We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Excellence in Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lisboa Central Hostel
Ranked #12 of 432 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“The Excellence in Hostel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was very well received and accommodated, and the staff did everything to make my stay as enjoyable as possible, during the 2 weeks that I've been there.The functionality, organization and neatness impress.The price is a Hostel but the service exceeds that of a Hotel. The pancakes for breakfast and soup for dinner, associated with some treats, make us feel highly valued! Best Hostel I've ever been to!

Room Tip: The 2º floor have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    45
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
66
178
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Its a wonderful hostel, i stayed there for 10 days total, the staff are wonderfull and very helpful, Plenty if space in the rooms for everyone and there bags, its very clean and plenty of ammenities, its only a short 10-15 minute walk to down town and 2minutes to the metro, i would definitley stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iswiminpools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends just over a week ago. It was very clean, very homely. They often gave us free soup and pancakes in the morning. I lost my wallet while I was there and they posted it out to me. Would definitely go again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Antani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we arrived on our friends birthday and they prepared a cake for us and soup! they do free milkshakes on mondays, and provide banana pancakes for breakfast. the staff is very sweet and welcoming. they gave us reccomendations of stuff to do and see, and also gave directions on the map. the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and tidy. seems that there is always a maid tidying up after everyone. i would definitely come back :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the second time I stay at Lisbon Central Hostel, this time for one week and the reason I came back is due to a great staff, where everyone is friendly, cooperative and helpful, from the owner to the cleaning staff.
Kitchen is well equipped,rooms are nice and clean with FREE lockers, the breakfast is better than in some 3 star hotels also for FREE, with staff present 24h a day and FREE internet.
The location is perfect since it's really central, near subway stations, bus stops,etc.
I really recommend this place. Its a good example of portuguese hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at this hostel because my flight booking was screwed up and I had to extend one more day. I couldn't find any hotel available around where I was staying. Hotels in town were fully booked due to a huge rock concert. I had no choice but to give this place a try after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor.

It was cheap, clean, and the staff were friendly and spoke good English. But I had to sleep in a bunk and share the room with 9 young backpackers, some were snorers. I couldn't sleep, which probably was a good thing because I was able to use the bathroom without stress before anybody else woke up. By 8 AM there was a long line in front of the bathrooms.

Hostel and shared bathroom are not for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPrabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelCruzSantos, Owner at Lisboa Central Hostel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi,

First of all I would like to start by thanking you for staying at our hostel, I understand that it must have been a little frustrating having problems with your flight and then accommodation, but we are glad you found us.

Regarding your review on TripAdvisor I am writing to give you some further information. As we are a hostel we have shared bathrooms and bedrooms, this allows to keep the price down. However we also have upstairs some private rooms with private WC, it is quieter and more similar to a hotel and as you can imagine it is also more expensive. We feel that you have reviewed our hostel as though we are a hotel, and that it is a little unfair because we are not a hotel nor do we pretend to be, on every website it is clearly stated that we are a hostel with shared bedrooms and bathrooms. On your booking it should have stated clearly that you had booked a 10 bed dorm, were sorry if there was any confusion on this and it was not how you expected.

Thank you
Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Can't recommend this hostel enough. Friendly hosts from the moment you arrive, great location, clean, helpful staff and awesome breakfast pancakes. The place has a very homely and comforting feel to it. We stayed as a couple in a private room with shared bathroom. Room was good size with free lockers, and the bathrooms were clean and always available. Stop looking and book here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brians86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#6 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Central Hostel

Property: Lisboa Central Hostel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 160, Lisbon 1150-282, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 432 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisboa Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for a fun, fresh and friendly place to stay then look no further: Lisboa Central Hostel is the ideal place for you! Excellently located in the heart of city in Marques de Pombal and the famous Avenida da Liberdade this international hostel provides you with the perfect base for sight-seeing by day and partying by night. All of Lisbon’s major hot spots are easily accessible on foot thus saving you the cab fare home at night.Our friendly, local staff will be more than happy to provide you with plenty of information about the city and how to get around, ensuring you are able to make the most of your stay in Lisbon. The hostel is owned and run by a local Portuguese family and travellers who are able to offer you a good insight into this magical city as well as some insider’s tips on the best places to go and where to eat out.In short Lisboa central Hostel is the perfect place for any traveller, whether they be the student backpacker, the young family or the more mature couple looking for a relaxing stay. As well as dorm style rooms the hostel also caters for groups and families looking for private rooms complete with en suite bathrooms.The Hostel hosts a number of activities and cultural events including weekly film nights. And be sure not to miss out on Milkshake Monday where we will be providing each guest with a free tasty milkshake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lisboa Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing