We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon
Ranked #91 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in a private room in the Unreal Hostel Lisboa and were very happy with our stay. The absence of signage made it difficult to find initially (we had to enquire with the concierge of a nearby hotel for directions), though is very close to the Picoas metro .

There was quite a wait at reception, however, this was largely because we had booked the wrong dates (clever!) and the Unreal team were only too happy to sort this out for us. If you intend on using the air-conditioning and hostel towels, be sure to mention this at check-in as each attracts a bond (€20 and €5 each, respective).

The room was basic, modern, clean and with a small balcony. Wifi access in the room was excellent - we were able to use laptop, 2 x iPhones and iPad simultaneously with ease and even made clear FaceTime calls. Breakfast of toast, cereal, coffee/tea is served daily 8-10am and great to kick-start your day in the city.

The Lisbon Metro is an absolute pleasure to use and the hostel is only a few stops from the centre of everything (€1.60 for a single trip or €6 for a day ticket which covers bus, tram and metro).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brickandpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay here this month. I stayed for four nights in a private room with an ensuite. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nothing special so I bought my own bread and it was fine. The Metro is 20 seconds away and you have an ATM and supermarket across the street for convenience. I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

This hostel is all about good service and the staff speak good english and are very kind. The rooms are cleaned everyday and it shows. Downside the rooms are extremely noisy and for that reason and that reason only I will pay more money to go to an actual hotel to get a good sleep. The staff is great, the rooms are great if only they paid more attention to the guests who make so much noise in the middle of the night - I might consider coming back for a third time...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a hostel devoid of personality and character but it's clean and simple and inexpensive. If you're looking for a budget place to stay then Unreal hostel is a good choice. Staff are friendly enough and although not easily accessible from the city centre on foot it's close to Metro stops. There's not much to do within walking distance of the hostel so use it as a base to go exploring.Would recommend...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hostel was great! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room (dorm) was thoroughly cleaned everyday, the showers were hot, the kitchen area was nice, and it is located on an airport bus line as well as a metro line. You also get free breakfast, free internet, and free towels! For the price, this place couldn't be beat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xscorcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked this place just two nights before we arrived for 36 euros, two people, two nights and for that price we really weren't expecting much. It was all very new and very modern. Our room was on the fifth floor (the top one for rooms) which was fine as they had two elevators. Our room was for 8 people but it was really nice and spacious. Lockers included in the rooms and a massive balcony which was really nice to sit on and have a few drinks. Only problem with the room was that there was only one power socket in it. We had a bathroom on our floor which was really nice and clean, had about 4-6 showers and three cubicles. Only problem in there was that two of the cubicles didn't have locks on them and the soap ran out at the two sinks. On the sixth floor is the kitchen and eating area. Really clean, spacious and with full cooking utensils. Had a big TV in there and it was really good to meet people and predrink in the evenings before going out. On the first floor there was a small living room area/ study area with a balcony and a big TV again but we didn't realise that it was there until we were checking out. Some of the staff weren't all that friendly but we met a guy called Ricardo on our last night there who was only on his second shift and he was such a nice guy to us. It is in a pretty good location with a supermarket just round the corner and the metro station about a five minute walk away. We walked into town mostly because it really wasn't too far - probably about a 15-20 minute walk. Great place for a cheap stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were a group of 34 and needed a last minute hostel in the centre of Lisbon. We found this hostel through hostelworld and the service was excellent, especially at such short notice. The rooms were clean, the facilities excellent, and everything was within walking distance of the main attractions. Would definitely recommend this hostel

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit hot - check whether you can get Air Conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diannenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hub Lisbon Patio Hostel
#60 of 494 in Lisbon
37 reviews
Easy Lisbon Hostel
#94 of 494 in Lisbon
76 reviews
Nest House Lisbon Hostel
#52 of 494 in Lisbon
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
Music Hall Lisbon Hostel
#174 of 494 in Lisbon
51 reviews
Lisbon Forever Hostel
#123 of 494 in Lisbon
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon

Address: Rua Pedro Nunes 10, Lisbon 1050-171, Portugal (Formerly Unreal Hostel Lisboa)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £13 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon is a great place to go to if you want to have a fun stay in Lisbon's city centre. Either if you decide to go out or stay in at night, you'll have a good time anyway! We offer cheap beds in basic rooms, perfect for students, backpackers and other young travelers. As we provide over 150 beds, we're also a great hostel to host groups! You can book private rooms as well as a bed in a dormitory (from 4 up to 10 people). We are located in Lisbon's city centre, right next to the Parque Eduardo VII, a great place to hang out with a group of (new) friends in Summer. Bars and restaurants are located around the hostel. If you want to go to the old city centre, it is about a 20 minutes' walk over the big boulevard 'Avenida da Liberdade', or 5-10 minutes by Metro, which is located close to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing