We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was like living with our of home for the first time with your bestfriends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Travellers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travellers House
Ranked #8 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was like living with our of home for the first time with your bestfriends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I can not emphasise enough how great this hostel is. I would actually say it is worth travelling to Lisbon just to visit this hostel. Every part is perfect from the two Portugese cooks to the travel experts that run the place (and befriend every guest at the same time), from the beanbag filled, jazz chillout room to the perfectly comfy beds. This is the place you need to stay in Lisbon or in Portugal or in Europe. Best hostel I've been in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmck3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    62
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
121
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the double rooms. The spot has great staff that take the time to tell you about the area and show you around the hostel. Nightly events are a lot of fun (we did the wine tasting) and breakfast is great (choice of yogurt with fruit, eggs and bacon or crepes).

The room was very nice and clean - lots of stairs to the top floor and the air conditioner did not work too well (only complaint).

Location is perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rbaulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

All the positive things said by other reviewers are absolutely correct and I won't go over them all again. However, I'd like to pay tribute to Joao and all the staff who work there. Rarely does a hostel manage to find staff who are all consistently outstanding in their work, friendly, charming and knowledgeable, from those on reception, to the guys doing the evening events, the housekeepers and the delightful ladies who prepare breakfast to order every morning.

A particular highlight of the hostel is the programme of evening social events. Many hostels organise these, but I know of no other hostel that does it so well and relates the events to the culture of the country and city. The wine tasting night and the brilliant chorizo/sausage sampling evening done in-house are brilliant ways of bringing people together in the hostel whilst providing insights into both areas. The Fado night can only be done in Lisbon and the hostel finds exemplar bars to visit. Not content with just taking people out for the night, the hostel organises a pre-event social before leaving, so that people can get to know each other before they set out - a master stroke of social organisation.

If you want to know anything about the city the staff will know or find out for you. If you are planning a tour of Portugal you will have amazing help at hand from people who know the country really well and will sit down with you and a map and come up with great ideas for places to visit you may never have known existed.

I stayed for a week and was joined by friends from the USA for the latter part, who are not accustomed to staying in hostels, but they loved it and had a great time. There was a wide age range of people in the hostel from teens, to the three of us in our 60s. Everyone integrated wonderfully. There are a couple of places around the world I return to not only for the city but primarily for the hostel. Lisbon is a great city, worth a visit any time, but I'd go again in order to stay at Travellers House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great private room, great location, GREAT brekkie and lovely hosts.
Amazing value, we are in our late twenties now, so didn't fancy a dorm room, but still dipped into the backpackers bar crawls and tours to make us feel young again!
Would highly recommend, felt very at home and relaxed in this beautiful building.

Room Tip: Our private room for two was great, and close enough to the bathrooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and cannot recommend it enough. The staff are so helpful, always stopping for a chat and a joke when you meet them. The ladies who make the yummy breakfast (which is included in the price) and clean the rooms are so friendly. We were staying in a private double room ensuite on the fifth floor, there was no lift but it's a great way to work off all that nice Portuguese food! Everything about this place makes it the only place to stay for me in Lisbon, I will be recommending it to anyone who is going there. You will not get a better location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Me and my friend stayed at the Traveller's house for 4 days and it was one of the best experiences i have to date. The hostel organised events every day; including tours during the day and bar crawls and wine tasting events at night, and this gave us the opportunity to meet everyone else in the hostel which for me was a highlight. The staff were so friendly (especially Carlos) and they couldn't do enough to help you making sure that we got the best out of our holiday in Lisbon. They gave us maps which they annotated to show us where to go and where the best nightlife was. They provided breakfast everyday which was delicious. I don't have a bad thing to say about this hostel, and I am positive it is somewhere I would go back to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakh1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Staff were friendly, professional, and spoke English. I cannot say enough good things about the people who worked there. Breakfast was delicious and the daily activities captured the spirit of Lisbon. The rooms were spacious and clean, as were the washrooms and common areas. This was the perfect place to stay to experience Lisbon.

Room Tip: There is a kitchen and common area of the top floor, but the washroom and shower are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#16 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers House

Property: Travellers House
Address: Rua Augusta 89, Lisbon 1100-048, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travellers House is ideally located in the most historical and central area of Lisbon, (Baixa), within a walking distance to all major attractions, and interesting spots of Lisbon, with a super transport network at your door. In a 250 year old building, we invite our fellow travellers to relax in our music lounge, enjoy a film in the TV/DVD room, or read our books and surf our mega-fast internet, in the reading lounge. We appreciate the importance of clean facilities therefore we'll be cleaning all day long, making sure everything is spotless. Our facilities include 2 bathrooms with 4 hot showers 24 hours a day. 4 common rooms (dining room, music lounge, TV/DVD area, reading lounge), and free use kitchen. Owned and managed by travellers, together designed this Hostel in order to provide you the best stay in one of the most picturesque cities of Europe. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere for young travellers, hopefully making you feel at Home. Besides the Travellers House, we have just renovated an apartment in the same building, 'The Little Travellers House,' which includes three charming bedrooms. The apartment has its own toilet, shower room, a colourful kitchen and cozy living room. Two rooms are double bedrooms and one is single. Better than more words, just take a look at the pictures' Travellers House features include: -free individual lockers and locks-free towels, linens and duvets-free coffee and tea, all day-free breakfast-free wireless internet connection-free access to guide books from all around the world-book exchange-free maps and advice-free luggage storage-free satellite TV and films-free CD/DVD burning facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing