We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down the best hostel I've been to.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodnight Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #39 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hands down the best hostel I've been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

There is no elevator, you have to carry your luggage yourself for 2 floors.

Apart from that, this is the best hostel I have ever been to. We booked a queen's bed private room for 4 nights.

This hostel brings the perfect combination, what could go wrong?
1. Great, amazing, helpful staff.
2. Big hot showers.
3. Nice and comfortable bed. (we were in a private room)
4. Free soup at night.
5. Beautiful atmosphere.
6. Clean and complete kitchen to cook what you want
7. PERFECT location.
Ok, staff was so great I would say it again.

If you come to Lisbon (and feel young!), you should definitely stay at this hostel.
I would come back to Lisbon and stay another few days myself.

Oh, and I was forgetting about the (complimentary) awesome waffles and breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room. Big rooms were a little bit crowded for what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear guest, We loved having here!
It's true we are on the second floor, but we always help our guests with the luggage :-)
We hope to see you soon in Lisbon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    34
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
28
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Traveled mid-June 2013 for a 4-day tour in Lisbon. From the airport, easy to get there by metro, which is two blocks away from the hotel. The building is in a pedestrian area, hotels, restaurants, shops, hairdressers, 2min walk from the sea. It has been transformed into a very well decorated, charming and cosy backpackers hotel. The staff was super friendly and make you feel like home. They speak in french, english, spanish at least. At reservation, I asked to get the smallest dormitory. The room was clean, cupboards, plugs and bedside lamp next to each bed. On the same floor, the showers/wc for woman cleaned every day twice, nicely decorated in red tones, with pretty stickers on the mirror, to cheer us up in the morning.
The hotel reception is next to the living room with a huge angle-sofa, books, guitar, internet, decorated with taste. These might be details, but it was really appreciated. I did actually felt in a huge house, rather than an impersonal hotel.
What I liked the most: the activities offered by the staff (city tour, night out, and the paper fishes we've painted for SÃO ANTONIO celebrations, the warm soup waiting for you in the kitchen at night after a long day-walk, the super friendly staff that I've met: Ania, Duarte (great music tastes!) and Vicente.
I could only recommend you this cosy backbackers hotel for your future trip to LINDA LISBOA!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
:-) you remember all our events! That's whatwe want: memories! Santo António party is in June. Will you visit us again? ;-)
Big, big hug from Lisbon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Awesome staff. Great location. Comfy and clean atmosphere. 0 complaints from me and I would totally stay here in the future. Wake up to tasty complimentary Crepes and daily hostel activities. My only regret is that I had to leave beautiful Lisboa. I stayed here for 6 nights.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rjordan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Nice to know you loved our morning pancakes and all our events!
We hope to see you next time in Lisbon! Remember summer is coming!! :-)
Safe trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Seriously cannot recommend this hostel more. Staff were really helpful and easy to talk to. Ania gets a special mention - she always had great recommendations, made me feel completely at home and on the Sunday evening we all cooked and ate a traditional Portuguese dinner together. Felt like I was staying with friends. Not to mention the location, a perfect base for seeing the city and an easy stumble home from the bars in Bairro Alto at whatever-o-clock in the morning! Most comfortable common room I've been in - the perfect place to just flake out for the day and chat to others or drift in and out of sleep if you went a little too heavy on the caipirinhas the night before. Top marks for cleanliness as well. Staying in this hostel I fell in love with Lisbon and I'm already planning a trip back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Wow! Thanks! Your words mean a lot to us! Our staff is trully the best ;-) We are remodelating our hostel and we count on yu to visit us!

Safe trip dear friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hostel was not only great in all the usual categories (price, cleanliness, location, comfort, etc) but it stood apart for the quality of their staff. In the course of two days I interacted with four different people and I can only speak wonders of them all. I got plenty of good information for travelling around Lisbon, for places to eat, drink, and sightseeing. I also had great chilled out conversations just while chilling out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adsiVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Wow! Thanks a lot! We loved having you here and we want you to feel at home in Lisbon. Our staff know all about the citiy loves to share and give tips!
Safe trips and see you next time in Lisbon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in a double bed private for 3 nights. The bedroom was nice and clean, though it was on the fifth floor and we had to carry our bags through the stairs(there's no elevator), but that was ok. The bathrooms are modern and very clean, but the water in the showers was a bit cold. Wifi connection on the 5th floor wasn't that good. Though, the staff is very friendly and there's always someone around, if you need help(even during the night). The location is central, the subway station/shopping is only a few meters away, and it was quiet at night.Totally recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieblue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear guest thanks a lot, your opinion is really important to us. We are remodelating our hostel andhope you'll visit us again :-)
Safe trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

the best hostel in Lisboa is the Goodnight hostel!! great people, friendly and funny everytime. The atmosphere was very warm and intimate. The living room and the kitchen was very nice too. we stayed in the top floor which was like a loft. It was something different than the synithismeno.tin next time you go Lisbon would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linahophop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodnightHostel47444, Gerente de relações públicas at Goodnight Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear guest, thanks for your review! We also love the rooms on the top fllor :-) It's a kind of magic!
All the staff says hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#9 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
We Love F.Tourists
We Love F.Tourists
#36 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#73 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#47 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodnight Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodnight Backpackers Hostel

Property: Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Address: Rua dos Correeiros 113 2, Lisbon 1100-163, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Goodnight Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Goodnight Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing