We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be!”
Review of Shiado Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiado Hostel
Ranked #93 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 1 January 2013

It's one of the best hostels I have stayed. The staff is great and the location couldn't be better, right next a metro station and in one of the best zones in Lisbon. It's a great place to go and relax, take your time surfing on the Internet or reading books from the little library. The kitchen is well equipped. Breakfast is bread, cheese, coffee, milk, orange juice, cereal, mermelade, apple and some biscuits like palmieres. Everything tasteful.
In the street there's a antiques fair with books and newspapers, and there's a store with many antique items.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mediebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

An amazing hostel at the heart of Lisbon, in between Chiado and Largo Camoes and two steeps away from Bairro Alto, the night life area in Lisbon. Top staff, top location, good breakfast and beautiful location... To revisit!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedr0guerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Having stayed at this hostel for quite a few days I can highly recommend it from all perspectives. The hostels location is prime and facilitates access to all major sites of tourist interest.

This hostel is secure being located in a very safe area, having individual locked locker availability and 24 hour reception controlled hostel access.

The hostel is bright spacious and clean with staff carrying out a constant thorough cleaning freshening and airing. The beds seem quite new and the floors are of beautiful timber finish with high ceilings and large easily opened windows in any dormitory I`ve seen.

Each and every one of the staff are extremely helpful, friendly, intelligent and cooperative and I doubt if there is any language in which they cannot converse with ease. One is made feel at home here and I give all the staff the highest commendation.

The hostels facilities are also extensive with computers set up for skype and all other necessary chores one may wish to carry out online including booking of onward flights with the facility for printing tickets. If you would prefer to use your own laptop or smartphone then you can simply sign into the broadband. A beautiful large and well furnished rest and television room is available for times when you would prefer to relax and read or watch television.

Room Tip: Couples can choose a double room. friends can book a dormitory together and solo I was happy with wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I Sonia I am travelling alone to know this beautiful city, and I choose Shiado Hostel because is 1 minutes walk to the famous elevator of 1911 ,5 minutes walk to the ocean..Is real a nice place the rooms are nice and very clean.Also the breakfast is good and bread always fresh.
Wifi and 3 PC allow you to feel always at home,Truly recommnended!!
I meet people from all the world brasil, Suisse, French is a real international place.Brava Elena the owne ris is very kind and helpful , always she is very nice to explain where to listen music from acbo verde or to listen the real fado or african music from angola.Now I am lucky in Lisbon 16 17 november and 23 24 november there are CABO VERDE FESTIVAL What are you waiting for? come to Shiado Hostel Sonia Uscio Golfo Paradiso Genova Italia

Room Tip: MIx dorm is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rifugiouscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I had a very nice stay. Shiado is in a top location and has a lovely vibe, thanks to its beautiful design and very friendly and helpful staff. As a solo traveller who hadn’t wanted to stay somewhere corporate and anonymous, I felt comfortable straight away. Many thanks in particular to Leandro for taking lots of time on my arrival to give me tips on Lisbon and to Elena, the co-manager, for the nice chats! There is a comfortable and bright common room where I would have happily whiled away time had I stayed for longer (it includes books, travel guides and current info on Lisbon). Big plus also, the hostel is very safe, guests are buzzed in and the reception is manned at night. Note that if you are staying in a double room, Room 7 may be quieter than Room 4, which is closer to reception.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a double room, Room 7 may be quieter than Room 4, which is closer to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We've arrived in Lisbon at quite late night and we came to Shiado Hostel and everything was very inviting and the people working there were soo welcoming. The prices are very accurate, as breakfast is included, the rooms are quiet, the beds are comfortable and the internet is for free. You can help yourself with coffee and tea at all times. The bathrooms are shared but that is not a problem as they are always clean. AND: It is in the middle of Chiado near the Chiado/Baixa station. So everythings close to walk. As well we got free walking tours through Lisbon! I definitely recommend you this hostel!

Room Tip: Shared room for 8 people (the cheapest) does not influence the quality of the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anselm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Simply the best hostel I ever stayed in. Friendly staff, extremely clean, good breakfast, very cheap, superb location. Quiet at night, I slept very well. I always found the common bathroom to be very clean.

I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leti83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#14 of 494 in Lisbon
433 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 494 in Lisbon
370 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Surf in Chiado
Surf in Chiado
#84 of 494 in Lisbon
16 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#74 of 494 in Lisbon
89 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#7 of 494 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiado Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiado Hostel

Address: Rua Anchieta 5 30, Lisbon 1200-023, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 494 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £13 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiado Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiado Hostel is located in the Chiado area, the artistic and cultural soul of Lisbon, famous for its cafes the most renowned theatres and the oldest bookshops in town. A perfect spot for meeting people, having interesting conversations and relaxing in a great environment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shiado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing