We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #72 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs< Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gem of a location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Paula is all that everyone says she is! Location is perfect, breakfast is a wonderland of carbohydrates!! Her dinner suggestions are impeccable, she goes out of her way to be helpful and makes reservations! We could not say enough wonderful things about Paula! The Pensao is located three full flights up, so you get your work out... The building is over 200 years old, and shows its character, the location is in he heart of a city that does not sleep so neither do you!!
So glad we stayed here, Paula made our ten days in Portugal wonderful! Definitely eat at her suggestion Poete na Bichs, amazing food, and sangria to want to bottle and take home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    49
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
127
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April 2014 for three nights and was really pleased with all aspects of my stay. Paula was delightful; full of useful advice on places to visit and eat etc. Would definitely stay again - very good value for money and location is a real plus. Prepare for those stairs!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneBoy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Paula, our hostess was charming and very helpful. She let us drop our cases at the Pension when we arrived early and let us store them there for a few hours after we checked out. In between times she was very helpful with directions and recommendations for places to eat. She works very hard providing a very clean guest house and a lovely varied breakfast. The rooms are basic with eccentric decor. The Pensao Royal is in a great location; it's handy for many of Lisbon's sites and has very good public transport nearby. The only downside was hauling oneself up the 3 flights of stairs at the end of a day's site-seeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardmbsw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

by far the beat place we stayed in when we were visiting europe this past month..
paula makes you feel welcome and even got up early to make us a good breakfast when we had to catch an early flight to barcelona..the rooms are very attractive and beds are nice and comfy...and paula will give you some great places to eat and enjoy lisbon..

Room Tip: we had a pink room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naplesnole77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in room number 2 for three nights over Easter and enjoyed it a lot. The pensao is located in downtown Lisbon, 1 minute walk from metro stop "Baixa/Chiado". Breakfast was amazing, home made cakes and fresh fruit salad every day. The host Paula is very warm and welcoming. The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable. There is a bit of noise from the street at night but nothing that kept us from sleeping. I recommend this bed and breakfast and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in Pensao Royal in February and were really looking forward to the great breakfasts and charming host we had read about here, but the reality was very disappointing.
My biggest problem was the musty damp room- the shower had no ventilation system, and so never seemed to really dry out. The whole room seemed damp and smelly the entire time we were there. The room was also cramped and dark, and the windows were sweaty from all the moisture in the air.
I also didn't appreciate that the host and other staff were smoking incessantly in the enclosed stairwell in front of the pension. Towels must have been hung to dry in that area, because the towels also smelled like stale cigarettes.
The pension does have an excellent location in the heart of Lisbon, but it is on the 3rd floor which is a tremendous hike up without an elevator. In our case, we lugged our stroller up all those stairs each time, because there was no secure stroller parking downstairs.
And finally the breakfast was a sugar bomb. If you like to have 6 kinds of cakes in the morning, you will love it, but I prefer something a little more balanced. The first day we were there the host seemed to have overslept and breakfast was an hour late starting, with nothing resembling an apology. The coffee machine was half-broken or clogged and so never seemed to finish brewing, and the host sat at her computer with her back to us during the entire breakfast each morning. That was hardly the warm reception we had read about.
Overall it was a very disappointing experience and I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: A good tip for a finding the right room? stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in room 6.

We liked:
- the staff speaks english fluently
- great breakfast!
- excellent location, near to the metrostation, tramline 15, 25, 28, trainstation, ...
- recent travel guides like Fodor's and Lonely Planet which we could use free of charge
- very clean

What would we do different:
- short, small beds (-> picture with dimensions of the bed) and very hard mattress
- wifi only worked when we stood close to the door of the room
- always hold the shower in your hand (no hanger)
- ring the doorbell each time you want to get in
- one day we had to wait one hour to get breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffaloyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#30 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#22 of 231 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
#75 of 231 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon RiverView Hostel
Lisbon RiverView Hostel
#47 of 420 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Property: Pensao Royal
Address: Rua do Crucifixo 50, 3rd fl, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pensao Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing