We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensao Royal
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
memmo Alfama Hotel(Lisbon)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$65
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
149
53
11
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
53
11
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftshower hoseplentiful hot waterceiling fanbaixa chiado metro stationflights of stairspastriesthird floora great place to staymain siteshamfamous tramgreat central locationlate at nightstayed for nightspublic transporthostel
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stayed in Pensao Royal for 5 days and we couldn't find a better place! it's a perfect location, right in the centre. rooms are so cute, decorated with many details, very clean. the owner was very nice, taking care of every little detail. the breakfast is a story for itself - we even had cakes, amazing!
I would recommend it to everyone, and would definitely come back!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank marty2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Pensao Royal is a perfect place to stay. The owner, Paula is a wonderful, hard working women who makes you feel very welcome. And the breakfast is too good. Chocolate cake, coconut cake, pancakes, fruit salat...OUtstanding...
The location could't be better, everything is around the corner.
I am definitely coming back here. Don't need to think about it twice.
Thank you again Paula for having us and hope to see you soon.

IVONA (CROATIA)

Room Tip: Just execellent place to stay...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We loved our stay at Pensao Royal and, honestly, it was better than a 5 star hotel! Paola is amazing, her breakfast is steadily becoming stuff of legends, our private room with a separate shower and bathroom was cleaned daily (!!!)... The staff also helped a lot with directions, car rental services and anything else we needed. The service we received was in one word - exceptional. I've been in luxury hotels that fall short of Pensao Royal in terms of friendliness, warmth and the amazing breakfast buffet.

Plus, free wireless throughout the hostel, which is really rare (we've been to three hostels in Portugal, only this had WiFi in the room). This alone is a huge plus for us!

I could write positives all day long - but in short, if you're visiting Lisbon, this is the place to stay!

Greets to Paola from Lana & Ivan

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ipekarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Pensao Royal was exactly what we were looking for - a value for money, central, clean place to rest our heads after busy days in Lisbon. However, it is so much more than that! With Paula, it was like staying with a friend - she made us feel very much at home and gave great advice on restaurants, things to do, where to find a supermarket etc ... and makes the most amazing breakfast! The choice was so varied - lots of traditional Portuguese cakes and pastries (including the typical "pasteles de nata"!), fruit, cereal, bread and jam etc .. The double room was airy and light with a fan and the shared bathroom was in impeccable condition at all times. The location is quiet, safe and perfect for exploring central Lisbon and is right by Baixa-Chiado metro station. Just one thing - there is no sign outside, which can be confusing! When you get to the building, look out for "Royal" written next to the third floor and you're there. There is no lift so be prepared to walk up three flights of stairs, but it's not that bad! All in all, I would recommend this guest house to absolutely anyone and will be definitely staying again should I return to Lisbon (hopefully!)

Room Tip: En-suite rooms available but the double room with shared bathroom is also fine!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VictoriaThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Arrived before the scheduled check in time but that was no problem. This is a very centrally located place to stay. The host Paula is a workaholic devoted to her guests. There is an interesting mix of people staying here because she has rooms with private facilities and also share bathroom. The start of every day she prepares a great breakfast. Without a doubt it was the best we ate in a whole month in Spain and Portugal. Paula caters for everyone, with a leaning towards sweet things as you would expect from someone in Portugal, but there is ample supplies of fresh fruit, eggs (prepared in differnt ways each day), cold meats, the list is long. She made her special chocolate cake because she thought I would like it. I am not big sweet consumer at the best of times but had a big chunk and it was wonderful. Had a sugar buzz all day. It is also a great meeting spot where guests can converse over the very casual breakfast
Paula will also give advice on where to eat and where not to. Steering you away from the nearby tourist area which can be humming with tourists on shore excursions from the many boats who dock in the harbour. It is a short walk to Rossio station to catch a train if you want to go up to Sintra. Also very close to the famous trolley bus which takes you up the hill. Her offsider who also speaks very good English had us in stitches with his deadpan replies to our questions.
Its not the Hilton but I would recommend it anyone looking for a bit of character in a place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews