We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for the beginning and end of our trip”
Review of Vincci Baixa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Baixa
Ranked #54 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked the first part of our trip while still in the USA, and liked our stay so much that we booked it for the last few days upon our return to Lisbon. It's in a fantastic location, and is very clean and new. The staff were professional and helpful.

We stayed in the south tower both times. There are just a handful of rooms on each floor, and from what I can tell the rooms in this tower are essentially identical in size, layout, and decoration. Our first room was on the first floor and did have a little Juliet balcony, while our room on the second floor just had a window that opened onto the street. The hotel website emphasizes the soundproofing of the rooms, and indeed I found it pretty quiet without a lot of noise from neighboring rooms or the street.

I'm not sure exactly why anyone needs a large hotel room while out and about being a tourist, but I found that the size of each room was perfectly suitable. The bathroom had a lot of counter space. One room had a shower and the other had a bathtub; both had the eternally awkward half-glass only (shower doors/full glass enclosures are an apparent rarity in European hotels). The rooms have a shoe/luggage rack, decent closet, fridge with a stocked mini-bar, a K-cup coffee machine, and a safe. Wifi is free and acceptably fast.

We did not get the breakfast option as it was 15 Euros. We did eat there one morning and found it typical of a Continental buffet, with excellent Portuguese cheese as a bonus.

We rented a car for the middle portion of our trip, and had it delivered to the hotel. A few spots are reserved in front of the hotel and the staff was very gracious in letting us leave our car there for a few hours before we departed. The staff were also very helpful in calling the car rental agency to work out the return.

The only things that I found quirky are minor:

- the main towel bar is located very high in the shower, basically mounted from the ceiling, which made it impossible for me to re-hang my towel.

- one room's safe did not have the typical keypad, but rather required that one use a credit card that was "memorized." I have a great distrust of any CC swipers so I passed on that.

- the lighting options are really nice, with switches on both sides of the bed and at the room entrance. I could never figure out how to shut just the bathroom light off when the "all on" option was selected, though.

The best asset of the hotel is its location. It's steps away from Praca do Comercio and the major tram and bus stops. ATMs are readily available on Ruas Augusta and Aurea. Shopping and gelato and a leisurely stroll can be had on Rua Augusta. The Alfama is next door, up the closest steep hill. And I was thoroughly excited to see that Conserveira de Lisboa is just a block away, which made it easy to load up on tinned Portuguese sardines before our departure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHoteles, General Manager Asisstant Intern at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in posting a review about our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the lovely city of Lisbon.

We would like to thank you also for your opinion about the breakfast, we always try our best to provide the best service to our guest in order to make them feel at home.

On the other hand, and regarding the towel bar on the shower, we very much appreciate and value your comments. We will try to improve on that!

Thank you very much once again for your time.

The Vincci Baixa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had a great experience here last January, so we decided to go back to Lisbon this summer. And again we had a great stay at the Vincci Baixa.

The location is perfectly situated between the historical Alfama district and the night life district of Bairro Alto. Baixa itself has many shops and restaurants. Right around the corner is the Praca do Comercio, the wonderful square at the river where you can view the statue of Christ and the marvelous 25th April bridge.

The staff is friendly, though some of them are a bit quiet if you are not Portuguese yourself it seems. Nevertheless, they got us our favorite rooms with the lovely balconies and all in all the service is just good.

Breakfast is fine too, which always made for a great start of the day. The bar is open all day, though service isn't always readily available. Simply ask at the reception and you're good. All too often, hotel bars and restaurants are pricey, since they know you don't want to go out or simply don't have the time. The Vincci Baixa is a pleasant exception to that rule. Good service, nice atmosphere at regular prices.

Room Tip: Rooms are mostly alike. State your preference while checking in and they will take care of that. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreSpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

+ Perfect location in the historical center of Lisbon, nice and fresh but tiny rooms. Pretty big bathroom.

- No parking near hotel, the one that is suggested is rather expensive. Weak wifi in the room. Poor breakfast

= OK value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaximFler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Excellent hotel,super location.Handy in terms of not needing to waste time on public transport.Friendly and helpful staff,close to the main square.most of the city sites were easy to access.Trips beyond the city also easy to access.Quiet and clean.

Room Tip: AC noise was a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

have visited Lisbon before and had made a mental note of this hotel for the future. Location is perfect, everything within walking distance, including station for Estoril/Cascais which are only 30 mins and 3 euro away! Eleven euro to airport by taxi and that was at 8am. Although central, the street is not particularly busy or noisy. The hotel itself is boutique style, clean,airy and bright. Perfect for city break.

Room Tip: away from lift and traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnneKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Small but new inside. Good breakfast . Nice staff. bed a little hard. Shower does not flood bathroom!!. Back rooms quiet because faces empty building. The area is being improved. Not that it's shady, just old. Convenient to all forms of transportation. Only 6 euros taxi to Sta Apolonia cruise terminal. Also near airport bus stop

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location of Vincci Baixa is ideal... On the bottom of Alfama district.. within walking distance to Castelo Sao Jorge , Igreja Santo Antonio, great authentic portuguese cuisine restaurants, and Fado Clubs and very close to the Praza do Comercio, metro station, Tram 28 and Ferry terminals.

The hotel is very quiet, and well maintained. The rooms are clean and modern.
This is a well renovated hotel in the middle of old Lisbon.
The staff is helpful, courteous and very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,608 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
1,020 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#36 of 255 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 255 in Lisbon
1,542 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Baixa

Address: Rua Do Comercio, 32 a 38 | Rua Do S.Juliao, no 47 a 57, Lisbon, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#48 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £77 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Baixa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vincci Baixa hotel is the Vincci chain's first hotel in Portugal. In the centre of Lisbon and less than 7 km away from the airport, Vincci Baixa is set in a privileged location in the downtown shopping and financial district, one of the city's liveliest areas. Baixa has a wealth of shops, dozens of open-air bars and is popular with musicians and artists, giving it a bohemian air that is very much in keeping with the rest of the city. Praca do Comercio (200m); Rua Augusta (200m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vincci Baixa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Baixa Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Baixa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing