/pick-up was only about 2 blocks from the hotel. [If running times accommodate your needs and you plan to take it both ways, buy the round trip up-front when getting on at airport - there is a slight savings]. It was around a 30-minute journey.

Check-in was easy and reception was friendly. It was easy to communicate in English with staff. The room we had was very small [especially by "American" standards] but normal in Europe and it was adequate for a short stay. Rooms are fairly modern and bedding was clean. Bed was comfortable but slightly small. Pillows were lacking and very flat. I meant to ask for additional pillows but kept forgetting. I've no doubt we would have been accommodated had we asked for more - but not sure they would have been any better. There is a TV, coffee-maker, small closet and safe. Bathroom is behind a wall of mirrors which is a bit odd. Maybe not ideal if sharing with someone who you are not close with, as the door is also made from the mirror panels and does not exactly provide full privacy. They are generous with toiletries and had decent selection if you forgot something [even disposable tooth brushes were provided]. We found the lighting control set-up a bit awkward - not sure we were working it correctly. We saw into one of the "balcony" rooms passing by and it did seem to provide more space - we probably would have preferred that for the larger space and small view it may have provided from the balcony. Our room only had a window - no view just a wall, but quiet and good for sleeping. Maid did a nice job cleaning daily and having the room ready upon our return. She even left clean wine glasses after seeing we brought some up from restaurant and used them for our own wine the night before.

After checking-in and getting to the room we remembered we had the "Romantic Package" which included Champagne and Chocolates. Reception did not remind us and it was not waiting for us in the room. A nice touch would have been for reception to have it waiting or to say they would send it up without us having to remind them. But once we did inquire, it arrived quickly. The Champagne was refreshing after the trip. The Chocolates were actually 4 French style macaroons and very tasty.

Package deal included the breakfast. It was a typical spread of breads/pastries, eggs/bacon, meats/cheeses, fruits, cereals, yogurts, juice/coffee/teas. Nothing extravagant but good, well stocked and managed nicely. Even when arriving close to the shut down time we were not rushed which we always appreciate. I am not sure I'd be excited to pay extra €15 for the breakfast but was glad it was included in package price - it was just enough to get you started in the morning. We did not eat dinner there but the breakfast spot doubles as the dining room.

Reception did provide a few restaurant suggestions - some were fairly "touristy" which we were not necessarily looking for - but they provided maps and directions and were always friendly/helpful. The main reason we booked the "Romantic Package" was the late-check out option. The night before leaving, they confirmed they would be able to honor our request for a 4:00 PM check-out, which was great. We were able to do more sight-seeing, come back, clean-up, pack and head to airport for our 7:00 PM flight.

We thought the location was really great. Its so close to Praça do Comércio and all the transportation options the city has to offer [buses, trams, metro, taxis, tours] anything you need. There is a tourist office also right there as well as some large tourist restaurants. We did enjoy having an afternoon beer there on the patios. There is a little side walk stand with a friendly girl where in the evening you can buy samples of port and ginjinha. Which we did after returning from dinner and strolling back to the hotel from Praça do Comércio.

We liked the hotel for it's location and fair price. It's a small boutique hotel, no major frills but clean and adequate. I'm never sure how the "star" ratings work it seems so subjective. But felt this was a good solid choice for our needs. If you are looking for fancy and are used to more luxury - this is not the place for you. We would recommend to others needing a good budget home-base for a short stay.

A recommendation to the hotel would be that they install hooks in the room. There is no good place to hang towels, robes, coats. purse (which seems so simple but it's always an issue in hotels - not just here) Also, invest in some better pillows!

Overall - we were satisfied!

Room Tip: Not sure if it is more but worth asking about the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing us and for providing your impressions of your stay at our hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you especially enjoyed the hotel and its location, although we regret that other aspects of your stay did not completely live up to your expectations. We assure you that we will take your comments into consideration because they will help us improve and adapt to our customers' needs and preferences.

We are sorry about the isolated incident of forgetting the complements of the romantic package in your room, although we were pleased to hear that you received them quickly and that you enjoyed them.

Regarding the guestroom, we would like to clarify that its size complies with the regulations in force for hotels of its category, but we are sorry that it did not live up to your expectations.

In addition, we offer our guests a pillow menu so that they can choose the type of pillow best adapted to their preferences, and we are sorry that you were not properly notified of this.

We hope that in spite of these inconveniences we will be able to welcome you again.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were very pleased with the Vincci Baixia. Very quiet hotel, elegant and comfortable room, great bed, friendly staff, nicely decorated and great coffee at breakfast. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments, and we will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. It is our greatest satisfaction to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and this is our motivation for working every day.

We would be delighted to welcome you again to our hotel.

With best wishes.
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#45 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Baixa

Property: Vincci Baixa
Address: Rua Do Comercio, 32 a 38 | Rua Do S.Juliao, no 47 a 57, Lisbon, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#47 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Baixa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vincci Baixa hotel is the Vincci chain's first hotel in Portugal. In the centre of Lisbon and less than 7 km away from the airport, Vincci Baixa is set in a privileged location in the downtown shopping and financial district, one of the city's liveliest areas. Baixa has a wealth of shops, dozens of open-air bars and is popular with musicians and artists, giving it a bohemian air that is very much in keeping with the rest of the city. Praca do Comercio (200m); Rua Augusta (200m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vincci Baixa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Baixa Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Baixa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing