We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Avenida Palace(Lisbon)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vincci Baixa(Lisbon)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
62
52
31
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
52
31
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseno liftdos restauradoresgreat locationpingo docemetro stationstayed here for one nightliving roomevery morningwould stay againshort walkslippersbalconysquarecitybusessupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the guesthouse for 5 days in a twin room with a shower. Having in mind that it is not a real hotel, the place is perfect. The staff is very friendly, welcoming and helpful with all information and support you need. The room was bright and attractive, nicely decorated, there were bathrobes and slippers available. It was not noisy. There is a shared kitchen with free coffee/tee and fruits, as well as all you need for cooking. It is also the place where you can meet different people and share experiences if you wish. In case anything was needed (hairdryer, iron, etc.), it was available on request. The shared toilets/bathrooms were always very clean. The location of the guesthouse is very convenient. It is in the center of everything, many of the attractions are within a walking distance, metro station is right in front of the hotel, Rossio train station, bus/tram stops, shopping street are nearby, as well as the street with the restaurants is just across the corner. The only drawback can be the absence of a lift when you come with the luggage, but the staff helps to bring it up when you arrive and down when you leave to compesate it. It's a great place to stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoriya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Imperial met our needs for an overnight stay in Lisbon with convenient access to public transit options - metro, buses, airport shuttles. While the fading blue exterior of the building does not present well, the interior of the guesthouse is recently renovated and a nice mix of old and new styling. Our room was bright, very clean, comfortable... we even had fresh flowers. The bed was uncomfortably hard, but this seems to be common in Portugal. The shared bathrooms were kept very clean and closely attended to by the housekeepers. The shower and sink in our room was very small and the shower so small it almost wasn't worth it, but it is a nice feature for those people that really want the privacy. The robes and slippers were a very nice bonus. The manager was helpful and welcoming. With a few more finishing touches (such as adjusting the door locks so they are not so loud when guests come and go late at night and early in the morning), this will be very well run establishment.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the building rather than the street. This was very quiet. I expect that the rooms facing the main or side street are much noisier.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This place is fine if you know what you're expecting, and if that's the bare necessities. It's centrally located, but is a gruelling 4 floors up a narrow flight of stairs. The welcome is very dependent on whom you get. Our room was clean, light and airy, and of reasonable size, but our advertised ensuite shower (toilets are shared) was not even a cubicle, just a walled off corner of the room - not exactly appealing. I'm not a light sleeper, but even I was bothered by the thin walls (we were unlucky with our timing in this respect; the couple in the room next door were clearly enjoying their stay to the full!).

The 'come and go as you please' attitude of the hotel is sold as a good thing, but actually all it means is there's no breakfast, and not necessarily any staff around that can help (not all can speak English). We also didn't appreciate being hassled to pay up the minute we arrived, especially as the hotel was supposed to have taken pre-payment on our card. Stay here if you just want a clean bed for the night, but otherwise treat yourself to an actual hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisboapensaoimperial, Manager at The Imperial Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Ally,

Thank you for taking sometime to share your thoughts on our guesthouse. We are glad that you found your room to be " clean, light and airy, and (with) reasonable size". We make an extra effort to ensure that all of our rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean and comfortable.

We were a little confused as to your comment regarding our non-English speaking staff. In fact all of our staff speak English, Spanish and Portuguese. Three of our staff also speak French and Germany and two member speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and Portuguese-Creole. If you found our staff to be unsatisfactory then we would like to apologise. We have taken note of this and will take steps to improve our service.

You are right when you say we are not a hotel but wrong about being a hostel. We are a guesthouse which is slighty different.

Once again thank you for staying with us and writing a review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a great experience at the imperial guesthouse. The rooms were clean and had robes, slippers and an apple in our room. We loved sitting on our balcony and watching the city. It has the best access to the city, great nearby restaurants and nightlife. The airport is just a short 10 minute drive away. Wish we could have stayed longer. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbourne0245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed in the Imperial Guesthouse with my boyfiend for 5 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The location is great, you're right in the city centre, in a very lively neighbourhood (however, it's not noisy!), less than 10 min walk from all the sights and there is a metro station, the central train station and the Aerobus stop right in front of the place. A tip: the street behind the place is packed with good restaurants and pastelarias. The staff was very friendly, spoke good English. N.B. toilets (and sometimes showers, depending on the room) are shared, but this was not a problem bcs they were, just like everything else, kept very clean. The problems we had in our room was the window that couldn't close properly so it was a bit cold, but we had a small heater in the room so that was ok. Also, there were moments when we had no hot water, but that was solved soon too. The rooms are on the 4th floor and there is no lift, but we didn't mind - everything is up and down the hill in Lisbon anyways;)

I'd recommend this place, however mostly to young people. Price-quality ratio: excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews