We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step above a hostel - Stay for the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Living Lounge Hostel
Ranked #18 of 455 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Step above a hostel - Stay for the staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Living Lounge was definitely a step above a hostel. I had a double room with a friend and felt like I was in a decent hotel. Decor was trendy and the bathroom was modern. Nice common areas and balcony around the whole building. Located in a perfect area, walking distance to everything and felt safe.

The best part though, was really the staff. We received seriously solid recommendations from each staff member, each of whom gave us a ton of time with explanations, directions, suggestions based on feeling out what we were looking for. They weren't touristy recommendations, but places that made you get the feel of Lisbon like a local. They went beyond being good employees. The most helpful was actually the owner (I never grabbed his name). He was beyond accommodating and gave us super fun and interesting recommendations for anything from beaches to bars. He also made sure we weren't homeless for the night when the hostel was booked up one night (due to poor planning on our part and not booking enough nights in advance). That truly made our trip - I recommend this place for the staff members!

Room Tip: The motel room was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    56
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
63
114
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed. Clean, nice rooms, wifi, nice common areas but most importantly for a hostel, a great atmosphere! We got to know many people during the (cheap) dinner and even continued travelling with some of them! This hostel is an experience you should live!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morf3us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Living Lounge Hostel is a fantastic place to stay in Lisbon. It's quite cheap, very friendly, and so much clean. I did't try the breakfast, but some friends did and the rate was high.
Trully recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunomscoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It's rare to find this kind of excellence. Perfect location, Excellent facilities, big.. but not too big, really good common areas. Free city tour, visits to fado, amazing dinner by antonio (chef and one of the owners) for just 10eu, and other activities organized in the place. Local owners that love what they do and rally care for the place. A 5 Stars hostel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncarlosdonoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My 2 friends and I have just returned home from this hostel in Lisbon. It was over and above what we could have expected. The location is right in the heart of the city and it is very quiet throughout the night.There are single,twin,family and dorm style bedrooms each with a unique theme ( my room was all about time ). My single room cost €35 per night including breakfast.
There are tours around the city and beyond which are guided by staff at the hostel, an evening meal costing €10 which consists of 3 courses plus wine, cocktails at the bar cost €3.50 and a large glass of wine €2. A vegetarian option was created just for me and it was delicious.
All of the staff are friendly and very helpful. They go out of their way to please as a lot of Portuguese people do. They know the city well and give lots of tips on getting around the city and what to see.
My friends and I are all in our 40s not your usual hostel age group but I can honestly say we were all overwhelmed by this clean, cool, funky place and highly recommend it to all age groups.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent set up of the hostel, lockers, showers and clean comfortable beds. Staff very friendly and tours were well run. Went to Sintra tour and very fun. Highly recommend this one in Lisbon, centrally located and easy access to subway and whole city

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

definitely the best hostel i've been to in Europe. I stayed in a private room so cannot comment on the dorms but the hostel was new, trendy and spotless. There were 2 private bathrooms per level which could get busy in the mornings, but the cubicle-style ones were always super clean and had space to leave your clothes so they don't get wet.

The breakfast was amazing - crepes, rolls, a selection of juices, tea, coffee, jams and spreads, cheese, ham. Although it didn't have a typical 'hostel' vibe and had quite a few groups and older guests I found it really easy to chat to people and make friends. I did the walking tour to Belem which was good, and also had dinner one night which was delicious and cheap for 10 euros.

The location of the hostel is really good with metro station 2 minutes walk and close to everything but quiet at night for sleeping! Cannot recommend this hostel enough!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallcasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#50 of 248 in Lisbon
486 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 455 in Lisbon
557 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 455 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
#28 of 455 in Lisbon
223 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 455 in Lisbon
527 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 455 in Lisbon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Lounge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Lounge Hostel

Property: Living Lounge Hostel
Address: Rua do Crucifixo 116, Lisbon 1100-185, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 455 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Living Lounge Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing