We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was robbed”
Review of Pensao Monumental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensao Monumental
Ranked #194 of 251 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was robbed”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Would advise all fellow travellers to stay well clear of this one. Not only was my i-phone charger stolen from my room but the reception staff offered no assistance whatsoever. The wouldn't phone the police, wouldn't question cleaning staff and generally took a very dismissive attitude to the whole thing. The best advice they could offer me was to "not" wear my watch out when going out for a stroll in the surrounding area......... Good night Vienna ??? Goodbye Lisbon....... I wont be back !!

Joe.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    22
    17
    13
See reviews for
11
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Have just returned from staying 4 nights at this budget hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other travellers on a limited budget who want somewhere in a great central location. Our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet, it was cleaned every day, and the staff were really friendly, giving us maps and great advice about where we should visit in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which I would choose again. On the downsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for a week in February, 2010. First we didn't find the hotel, because the sign was so unnoticeable. Me and my friend (both students) didn't expect much from the hotel, as you can imagine, we are super-low-budget-travelers and payed about 110e per person for five nights. Cheap huh?! The room itself was pretty good, I mean for the money that we ''spent'' this felt like pure luxury.. Even though it was quite chilly in that time of the year, there is some blankets to use, but I would recommend that guests take warm clothing with them. Our room was on the first floor, and our window was towards the inner-garden so we didn't hear any voices from the street either. The man on the reception made us feel very welcome, and helped us if we had any questions. The outer-door is locked, but there is a doorbell. We didn't use the hotel for anything else than sleeping and storing our belongings in a secure place, and this hotel certainly suited for that kind of use. I wouldn't recommend this as a family-friendly hotel, but if you're outgoing and looking for a good-value hotel, this is a good choice. As many of these earlier reviews have pointed out, the location is awesome! Ps. go down the hill to the bar called Young Liberty (on the right) and try a drink called Fluffy Duck!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank disa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Best price-value hotel. It has excellent location, just at one of the main squares in Lisbon - Praca dos Restauradores. It is 1 min walking distance from the bars quarter of Lisbon - Bairo Alto, and no more than 10 min walking to the Baixa and Chiado.

The staff in the hostel is friendly and you can be confident on asking for things to do and places to go. In our case they were very helpful in recommending us good, cheap local restaurants!

Rooms are cozy and clean.

But one minus is that we didn't have heating in our room and it was December when we visited this place. When we asked the reception for heater they suggested us an extra blanket instead. Another minus is no WiFi internet in here. These are two reason for me to rate this hotel with 4*.

I attach some photos from our room.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank feradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
V Dinastia Guesthouse
#222 of 251 in Lisbon
166 reviews
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#202 of 251 in Lisbon
124 reviews
Residencial Horizonte
#191 of 251 in Lisbon
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Perola Da Baixa
Pensao Perola Da Baixa
#180 of 251 in Lisbon
29 reviews
Pouso Dos Anjos
#174 of 251 in Lisbon
107 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#91 of 470 in Lisbon
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Monumental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Monumental

Property: Pensao Monumental
Address: Rua da Gloria 21, Lisbon 1250-114, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Monumental 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Pensao Monumental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing