We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnies Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Johnies Place
Ranked #79 of 403 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The staff is very friendly and open minded. When we arrived they gave us tips for the sights of Lisbon. The rooms are clean and the location is great. We had a great time at johnie's place and we really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    24
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
46
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Johnies Place made my holiday in Lisbon special and enjoyable so much.
The place was converted very tastefully from 17th centuries palace. It’s walking distance to many interesting places in Lisbon, especially Miradouro de Graca is just in front of you and a few minutes walk to Largo das Portas do Slo and Miradouro de Santa Luzia and Castle. The stop of 28 tram is close to Johnies Place. I traveled alone and the area was safe to walk around late evening.
The hostel has a kitchen where you can cook and take free tea/coffee all day and free breakfast, free internet and nice smoking area and every room is very spacious with nice furniture and everything is clean and well maintained.
The most appreciate thing for me is Ana (the owner)’s help and friendliness. She is very approachable.
I was planning to stay there for three nights and stay for two nights at other rather expensive hotel as I had a deal but I cancelled it because I felt Johnies Place is much more attractive and nicer to stay!
I’ll go back there when I visit Lisbon next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fumiko U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

A very pleasant, unique and characteristic place.Very well located, with easy access to the historical center of the city and situated right next to a lookout with an excellent view, ideal to relax having Lisbon as sight.

Room Tip: best price/quality place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guerrilhacrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

this hostel is perfect, it´s in the old center of Lisbom, next to a wonderful miradouro, where you can have a nice view of the whole city. The hostel is big, with a lot of sun light, the rooms are comfortable, and all the instalations are very clean and cared about all the details.
You will feel as at home because the environment the people create there is very home-loving.
I would defenitly recomend this hostel to go, i would sure come back there...it is a nice place to know and to enjoy.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but specially the couple one, it is so beautiful, quite and great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Perfectly located in a beautiful old building in a beautiful old neighbourhood, between the most stunning view in Lisbon and the coolest bar (Botequim), Johnie's Place offers an authentic experience of the city in every respect. What makes Johnie's Place unique is the people you'll encounter within. During my lengthy stay, I consistenly encountered genuine, good-natured and passionate people from around the world (several of whom were repeat visitors), which I largely attributed to the warm, generous and personable hospitality of the owner and her helpers. From day one, I felt like a welcome guest in the home of a friend, which goes a long way when traveling solo. In addition, Johnie's boasts all the standard trimmings of a good hostel, and lots of spaces to mix with other travelers or take a little down time for yourself, even at full capacity. I've been to a lot of hostels, including others in Lisbon, and I can't recall a happier stay than at Johnie's. It made for a very memorable and satisfying visit to an already amazing city, and was essential to my experience and appreciation of Portguese culture. Johnie's Place will be my only choice of accomodation for inevitable future visits to Lisbon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephJohn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

In my opinion, this place is about two things - the location of the beautiful old building, and the manager Ana. Both are just great. Other things just come as bonuses then - the place is clean, the interior nice and tasteful, you not only get breakfast, but it includes a home-made cake as well, there is a big kitchen and a nice common room with a dining table / sofas / 2 computers. We had a double room where the only bad thing was that the open did not open onto a street, but an air shaft. Still, I would come back.

Room Tip: ask about the window..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 837Jitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very nice hostel in the heart of Graça, next to one of the best Lisbon’s miradouro. We stayed in the double bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Room was really clean, quiet and spacious. Lovely friendly staff and guests. Good value for money. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minimigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Castle Inn Lisbon
Castle Inn Lisbon
#115 of 403 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Palacio Vila Flor
Palacio Vila Flor
#40 of 403 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
This is Lisbon Hostel
This is Lisbon Hostel
#32 of 403 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#68 of 403 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#25 of 403 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Sunset Destination Hostel
Sunset Destination Hostel
#14 of 403 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnies Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnies Place

Property: Johnies Place
Address: Calcada da Graca 1, Lisbon 1100-265, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 403 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Johnies Place you will experience more than just staying at a hostel. Located in Graça one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Lisbon, and inside a unique and exquisite palace from the 17th century, we'll make all the efforts so that you can feel yourself at home in this cosy hostel. It's at walking distance to many interesting spots of Lisbon, like São Jorge Castle, Feira da Ladra (flea-market), three of the greatest viewpoints of the city : Miradouro da Graça, Senhora do Monte and Santa Luzia, etc. Nearby you also have a lot of bus stops and subway to all city directions, and the stop for the famous and rustic tram in the city, the 28 - locally known as "the yellow" - , just one minute walk from our front door. At Johnies Place you will enjoy Lisbon not just as one more tourist but as a longtime neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Johnies Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing