We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location (plus wifi and cleanliness)”
Review of Hotel Gat Rossio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gat Rossio
Ranked #96 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location, location, location (plus wifi and cleanliness)”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

In summary...

Location: unbeatable - close to EVERYWHERE! Ridiculously fantastic. Take shuttle from airport and get off at the Restauradores stop. Cross the road and it's basically there (the other end of the square from Hard Rock - closer towards the main station and Starbucks).

Room: Really tiny, but doable and definitely clean. You'll be outside for most of the day anyway. The hangers are cute and surprisingly work well. The 'compedium' is creative - looks like newspaper. The light switches are pretty funky. The room aroma as we walked in was questionable (like an overexcited 19 year old boy drowning in cologne for his first trip overseas). Shower was OK, though I wish it had more power.

Wifi: EXCELLENT. Works consistently and no hassle - in room and in public spaces. Thank you!

Breakfast: Nothing to write home about. The staff in charge tried their darnest to make things work (as they're always around to try and help) but clearly there weren't enough cups and glasses, and the hot water system (for tea) was embarrassing. The choices were not really... choices. No hot brekky apart from boiled egg (that you cooked yourself) and the only yoghurt available was sweetened. Would've been nice to have unsweetened yoghurt. The fruits were nice, however.

Interior: A bit strange with all the green but as I said, you're gonna be out most of the time anyway...

Reception: Tried very hard. Obviously the young girl who helped me didn't have fantastic English or customer service priority but she tried very, very hard.

Wish list:
- Plugs near beds to charge phones
- Scented amenities that doesn't smell like an excitable 19 year old boy away on his first overseas trip
- Room slippers for cooler nights as the floor isn't carpeted
- More cups and glasses, better hot water distribution and food choices at breakfast

Would I return?
Yep, especially for the location and cleanliness.

Tip:
First timers, I wouldn't bother going to see fado with dinner show. Do the Yellow Bus Tour team + fado combination. The Fado in Chiado is at stop 5. Also, Belem (blue line on Yellow Bus Tour) = Portuguese tarts (Pasteis de Belem) + 75 cents delicious god-sent cafe + monastery + walk along the river.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank ladybugwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    611
    174
    43
    27
See reviews for
121
651
103
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra
Level Contributor
456 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

No frills hotel made inside an old building made to look quite modern and minimalist, but with clean and comfortable rooms.
The place is perfect if you want a quiet place to stay near the very city centre.
Service is nice and attentive and breakfast is quite regular for such a place. The breakfast room is quite well decorated with a touch of humour and creativity.
Good for young couples with no kids.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inside courtyard to avoid street noise (ex: 117)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We started our Camino by traveling to Lisbon for two days. We discovered this hotel online, and the description provided was accurate. The rooms are small but comfortable and immaculate! The price includes breakfast buffet with many options. The hotel is located in downtown Lisbon and is close to everything. Location, location, location! We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a room for October when we returned from our Camino. Because we booked in advance, they maintained the same price structure, which we thought was wonderful. We are planning another trip to Lisbon and will, most likely, repeat our stay here. We liked it that much!

Room Tip: All the rooms are small, but very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Overall:
This place is not an hotel, just a "wanna be" boutique hotel with badly executed "design" (painting smears, curvy plywood furniture execution is a joke). Basically, it is all about "eye candy" and lacks completely in functionality and comfort and customer service.
Each room has an iPhone/ipod dock: great, but then, you have no space for your suitcase, not enough hooks for your clothes, no hooks in the bathroom, an unreliable Wifi connection.
Your room is on the first floor? well, in our case, that meant taking the lift to the first floor, going through the first floor, climbing some stairs, going up a ramp, going through another courtyard, going up some more stairs. After 5 hour flight and with some suitcases and bags and rainy weather, this is a pain.

Customer service: so-so. In any case, do not expect any useful info from the reception staff about restaurants, public transports.

Location: this is the only plus from this "hotel". Located beside the Rossio station, it is minutes away from everything. However, note that in the evenings, the areas close by with fill up with some dodgy characters, drug dealers and homeless people (ok they are harmless).

Breakfast is ok if you overlook the wanna be design and those stupid benches you gotta sit on and will be a pain in the back every time you gotta get up as, more than likely, you will be sharing this with others.

This place does not deliver on anything except location. We still wonder how this place can get so many good reviews: is it that people get easily fooled by the wanna be design? If you are willing to walk some ten minutes you will find a much better room elsewhere for even cheaper. That is what we ended doing. For our last two nights, we stayed at the holiday Inn express and were delighted by the service, the room and the price.
Overall, we don't think this place deserves the positive reviews it got. A seasoned traveller will not get fooled by their "offering". Would we recommend this place to anyone at all even for its location? NO WAY.

Room Tip: Ask for the location of the room inside the hotel as "1st floor" rooms can be far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claude_B15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trencin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have just came back from Lisbon. Gat Rossio - it is a smart choice to stay here. It is true that rooms are small but i needed a room to sleep in, not to enjoy my trip by staying in my room.
My room had two beds, nice bathroom, balcony. It was very clean and on top of that with perfect breakfast .
The hotel is situated right in the centre and I really cannot imagine better position.
Next time in Lisbon I will definitely stay in Gat Rossio.
Eva from Trencin, Slovakia

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel in October 2013 as we were spending a few days in Lisbon for a city break. We had a fantastic trip, in large part to our stay at the hotel.

I get the impression that a number of reviewers either have not read the other reviews or have higher expectations than they should have given that the hotel is a 3 star hotel. We had researched ahead and understood before we got there that the rooms would be quite compact, though we understood the hotel to be clean, modern and particularly well located.

Our expectations above were completely matched by the room we were put in. Yes, the room was compact and probably one of the smallest I have stayed in, but it was completely modern, quite nicely designed (other than the size) and very clean. The bed was particularly comfortable and we had no issue with any noise (albeit we were not facing the side with a restaurant below it, so can't comment as to how it would be if you were on that side) and had a great sleep each night.

The staff were friendly, able to help in speaking English given our awful Portuguese. There was somebody at the desk at all times which helped us when we had to check out particularly early in the morning. The hotel had quite a slick, modern feel to it which I liked. The breakfast options were of the continental variety and were great for a 3 star. The breakfast area, like the rest of the hotel was clean and modern looking.

In terms of location - as one reviewer points out, it is correct to say that there is one street nearby where there are a number of cheap restaurants with individuals trying to goad you into their cheap establishment for a meal. However, in our 4 days in Lisbon walking all over the city, we walked down that street maybe once and it is incredibly easily avoided and it is wrong to give the impression that it is unavoidable as you exit the hotel. I also recall the street being very similar to the "Baixa" main street in the city which leads up to the main square. Plus, such behaviour by cheap restaurant establishments happens in parts of other major European cities (i.e. Paris, Brussels) where there are tourists.

Overall, we felt the hotel was good value for money. We were using the hotel as a base for us to relax after a long day of walking around the various different parts of the city and other than perhaps a brief rest during the day / pre-dinner, we were only using the hotel for a comfortable sleep. If you instead need a desk / need to use the room to work in, then perhaps go for another hotel - otherwise for most people, the free wi-fi service and international tv channels will suffice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCFNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived at the Gat Rossio today having booked a double room for 1 week. The room was not ready at 3pm and were asked to come back in 30 minutes. Came back to find a double room is about the same size as a rabbit hatch. Smaller than a single room in any hotel I have ever stayed in before anywhere. Reception offered a bigger room for an additional £50 a night. Terrible hotel, decoration all plastic and cheap. Do not stay here.The rooms are tiny!

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon33055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#74 of 247 in Lisbon
685 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#51 of 247 in Lisbon
299 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
586 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#135 of 247 in Lisbon
598 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Rossio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Rossio

Property: Hotel Gat Rossio
Address: Rua do Jardim do Regedor 27-35, Lisbon 1150-193, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Rossio 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Se Lisboa e toda linda, Se o nosso Bairro e LISBOA" Enjoy the unique atmosphere of Lisbon and stay with us at Gat Rossio. In the particular neighbourhood of La Baixa and in the centre of the city, you will discover 71 modern, comfortable rooms completely equipped at an extraordinary price. Breakfast is included and Internet is free. If you wish to enjoy the hustle of life, the culture and the Lisboan life, you have to come to gat rossio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gat Rossio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing