We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be much better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodnight Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #40 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

This backpacker could be much nicer. Very central location and cosy lounge but very noisy especially in double room which are right next to the stairs... Don't go there in winter time because rooms don't have heaters and the staff takes times to find one... So good hostel if you go with a group of friends but not with your lover.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaslyonLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
28
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Everything is nice about this place! The location (walking distance to almost everything), the cleanliness, the great breakfast (I loved the pancakes) and above all the people! From the moment you arrive, you feel at home. We also got great advice on where to go, where to eat, what to do in Lisboa!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Really the title says it all - its basic but it does everything right - group of us used 2 big roms and everyone was happy - the breakfast pancakes were an added bonus - keep it up goodnight team you're doing a great job !!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank streetlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I went to Portugal to work on an organic farm and surf and the Good Night Hostel accommodated me for a few nights before and after my travels. The staff was super friendly and helpful (specifically directed to Dwart & George) in a very authentic way which gave you the impression that they really enjoyed their jobs. One of gals (I forgot her name but she was super tiny and cute) even walked with me to the train station after her shift. I especially loved the free Internet/computers, common area, DVD and game room, free walking tours and the savory pancakes breakfasts served with a smile every morning! This is the one hostel I stayed at the really made me feel cozy and at home. It was clean and the location was top! It's great for young people and/or party people as the entire house is bustling with pub crawlers and night owls...if you're sensitive to noise or have a stick up your but then stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I've stayed at many great hostels around Europe but Goodnight Hostel is one of my favorites! Not only is it clean and tastefully designed, but the atmosphere is incredibly friendly. The staff were helpful but most importantly, they were really nice to everyone and introduced people to each other. With activities planned almost every evening such as wine tasting, soup tasting and nights out, this hostel allows you to meet people.

Also, this hostel is perfectly located. Right next to Rossio square, you can walk to a great deal of attractions and if you were to take the bus or the tram, you'd have plenty of choices nearby.

In summary, Goodnight Hostel is a second home! No wonder it was featured in the 2008 Top 10 Hostels worldwide.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

If you're traveling in a budget this is a fantastic place to stay. Very well located and the staff is fantastic, always ready to help. I would defenetly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulisoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Squeaky beds, bathroom drains clogged with hair, unhelpful staff, dirty, strange atmosphere.

I travel internationally often and always stay in hostels. Good Night Hostel was by far one of the worst.
The Hostel is in a run down house in a touristy part of the city. The entire place is dirty. The walls are covered in kitsch. felt dirty. The mattresses feel about 30 years old with uncomfortable springs. The bed frames creaked all night as everyone tossed and turned trying to get comfortable. There was one outlet in my room, making it impossible to charge my camera battery and phone. And oh yeah I woke up COVERED IN STRANGE BUG BITES.

Also MY PASSPORT WENT MISSING, I may have lost it, but that seems unlikely as I have been around the world with it since 2006 and have always been careful. Regardless of weather it was lost or stollen I found the hostel staff unhelpful in such a stressful situation.
DONT STAY HERE. There are tons of better hostels in Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
We Love F.Tourists
We Love F.Tourists
#35 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#67 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#46 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodnight Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodnight Backpackers Hostel

Property: Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Address: Rua dos Correeiros 113 2, Lisbon 1100-163, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Goodnight Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Goodnight Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing