We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and original place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa do Bairro by Shiadu
Ranked #6 of 233 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming and original place”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Before coming we could not imagine that such a place exists. It combines the best of hotel and hostel offer - cosy family atmosphere as in hostels with very comfy spaciousus rooms and bathrooms of hotels. Just advice print google map of surrounding since the street is not visible on GPS. I have written emails to them before arrival and got useful tips of possibilites where to park rented car.

We were welcome in amazing way with a drink and Raquel who gave us useful tips in which tasca to eat and where to go out and wooow it was truly amazing, Tnx a lot Raquel we ended up eating where you usually go out with your friends unfortunatelly I forgot the name of it but truly amazing food, great atmosphere and super cheap for such a great offer of food wine etc. We really enjoyed the night in Bairro Alto with many live music concerts and many people in the streets.

In the morning we had amazing breakfast,truly deliciosus with Rabanadas (u need to try them), pancakes, all sort of domestic marmelades etc. amazing freshly pressed orange juice:D here u truly enjoy every moment. Rafa thanks a lot for putting effort to teach us portugese pronounciation and all the useful tips:))))

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Matea_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    86
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
141
414
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Casa do Bairro. The room was very clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. The members of staff were very warm and attentive (we met Nidia and Rafa), and they were also extremely helpful in all respects. Nidia suggested some good restaurants close to the b&b that we enjoyed very much. Rafa also told us some lovely places we could visit on our way to Aveiro. All in all it was a wonderful experience. When we visit Liboa next time, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I felt there not exactly like in a hotel, as it is small, cozy, home look like equipped. Very, very clean rooms, original design, polite staff, good location. Very reasonable price for its standard. What I loved much was the roof terrace, where you can see Lisbon from the top. I would give the highest rate but my room was unfortunately loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I recommend Casa do Bairro as a great place to stay in Lisboa. The polyglot Rafa welcomed us in French, took the time to hand over city maps & introduce us to the City Highlights (including Bélem). We received a lot of great attentions during our stay,e.g; print out of boarding passes, cards for public transportation, free bottle of waters, etc..). The family room Boavista is absolutely charming (a lot of space for the family) and has a nice view on the River Tage and nice furniture. We immediately felt like home. The breakfast with a lot of home made desserts also deserves to be mentioned. We'll definitely be back! Lisboa has for sure many other secrets to disclose...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory43leb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Casa do Bairro. The staff we very friendly and quick with recommendations. They made our stay! The guest house is in a lovely spot and has a relaxed atmosphere. They had an honesty fridge which was well used (by us!). We had a brilliant time in this atmospheric city.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andygallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Wow! This place is awesome! The second we walked through the doors, our honeymoon vacation got so much better. It was already great but the helpfulness & warmth of the staff took it to another level. Nidia & Raphael in particular always took their time to explain things as well as make suggestions when needed. Rachel was great too, but didn't see her as much. We covered a lot of ground in Lisbon, went on a day trip to Sintra (great), took a ferry across the River & had amazing seafood. We even took a 2 day stay in Algarve & Casa do Bairro held onto our big bags of luggage so we didn't have to carry all that weight. They have sister properties in Lisbon & Porto & my wife & I visited one nearby for dinner on the rooftop. The food was delicious, the view incredible & the staff there as friendly as anything. Sergio hooked it all up there at Monte Beleverde. This place is a 10 minute walk to Barrio Alta, which has incredible nightlife. The rooms are huge by European standards. Finally, the breakfast each morning was tasty! We ate like kings to start the day, everyday. Owners, if you're listening, give your staff a raise! They rock!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It was a couple of weeks ago me and my girlfriend stayed at Casa do Barrio for the two nights we planned to spend in Lisbon, and i have to admit that this has been one of the most amazing places ive been in a long time.
We were first of all so surprised by the great vibe and treatment by their staff, it was just amazing!
then we got into our room and we couldnt believe were we got ourselves into, believe me, it was like a four stars hotel room for the price of a bed&breakfast!
And talking about breakfast! another great thing is the little but well selected morning food they serve, try the self made marmalade please! soooo good!!!
So far, i cannot see any negative thing in staying at Casa do Barrio, a yeah, the price! it was too cheap, hehehehe.... super good deal as you can imagine.
Please make yourself a favour and stay there next time you pass by Lisbon, i will!
thanks Casa do Barrio for everything once again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos_8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Bairro by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro by Shiadu

Property: Casa do Bairro by Shiadu
Address: Beco Caldeira no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-083, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses started in 2007 and is a trademark for "refined" guesthouses, combining the provision of comfort and elegance with a customer service completely dedicated to each of its customers. The Casa do Bairro by Shaidu, only a 5-minute walk away from Chiado, Bairro Alto and the No. 28 Cable Car to Alfama, opened in the spring of 2009. It was in that major apartment complex, with its 11 double, triple and family-sized suites, that our first guests got a taste of our very characteristic Lisboan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa do Bairro by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing