We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hospitality in Lisboa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Guesthouse
Ranked #145 of 230 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Best Hospitality in Lisboa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a great experience at the imperial guesthouse. The rooms were clean and had robes, slippers and an apple in our room. We loved sitting on our balcony and watching the city. It has the best access to the city, great nearby restaurants and nightlife. The airport is just a short 10 minute drive away. Wish we could have stayed longer. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourne0245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    51
    25
    16
    14
See reviews for
14
76
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed in the Imperial Guesthouse with my boyfiend for 5 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The location is great, you're right in the city centre, in a very lively neighbourhood (however, it's not noisy!), less than 10 min walk from all the sights and there is a metro station, the central train station and the Aerobus stop right in front of the place. A tip: the street behind the place is packed with good restaurants and pastelarias. The staff was very friendly, spoke good English. N.B. toilets (and sometimes showers, depending on the room) are shared, but this was not a problem bcs they were, just like everything else, kept very clean. The problems we had in our room was the window that couldn't close properly so it was a bit cold, but we had a small heater in the room so that was ok. Also, there were moments when we had no hot water, but that was solved soon too. The rooms are on the 4th floor and there is no lift, but we didn't mind - everything is up and down the hill in Lisbon anyways;)

I'd recommend this place, however mostly to young people. Price-quality ratio: excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

As per previous reviews on this place don't expect an upmarket hotel. It takes little time to get used to the place when you first arrive as the hotel isn't well sign posted and is up 4 (old!) flights of stairs. But the room we stayed in overlooking the square was clean, modern and funky. The shower head came off the wall on the first night we were there, we advised the front of house staff but nothing was done to fix it during our 2 night stay.

There are communal bathrooms and toilets that are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It was a perfect place to stay in terms of location making touring the city easy by foot.

I'd recommend staying at this hotel if you're looking for good budget accommodation in an excellent location and don't mind not having things like room service etc.

Room Tip: If choosing a room with a balcony over the square bare in mind there will be a little noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iClaireAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ok, to start with if you want a five star hotel, go across the street. If you want a great bed, fantastic owners that treat you like friends, good showers, and to meet interesting adventurous fellow travellers stay here. The stairs can be a bugger but only when someone younger is coming up behind you and you are trying to beat them to the top! My partner had one unsettled night due to noise and we were offered another room. But she slept fine the next night so we declined to take up the offer. There's even a kitchen and common area to use.....and nobody steals your milk! As I said, its not the Ritz but it is a really great place to stay when in Lisbon. All credit to André and his mate for opening this. I hope its just the same when we come back on the motorbike! Oh and there is free tea and coffee.....but do the washing up!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrischardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This wasn't the first time that I stayed in this hotel and I will surely stay there again in my future trips to Lisbon.
The staff is extremely gentle, helpful and is always present.
The rooms are confortable and cosy; kitchen, corridors and other rooms are spacious, well ventilated and are kept clean all the day long.
Wi-Fi was fast and free!
The location is perfect: really in front of the elegant Restauradores Place and the classy Liberdade Avenue, 30 seconds from the metro station and about 3-5 minutes walk from Rossio, Figueira Place, so main bus and tram lines are within walk distance. Lots of restaurants, snack bars, cafés in the nearby; the tourist office is right across the street...
Excellent stay, I totally recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the Restauradores Place, the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a very good and economic option for a budget city trip. The rooms are clean, simple and cozy. The atmosphere is informal, laid-back, friendly. They make you feel at home by doing nothing special to make you feel so, which is an admirable quality.
One thing: don't go there if you are having trouble walking stairs; the hotel is on the fourth floor and there is no elevator. But for most people this won't be a problem.

Room Tip: Bad sleepers should ask for a room at the back side of the building. It is a little bit noisy in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btrdrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

this is a wunderful guesthouse, the new owners, two young men, do everything to make you feel comfortable. ask for a room at the back, it will be less noisy. it is opposite of the main train station.

good luck , Marie and friend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#29 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#21 of 230 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Brickoven Palace
#84 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Restauradores Apartments
Restauradores Apartments
#56 of 407 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Guesthouse

Property: The Imperial Guesthouse
Address: Praca dos Restauradores 78 | Baixa, Lisbon 1250-188, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Imperial Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Lisbon, The Imperial Guesthouse offers comfortable and affordable accomodation for travellers wishing to explore Lisbon and the surrounding area. We are located in the beautiful Praca dos Restauradores and our building overlooks the square. Most of our rooms are equipped with a private shower and wasbasin. Bathrooms are shared. Free WIFI access is available throughout the building. Getting to and from the Imperial couldn't be easier. The metro stops outside the building, as do most of the major bus routes in Lisbon. Rossio train station is less than a 1-minute walk away and offers. 30-minute connection to Sintra.Sao Jorge castle, offering paranomic views over Lisbon, is a 15-minute walk way from the Imperial, as well as the lively night time district of Bairro Alto. All of our staff speak English and are more than happy to advise you on what to see and do in Lisbon. The Imperial offers double, twin and triple rooms. We try to be as flexible as possible, so if you have any special requests please get in touch and we will try to accomodate them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing