We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-based restaurant”

Malmequer Bemmequer
Ranked #756 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Family-based restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I came here because of the good reviews from several websites including TA. the restaurant is quite small, with few tables. it is locked normally, and you will need to ring the bell, then the owner will open the door for you. grilled sardines was too salty for me. the breads and the olives served were expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    97
    19
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“trap for tourist”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am in Lisbon since one month and that war the worst experience
is a trap for tourist
I could not choose for the wine and later I saw the wine list
I payed nearly twice what I could pay in others place : a lot for what I had

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paolosbg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“My favorite Lisbon restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My sister and I decided on this restaurant for our last night in Lisbon because (a) it was next to our guest house, (b) we had read favorable reviews, and (c) we were charmed by the hand-painted sign with the daisies. On a cold mid-January night, we were the only diners until around 9:30 pm (being Americans, we are accustomed to dinner much earlier in the evening). We spent a good 2.5 hours in Malmequer Bemmequer, every minute of it pleasurable.

To commence our dinner, we ordered the cured meat, cheese and olives plate, which came with a delicious assortment of breads and garlic butter. We requested a bottle of the house red wine, and I'm sorry I don't recall the name of it because it was excellent.

My sister ordered the mushrooms and a soup, while I was craving red meat and ordered the lamb. It was the most succulent, perfectly seasoned lamb I've had in a long time, if ever, and I had to exert considerable effort to restrain myself from gnawing at the bones. My sister's mushrooms were excellent with a delicate, buttery sauce. I added a few to the rice dish that accompanied my lamb.

We were thoroughly crushed when the dessert menu arrived as we could not possibly eat any further, and everything looked so enticing. If I had known about the dessert menu, I would have skipped our appetizers.

As for the service, we found our waiter to be courteous, politely reserved, and unintrusive. We didn't have anywhere to go and he seemed content to let us sit and talk over a leisurely meal. Based on my one experience, I would not recommend dining here if you are rushing off to another nightlife event. This is a great restaurant for experiencing well-prepared food in a casual manner. As far as ambiance is concerned, the decor is simple, tasteful and uncluttered. The prices are far below what one would pay in the U.S. for a commensurate meal in this type of restaurant setting.

I cannot recommend Malmequer Bemmequer enough, and will certainly return again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our third visit to this lovely restaurant and we were not disappointed. We were the only diners on this occasion but we did not feel uncomfortable. The owner greeted us warmly and sat us at a table with a view out to the street so we could watch the world go by.
The food is as good as ever, nothing fancy, just good quality, tasty traditional Portuguese dishes....the fish kebabs were as wonderful as I remember. There is a great wine list, all reasonably priced and nothing that will break the bank. We had an excellent Portuguese wine for about €9.50.
I was very surprised to read the recent negative reviews because our experience of this restaurant has always been so good and this visit was no exception. I would advise trying it for yourself and making your own decision.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice spot in a charming neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night at opening time and have no problems at all with service. The place was full by the time we left, with some people turned away because there was space reserved for a party of about 10 that was arriving later. I ordered the lamb, which was delicious. My husband had the pork. We were in a leisurely mood and not in any kind of hurry, but we did not think the service was slow (even though we are American!). Seemed a pretty good meal for the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malmequer Bemmequer also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Malmequer Bemmequer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing