We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rossio Hostel will change your perspective of what you think about hostels”
Review of Rossio Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rossio Hostel
Ranked #55 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Rossio Hostel's the most incredible hostel I've ever seen! Everything is perfect!
It's located in the city centre. Metro station's 30 seconds far from the hostel. At the same distance there's a supermarket...and the tastiest Ginjinha is too close not to have it anytime!
We payed about 20€ per person per night, and I think it's super-cheap. I know that that's the average in Europe (except for France and Holland, maybe...), but if you compare it with services, 20€ is an unique price!
They gave us a really clean, quiet and fancy room (also very secure - we had badges to lock/unlock the door), window looked out onto Rossio Square and St.Jorge Castle. Bathrooms were shared (our floor had 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms) with other guests and the janitors cleaned it about once-twice a day!!
Breakfast was included and was AWESOME! Cookers were super-nice and helpful with everyone.
Receptionists were also very nice and willing to give you every info you needed. They also organize activities for guests, like night-trips around the city...
If you're tired and you want to spend some time in the hostel, the atmosphere is so familiar that you can rest on the couch in the living room, drinking a beer, chatting with other guests and receptionists or playing chess....
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER SEEN!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice hostel in the centre of Lisbon, rooms (twinbed) feel more like hotel-rooms with great view over the city and comfortable beds; to share the clean bathroom was no problem at all! We stayed for 4 nights and spend 3 of them with the staff - they really had a "freakin' amazing" (Silvy, do you mind if i quote you?! ;) ) programm (Fado, bar crawl, Scrabble night) which made our stay just perfect, even when it was raining outside!
The supermarket (Open 7/7) next door was ideal and so we also took advantage of the small, but well equiped kitchen!
The only thing my boyfriend missed: Bacon with the scrambled eggs, next time please! ;)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Here you have everything you need in a hostel. The location is perfect. When you leave the airport you can take the Aerobus and drop at Rossio square stop bus. The hostel is just 1 minutes by walk. Near the Rossio square you can take the yellow bus. This bus goes to all landscape in lisboa.
People in the Rossio hostel are very friendly. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo_RJ_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Cozy place in the hearth of Lisbon. The dorms face directly the main square, and so a little bit noisy during night but nothing tragic. The nice and warm sun of Portugal gets through the windows every morning making you revive the atmospheres described in the novels of Tabucchi. Very friendly hosts make you feel welcome in this very comfortable hostel, so well-kept that seems a little family-run hotel.

Nice breakfast and sometimes you could have the chance to enjoy some theme dinners where you can have the opportunity to know the other guests.

lso placed in a strategic place. Close to everything in town you should visit and few steps away from Rossio Train Station where you can easily catch a train to visit the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorlav_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights and this hostel has made my trip a real good one. Really welcoming, they plan typical things from portugal for some of the evening and make a real good atmosphere in the living room which allow us to meet the other travelers. For sure if i come back to lisboa i would go back there! ;)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It really was. Stayed for 5 nights in mid-October. Fantastic helpful and friendly staff, nice rooms and bathrooms, lovely communal atmosphere, kitchen with everything you could possibly want. Would recommend their Fado music nights out in particular. Also very cheap at that time of year. Honestly cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in a private room, we were travelling with 3 persons so we got a room with an extra bed.

Best option if you stay in Lisbonne, very cheap and a very nice stay!

- Great location, next to the train and metro stations
- Friendly staff, always willing to help you out
- Rooms are small but that's not a problem, since you'll spend most of your time outdoors
- Clean and nice bathrooms
- Delicious breakfast, you can ask the staff every day for scrambled eggs with toast or pancakes

The only negative point is the fact that airconditioning was missing. We were there at a very hot period and it got really warm at night. There are fans in the room, but they make so much noice we had to chose between the noice or the heath

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#215 of 255 in Lisbon
349 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 494 in Lisbon
575 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#6 of 494 in Lisbon
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
We Love F.Tourists
We Love F.Tourists
#40 of 494 in Lisbon
185 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 494 in Lisbon
579 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Art Inn Lisbon
The Art Inn Lisbon
#37 of 258 in Lisbon
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossio Hostel

Address: Calcada do Carmo 6, Lisbon 1200-091, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £15 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Rossio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing