We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly amazing little pension with a 5-star welcome”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #93 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Having read the TrAd reviews, my wife and I booked online for the first 3 nights of our Valentine's celebration, on our first visit to Lisbon. When we arrived, Paula (the lively and friendly owner) had decorated the breakfast room in a romantic style for the occasion - as I believe she does for all seasonal events, judging by the photo-board - and she had put a plate of home-baked heart-shaped biscuits in our room to enjoy with our bubbly. We had booked a double room with en-suite and, when we rang her, Paula explained that the room was small, which was very fair of her. As we'd travelled light, this was not a problem and we found it very cosy and comfortable (with its quirky-but-functional shower attachment over the bath). I would imagine that anyone with a few cases and outfits would be more comfortable booking one of the larger rooms. The breakfasts were a feast of freshly prepared fruit salads, cereals, home-baked cakes & pastries, traditional savoury snacks, cheeses, juices and hot drinks. Paula was relaxed about timings, so breakfast seemed to carry on until the last guest had finished eating / drinking / chatting. The hot drinks were available all day. Everything in the hostel was kept spotlessly clean by Paula herself, including the breakfast room & kitchen (a rare luxury, in our experience of hostels). She was also very helpful with suggestions about where to go and what to see, all in fluent English. Although our room overlooked Rua do Crucifixo, it seemed a very quiet street while we were there and yet it was only a minute or two from the indispensible route No.28 tram, the shops of Rua Augusta, the riverfront at Praca do Comercio, the cafes towards Rossio station and the Metro station of Baixa-Chiado (whose escalators also provide a shortcut to the Bairro Alto). We are both 50+ and not 'party animals.' The fellow guests we met covered a wide range of ages, yet all seemed to respect the relaxed, peaceful ambience. The climb from the street to the 3rd floor may be daunting for anyone with mobility difficulties, although the staircase is wide enough for 2 people side-by-side for support and there are a few half-landings where one can stop for a breather. There is no lift in the building, so it is not wheelchair accessible. If there had been rooms available for the rest of our visit to Lisbon we would have been more than happy to continue our stay in Pensao Royal and it will be our first choice for any future visits. Great value and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheGrizzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights on Pensão Royal and enjoyed it. Our room was small but functional, with window, good ventilation and lighting. The bed was good and the bathroom was very clean. Paula was very friendly and gave us great tips on how to make up Lisbon! The breakfast was wonderful! Returning to Lisbon, we will certainly be there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Pensao Royal has the best location, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. It is definitely value for money. We will certainly come back next time we are in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbcek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Hostel very well located (of course it is close to a main street, so you can hear some noise, but not to much and the windows are news), Paula is very nice, always helps you to find a good restaurants, good trip, the room was cleaned everyday, the breakfast was huge, ....

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We were surprised to see this old tipical portugese appartment. How nice it is decorated and cosy. Paula realy makes you feel at home and she makes several cakes at night to make a huge huge breakfast in the morning, so much and varieted, so nice.
Good bed, good shower and clean
Thanks a lot. Big hug Jeroen and Joan
p.s. ask santa claus for a reading light next to the bed....haha

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanJeroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Pensão Royal is an fabulous place to stay in Lisboa : Juan and Paula are very nice and helpful , and really take care of their guests. The rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day, the breakfast is incredible (freshly home-baked cakes, fruits salads, ...) and you get many tips (districts, restaurants, cafés, bus or train lines, special events...) to visit Lisboa and around. The hotel is located downtown, near the subway station if you need, but you can easily walk to all places. I recommand it to every one !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludivine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The hotel is ideally located near the metro, just a minute walk actually. So, it has a lot of convenience for travel. The bus and tram stops are a minute away as well. I enjoyed my stay there and was impressed with the service. Paula makes sure that there is a variety for breakfast everyday- lots of fresh fruit, bread, freshly baked cakes, ham and cheese. The rooms are spotless clean and clean towels are provided everyday, rooms are cleaned and sheets are changed everyday. The only con I saw was for those who have difficulty in climbing up stairs, this one has 3 flights and the steps are steep.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barca31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casinha das Flores
Casinha das Flores
#60 of 262 in Lisbon
115 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#37 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#188 of 262 in Lisbon
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Mar
#132 of 262 in Lisbon
3 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Happy Hostel
Lisbon Happy Hostel
#139 of 498 in Lisbon
120 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#38 of 262 in Lisbon
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing