We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sweetest week in Lisbon !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Johnies Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites
Ranked #110 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can raccomend this hostel to everyone wants to feel home, enjoying a wonderful city as lisbon is.
Johnies Place has the cheap prices of an hostel, the comfortable and the cosy atmosphere of a guesthouse and the proper and clean spaces of an hotel (even more).
Ana, one of the owners, is the sweetest and more disponible person i ever met, she manage everything by herlself and she does a great job!
And of course i cannot forget to talk about the location, cause if you ever gonna stay in Johnies place, you'll have the chance to enjoy one of the most beautiful spot in Lisbon, Miraduro da Graca, an amazing view of the whole city from one of the highest point, right in front of the hostel.. After your day walk in lisbon, you just have to get out the hostel around 8.00 pm, choose your place at the bar and have your drink in front of a spectacular sunset (i did it almost every night, i couldn't miss it)
You'll have lots of others nice things there, like the tuesday and saturday's huge flea market just around the corner, some tipical portughese restourants where you can eat really good food for a really generous price, you'll have busses goes directly to the main station, one metro station at 10 min, a nice walk that brings you one way to the centre and the other to the castel and all the tipical neibourghood around it, supermarkets, and last but not least, for those of you are "tourist inside", in Graca square, the stop of the famous 28 tram that makes a tour through all the nicest spot in Lisbon!

I had a great time in Johnies Place, hope you'll have the chance to stay there and enjoy it as I did :)

S.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Johnies Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June! Ana who owned the hostel was very friendly and helpful! upon arrival we were greeted and she introduced herself and gave us a map and pointed out various things for us to do. There was also food in the kitchen left from the festival before which we were told we could help ourselves to!
I stayed in a 6 dorm and had no problems whatsoever! There were lockers in the room, all big enough for big rucksacks so felt comfortable leaving my stuff in there!
Location wise, it was perfect! a 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Lisbon. Only downside was the hills but that can't be helped!
The location for Johnies Place was lovely! Not too loud either and just across the road is a lovely viewpoint where you can see Lisbon from high! Highly recommend checking this out, especially on a warm evening, a great place to relax!
No complaints about this hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The staff is very friendly and open minded. When we arrived they gave us tips for the sights of Lisbon. The rooms are clean and the location is great. We had a great time at johnie's place and we really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Johnies Place made my holiday in Lisbon special and enjoyable so much.
The place was converted very tastefully from 17th centuries palace. It’s walking distance to many interesting places in Lisbon, especially Miradouro de Graca is just in front of you and a few minutes walk to Largo das Portas do Slo and Miradouro de Santa Luzia and Castle. The stop of 28 tram is close to Johnies Place. I traveled alone and the area was safe to walk around late evening.
The hostel has a kitchen where you can cook and take free tea/coffee all day and free breakfast, free internet and nice smoking area and every room is very spacious with nice furniture and everything is clean and well maintained.
The most appreciate thing for me is Ana (the owner)’s help and friendliness. She is very approachable.
I was planning to stay there for three nights and stay for two nights at other rather expensive hotel as I had a deal but I cancelled it because I felt Johnies Place is much more attractive and nicer to stay!
I’ll go back there when I visit Lisbon next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fumiko U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A very pleasant, unique and characteristic place.Very well located, with easy access to the historical center of the city and situated right next to a lookout with an excellent view, ideal to relax having Lisbon as sight.

Room Tip: best price/quality place
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guerrilhacrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

this hostel is perfect, it´s in the old center of Lisbom, next to a wonderful miradouro, where you can have a nice view of the whole city. The hostel is big, with a lot of sun light, the rooms are comfortable, and all the instalations are very clean and cared about all the details.
You will feel as at home because the environment the people create there is very home-loving.
I would defenitly recomend this hostel to go, i would sure come back there...it is a nice place to know and to enjoy.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but specially the couple one, it is so beautiful, quite and great!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Perfectly located in a beautiful old building in a beautiful old neighbourhood, between the most stunning view in Lisbon and the coolest bar (Botequim), Johnie's Place offers an authentic experience of the city in every respect. What makes Johnie's Place unique is the people you'll encounter within. During my lengthy stay, I consistenly encountered genuine, good-natured and passionate people from around the world (several of whom were repeat visitors), which I largely attributed to the warm, generous and personable hospitality of the owner and her helpers. From day one, I felt like a welcome guest in the home of a friend, which goes a long way when traveling solo. In addition, Johnie's boasts all the standard trimmings of a good hostel, and lots of spaces to mix with other travelers or take a little down time for yourself, even at full capacity. I've been to a lot of hostels, including others in Lisbon, and I can't recall a happier stay than at Johnie's. It made for a very memorable and satisfying visit to an already amazing city, and was essential to my experience and appreciation of Portguese culture. Johnie's Place will be my only choice of accomodation for inevitable future visits to Lisbon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephJohn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Hotel Principe Real
#181 of 253 in Lisbon
209 reviews
Passion Inn Lisbon
#163 of 437 in Lisbon District
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Easy Lisbon Hostel
#78 of 484 in Lisbon
73 reviews
Principe Real
Royal Prince Hostel
Royal Prince Hostel
#101 of 484 in Lisbon
48 reviews
Nest House Lisbon Hostel
#55 of 484 in Lisbon
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnies Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnies Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites

Address: Calcada da Graca 18F1, Lisbon 1100-265, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £15 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a 17th century building, in the iconic Miradouro da Graça viewpoint with amazing views of Lisbon, Johnie's Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites offers shared and private accommodation. It offers FREE WiFi access and a continental breakfast buffet. All rooms include bed linen, a fan and central heating. Some private double room includes a complete bathroom with shower, towels and toiletries. Shared dorms have lockers. A continental breakfast buffet is served daily, FREE for the private rooms and extra charge for the dorms, and guests can enjoy free coffee and tea throughout the day. This area is filled with restaurants with traditional Fado music, serving traditional Portuguese cuisine. Johnies Place offers entertainment to its guests, from foosball to quietly reading a book. A 2-minute walk takes guests to São Jorge Castle and Feira da Ladra flea market, where bargains are available. The picturesque Tram 28 is 1-minute walk from Johnies Place, taking guests through some of the major landmarks, from Prazeres to Graça district. Johnie's Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites can arrange a shuttle service to Lisbon International Airport, located a 20 minutes drive. Several free public PARKING spots are available near the property. Sao Vicente is a great choice for travelers interested in friendly locals, city walks and old-town exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Johnies Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing