We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the place to get a sense of Lisbon”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #82 of 250 Lisbon B&B and Inns
dublin,ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just the place to get a sense of Lisbon”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Pensao Royal might not be everyone's cup of tea but if you are tired of the sameness and often un-intentional soul-less hotel accommodation, this is right up your alley. However, beware there is no lift in the building.
Paula, the owner, is someone who knows her city, a mine of information! The intention of the trip to Lisbon was to chill out, relax and do very little, the chill out and relax bit did happened but we did a lot more than we intended. Every day Paula had the insight to suggest trips to different areas of the city taking into account the weather and how energetic you seemed at the colourful food laden breakfast table.
The appropriate travel cards were suggested making travel on the beautiful old trams (No 28 to the castle) a wonderful way to see to city and avoid the many challenging hills of Lisbon. A day trip to Belem on the No 15 tram was another wonderful day out and sampling the 'pastel de nata' at the cafe Pastel de Belem. It is so easy, you just ask for how many ‘pastel’ you want (3 is a good number). A gastronomic moment for any serious foodie!
Another food moment on this trip was a suggestion from the wonderful Paula, to a restaurant called ‘Restaurante poete na bicha’, Travessa Agua da Flor, Bairro Alto. A dining out experience which hit all the top marks! The food is obviously prepared by a chef who loves his job and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmo2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    49
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
128
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great location, within walking distance to key downtown Lisbon locations. Paula is excellent--friendly, spirited, full of good humor--and makes you feel right at home in Portugal, giving great advice on exploring Lisbon. Great breakfast (homemade by Paula) in a comfy room of the Pensao is a fine way to start off each day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

First time in Lisboa and we were made to feel just like at home, thanks to Paula! You certainly made us feel part of the family with your great bakery skills and the tiredless guide and reminders. Touring around Lisboa was made so easy and wonderful by you and of course you helped us save our pockets from burning by recommending the best dining places and tourist spots without overspending too! Rooms were so well decorated and clean with refreshing area for every morning's breakfast, never looked forward so much to having breakfast before! We've started missing you and your place! Endless thank you Paula and we'll be back soon! This is the place to be for visitors to Lisboa! Two thumbs up for Paula and Pensao Royal!

Room Tip: Different rooms are decorated with different themes, our double bed room was so lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CXLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Comfy place, great location and amazing breakfast! =)
Thanks for everything Paula =)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The cutest, lovely, comfy little house in Lisbon although it was tiring walking up the stairs with our luggages (on the 3rd floor)! The metro train station is just less than 3 minutes away. It just feels like home, we stayed for 3 nights 24apr-27apr 2012. Friendly and thoughtful owner, Paula made breakfast for us and told us where to go, when to go and how to get to places and even checked if we wore thick enough to go up hill in Sintra! I love the breakfast especially the
"chocolate crepes"! Every morning, the theme of the dining area was different. the first day was red, second day was green and the third day was purple with different decorations on the tables. Felt like "Alice in Wonderland". She cleaned up our rooms and bathrooms! It was so kind of her to let us stored our luggages in one of the rooms after we checked out and even helped us to call taxi when we were leaving. i highly recommend Pensao royal guest house! Lastly, thanks for the little gift Paula ! =)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great location, amazing hostess and insane amount of cakes at breakfast.
Alot of steps (60 something) but well worth it.
The only grumble was the people shouting outside but when your in the center of Lisbon I think you can get over it.
Oh and Paula, do you sleep? An amazing woman who needs to train up some people to look after the place so she can have a holiday. Thanks for the Dinner :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We came to Lisbon on a wim and it turned out to be an amazing experience because of the lovely Paula! She is so kind, genuine and helpful, she pratically planned our stay... she told us where to go, how to get there, what to do, what to eat. The breakfast in the morning was amazing! She spends all night baking! I am allergic to gluten (bread, pasta, cakes...etc) and she made special cakes for me. It warmed my heart. The pensao is very nice, cozy, clean and the ideal location to be in Lisbon... right next to the metro, Placa Commercio and Bairro Alto. I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreawestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
2.3 mi away
Republica Bed & Breakfast & Arts
1.3 mi away
Residencial Estrela de Arganil
1.0 mi away
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#15 of 250 in Lisbon
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
71 Castilho Guest House
71 Castilho Guest House
#56 of 250 in Lisbon
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
House Sao Bento
House Sao Bento
#64 of 250 in Lisbon
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
O Bigode do Rato
O Bigode do Rato
#49 of 250 in Lisbon
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Property: Pensao Royal
Address: Rua do Crucifixo 50, 3rd fl, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing