We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Guesthouse
Ranked #194 of 265 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It would be difficult to find somewhere this inexpensive with in the centre of Lisbon. The reason is probably the number of stairs to climb .... But it is well worth the climb! We had a room looking out onto the square with a mini balcony to sit out on. Some reviews have complained about the noise but we were fine, there is always the option of closing the shutters and turning up the fan!
Staff are really friendly and helpful, we were offered a shower after we had checked out and just come back to collect our bags.
No breakfasts but plenty of places nearby and hot drinks are free as is the apples and oranges.
We will be returning!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for seven nights and had a great time. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We arrived after midnight on a friday, we were weclomed in, given a map and advice on where to go in Lisbon. Our room was on the top floor and only small, however this was not a problem as the staff are very happy to help, the room was very clean. The guesthouse is in a great location in the centre of the city, with people on hand to help you find anything you need. We will be recommending this to everyone and would love to come and stay again. Thank you to Pedro and staff for an amazing stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent service. Pedro and His Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Had a lovely time. Will defiantly recommend this to anyone. Can't wait to come back......

Room Tip: flight of steps...... although when Pedro heard us he and his staff came to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights in a room with a shower and a balcony. The staff is friendly and always very helpful, giving Information on Sightseeing and Restaurants. The Service is outstanding, they get you everything you need from printing your flighttickets to a hairdryer. The Hotel is located on a Main Street so it might be better to ask for a room with windows to the smaller streets if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice staff, rooms and service. I would highly recommend this place. Be prepared to walk six flights to get there. Everything else was great! I found the staff especially friendly and so welcoming especially for someone traveling alone :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junemvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night. On the outside, it looks great. But when you find out you have to walk 6 stairs to get go the The Imperial Guesthouse you might cry a little bit ;)
But the welcome and the rooms make it totally worth it. We were welcomed by Pedro, a very nice and funny guy who immediately gives you the feeling that no question is to much. Apparently there was a problem with the room we were supposed to get, so we got an upgrade and were placed in room 410. Amazing! Very romantic and we had a tiny balcony (love-able!) with a view on the square. In the evening we met André, also very friendly and welcoming! When we asked where we could buy a bottle of wine, he gave us a bottle, of the house! I was sad to leave, because I had a great night there and I will definitely come back!
Room 410 has it's own bathroom, no toilet. The other bathrooms en toilets are down the hall, but very clean!! And the metro is just in front of the door! Excellent place to stay for a couple of nights!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410. If you have earplugs, you should stay in this room. Beautiful with a small ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaSneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the guesthouse for 5 days in a twin room with a shower. Having in mind that it is not a real hotel, the place is perfect. The staff is very friendly, welcoming and helpful with all information and support you need. The room was bright and attractive, nicely decorated, there were bathrobes and slippers available. It was not noisy. There is a shared kitchen with free coffee/tee and fruits, as well as all you need for cooking. It is also the place where you can meet different people and share experiences if you wish. In case anything was needed (hairdryer, iron, etc.), it was available on request. The shared toilets/bathrooms were always very clean. The location of the guesthouse is very convenient. It is in the center of everything, many of the attractions are within a walking distance, metro station is right in front of the hotel, Rossio train station, bus/tram stops, shopping street are nearby, as well as the street with the restaurants is just across the corner. The only drawback can be the absence of a lift when you come with the luggage, but the staff helps to bring it up when you arrive and down when you leave to compesate it. It's a great place to stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoriya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hotel Anjo Azul
Hotel Anjo Azul
#164 of 255 in Lisbon
108 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#35 of 265 in Lisbon
626 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Residencial Norte
Pensao Residencial Norte
#174 of 265 in Lisbon
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Largo da Se Guest House
Largo da Se Guest House
#49 of 265 in Lisbon
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Guesthouse

Address: Praca dos Restauradores 78 | Baixa, Lisbon 1250-188, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £18 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Imperial Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Lisbon, The Imperial Guesthouse offers comfortable and affordable accomodation for travellers wishing to explore Lisbon and the surrounding area. We are located in the beautiful Praca dos Restauradores and our building overlooks the square. Most of our rooms are equipped with a private shower and wasbasin. Bathrooms are shared. Free WIFI access is available throughout the building. Getting to and from the Imperial couldn't be easier. The metro stops outside the building, as do most of the major bus routes in Lisbon. Rossio train station is less than a 1-minute walk away and offers. 30-minute connection to Sintra.Sao Jorge castle, offering paranomic views over Lisbon, is a 15-minute walk way from the Imperial, as well as the lively night time district of Bairro Alto. All of our staff speak English and are more than happy to advise you on what to see and do in Lisbon. The Imperial offers double, twin and triple rooms. We try to be as flexible as possible, so if you have any special requests please get in touch and we will try to accomodate them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing