We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel During my trip”
Review of Travellers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travellers House
Ranked #8 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best hostel During my trip”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

it is centrally located. Sea and other tourist attractions are just walking distance away.Very friendly staff. The living room is the most buzzing place. Free wifi in ur rooms, they have iPads, mac for your use for free. They organised daily tours to Sinatra and nightly tours around Lisbon. Mr Gee knows the area in and out. He gives u excellent suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. The pub crawl and peri peri chicken nights were awesome. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are clean and seldom busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    63
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
126
154
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was the best hostel ive ever been to. Spent two nights there and they were the best nights in lisbon. The stuff organises great Events every night. I saw fado in the best place i could have eer asked for. In a very autentic local place where they usually dont even want tourists. The liing room in the hostel is very nice, so are the rooms. Nothing bad to say...go there if you happen to be in lisbon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eettabeetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was a solo traveler and I found it perfect: beautiful, clean, staff awesome and very helpful, they also organize lot of nights and tours. Good location, perfectly central, in the heart of the city.
I met lot of people from all over the world in the beautiful living room and the atmosphere was so nice, I really spent hours there. Access to internet is free, there were computers and iPad at your disposal. The rooms are also very nice, with safes under the bed. I appriciated a lot also their breakfast, preatty good and cheap. And... there was always very good music in the living room!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S4R4M4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Super friendly and homely, and PRIME location. Easy to get to from the airport (catch the airport bus, and it's like a 2 minute walk from the stop), staff are awesome, really central and close to lots of pretty stuff in the city. Hostel is nice, clean, friendly, and breakfast is awesome (eggs served by super friendly Portuguese ladies). Only room for improvement would be the rooms which got quite hot at night but that's no biggie. I was with a friend but it would also be really nice for solo travelers. Seriously don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I've been lucky enough to travel the world and stayed in some great places and some not so great but i have to say this place is excellent, from the location to the staff and to the hostel itself. I stayed for two nights before me and a group of friends went to Optimus Alive festival. As i said earlier the location is spot on and the staff are very helpful. I'd recommend the bar crawl the hostel does because its great to meet other people and check out the Lisbon nightlife. Lisbon as a city is fantastic.

Room Tip: I had no problem with the room i was in and that was on the 3rd floor over the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Centrally located, Knowledgeable staff, friendly atmosphere.. can't get much better than that. This hostel is located in the heart of Lisbon, with lots of charm and potential. Breakfast is included and the rates are very reasonable. Definitely worth staying in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here June/2012 while visiting Lisbon with a friend

Pros -

- The staff are super informative and always available to lend a hand
- Amazing location
- Clean
- Access to internet is free (they'll even lend a you an Ipad should you choose to lounge)
- Great interactive nights planned i.e. Keg Night, Sausage and wine, etc
- Great tours i.e. Alfama Tour, Sintra Tour, etc
- Nice ambiance
- Safe and locker right under the bed
- Spacious
- Not much of a party hostel

Cons -

- This may sound like BS but, it's the truth: Zero cons to report

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmtavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,531 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 251 in Lisbon
800 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 470 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 470 in Lisbon
566 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 470 in Lisbon
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers House

Property: Travellers House
Address: Rua Augusta 89, Lisbon 1100-048, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travellers House is ideally located in the most historical and central area of Lisbon, (Baixa), within a walking distance to all major attractions, and interesting spots of Lisbon, with a super transport network at your door. In a 250 year old building, we invite our fellow travellers to relax in our music lounge, enjoy a film in the TV/DVD room, or read our books and surf our mega-fast internet, in the reading lounge. We appreciate the importance of clean facilities therefore we'll be cleaning all day long, making sure everything is spotless. Our facilities include 2 bathrooms with 4 hot showers 24 hours a day. 4 common rooms (dining room, music lounge, TV/DVD area, reading lounge), and free use kitchen. Owned and managed by travellers, together designed this Hostel in order to provide you the best stay in one of the most picturesque cities of Europe. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere for young travellers, hopefully making you feel at Home. Besides the Travellers House, we have just renovated an apartment in the same building, 'The Little Travellers House,' which includes three charming bedrooms. The apartment has its own toilet, shower room, a colourful kitchen and cozy living room. Two rooms are double bedrooms and one is single. Better than more words, just take a look at the pictures' Travellers House features include: -free individual lockers and locks-free towels, linens and duvets-free coffee and tea, all day-free breakfast-free wireless internet connection-free access to guide books from all around the world-book exchange-free maps and advice-free luggage storage-free satellite TV and films-free CD/DVD burning facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing