We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place in a good house but you have to pay attention with check-in and staff aspects”

Lisbon Student House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisbon Student House
Ranked #297 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A place in a good house but you have to pay attention with check-in and staff aspects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

positive: very low price, is not at a so central location but is 4 min by foot from the metro Parque and 8 min from the bus stop where you can take the aerobus to airport, is around 20-30 min by foot from Bairro Alto, it has a equipped kitchen, a living room with TV, a telephone that can be used by guests, there is no ready breakfast but there are some bread, milk, coffee and jelly free to eat any part of the day.
negative: it don’t have a reception, it is basically rooms rented in a common house located in a common building, there aren’t staff too, there is only a employee that stay there during a few hours at afternoon to do the check-ins and the tasks of the house (clean, wash, etc),so except this moment don’t stay anybody in the hostal apart from the guests(there are no staffs). You have to inform to the manager by e-mail of your expected check-in time, otherwise there will be nobody to open the door to you and you will have to call to the manager (which could be a problem if you don’t bring your mobile fone with you and so you have to search for a public fone and have coins to use in it), despite that you will still be of risk of don’t find anybody to open the door to you, this happened with me, I informed by e-mail that I would arrive around 02pm, I arrived at 1:30h pm and waited at the door until 2:30h, nobody answered the ring, then I called to the manager and she told me that the houseworker would be there in 5 min because she was bying some things to the house, then I finally could come in the house.
the private room is very small and I had some Bed bugs bites
In general could be a choice for a budget accommodation, to stay some days in a house with other guests for a very low price, but be aware of the uncomfortable check-in time aspect and the lack of staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

This hostel (if you could call it that) is good value. This isn't a traditional hostel and there are no 24 hour staff. It's more like a very large apartment. There are no signs telling you where the hostel is - you just ring the number and the guy will let you in to give you a room. As a result, you need to tell him when you are arriving (otherwise you can't get in!).
The room I had was large but extremely noisy - facing the main road and on the side of the internal elevator. I needed earplugs every night I stayed. I also had a hard time getting access to the shower when there was a full house. That said, you get what you pay for, so I don't have any major complaints about the place. Having access to the kitchen with a toaster and microwave saved me heaps of money, so it was worth it in the end.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanjap01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Lisbon Student House offers fairly cheap accomodation, so the conditions are average. If you're not extremely pretentious and if you're only looking for a quiet place to sleep at night, the hostel is what you're looking for. The linen and towels are washed frequently, but not immaculate. The bathrooms were very clean when we got there, but in a few days the soap ran out, there was water on the floor and even a clogged pipe that made one of the two showers impracticable.

You should know that although breakfast is included in the price of the room, it's scarce - only some bread, milk and marmelade. But there's a cheap supermarket nearby and you can use the kitchen at any time.

The room we had (the four beds bedroom) was basic - beds, nightstands and that's about it.

The owner is nice and helpful, so you feel like you're not alone in the city in case you need help or information.

The wi-fi works well and there's a small living room with a tv.

The location is good, the metro is only a few minutes' walk from the hostel and 3-4 stops away from the center of the city. You can also walk and get there in 20-25 minutes.

All in all, it was a good stay and for the little time we spent in the hostel (mostly at nighttime) the few problems we encountered were minor.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — the clogged pipe
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maselutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

I stayed in a private room, it was spacious and was very clean. It was nicely decorated, simple with a nightstand, nightlight and clothes rack provided. The bed was very comfortable. The hostel itself is actually a flat full of rooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, a large kitchen and a living room with a TV. The owner does not stay there, but he is always available and checks the flat daily. There is also a cleaning service every morning. The location doesn't seem great at first, but it's very convenient-only 2 minutes to the metro station (Parque) and 2 minutes in the other direction to El Corte Ingles. There are many restaurants, cafes, markets, banks, etc along the street. The day of your check-out you can still leave your things (although there are no lockers), and you can use the facilities before turning in your key. The owner is very nice, always makes sure that everything is okay and offers maps and tourist information. The only perk that was missing was a mirror in the bedroom. Would have been nice to have one on the wall. Also, the bedroom and bathroom doors make a lot of noise when people open and shut them. That was the only thing I really hated but luckily none of the guests came home too late. I didn't get to see the other rooms, but I peeked into one as I walked by and it was much larger and had a balcony. It must have been a double room. Overall, it was really great for the money. I payed a lot less here than in other places where I shared a room in much worst condition. I definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This place was fabulous! We spent 2 nights here whle we explored the fabulous city of Lisbon. In April 2009 when we visited this place was virtually brand new so everything is new, sparkling and modern. It was like staying in someone's spare room in their funky inner city appartment. This place was cheap too; amazing value.

It was a little tricky to find. We found the appartment building easily but there's no sign on the appartment door. It's first on your left once you've gone up one flight of stairs.

There's a kitchenette that you can use to cook you're own dinner if you're travelling on the cheap. A washing machine that can be used free of charge (just BYO washing powder), a TV room, and 3 or 4 bathrooms which were all spotless despite there being several other guests. There's only 5 or 6 rooms so it's uncommn to see anyone outside of meal times.

Breakfast is supplied, but it's up to you to make your own toast. There's free Wi-Fi internet, but no computer terminal so you have to take your own laptop if you want to use this.

Security was good. The appartment building is usually locked, the appartment front door is locked at all times and each bedroom has a lockable door, so we felt qite safe. The appartment building is on a bus route, but it takes 2 different buses to get to/from the airport, but that's easy.

If you're spending time in Lisbon, or even just passing through, this is a great place to base yourself. Clean, comfortable, modern and fabulous value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#132 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Student House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Student House

Property: Lisbon Student House
Address: Avenida Antonio Augusto de Aguiar 80, Lisbon 1050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing