We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Siteseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 492 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is really close to a metro stop. And right in the mix of things in the old city. Just minutes from the water and the main square. The staff was nice. The rooms are clean and modern. The curtain was really effective at blocking out the day light. the walls are paper thin. you can hear all sorts of things.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Brown's Apartments has a great location - it's so central! We had the supermarket and shoppingmall close by, and it took us 5 minutes to reach the Old Town.
The staff gave us great service, the rooms are modern, cozy and clean. We had an excellent stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were really impressed with Brown's Apartments - fantastic location, minutes from Rossio Square and Praça do Comércio (as well as right by a tube station) so right in the 'hub' of Lisbon centre. With so many of Lisbon's key sites very close by it was an absolutely ideal location for a city break. The staff were friendly and the design of the hotel / rooms themselves was so cool and stylish, it felt really boutique-y and definitely had the 'wow' factor. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Lisbon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyJane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location can't be better. We were 8 persons staying at the hotel for 4 nights. At arrival we met smiling, helpful and friendly staff. Brakfast was tasty, and more than usual for continental breakfast. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. We recommend this hotel for both holidays and business trips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjell Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Driving from Spain across the “border” to Portugal – no official fuss – just a welcome sign – across the bridge. There are many tolls to be paid in Portugal. What we did was to keep a record of how much tolls we have clocked each time we go pass one. When we got to a petrol station, you just pass a toll pass from the counter – we bought a Euro 10 pass to go to Lisbon from Seville. What this pass does is to deduct from the Euro 10 – you can also then top up the amount if you use more than that. On the pass, there is a website that you go into and put in your car registration number. Keeping a record lets us know how much we are under and in need of topping up. We also passed a boom gate toll which you get a ticket at one end (do not lose this ticket), it was a long road but upon reaching near Lisbon, you get to a manned booth and we paid cash for this toss Euro 20.20. Separate from the toll ticket that we purchased, we clocked up about Euro 6 from that. When we drove from Lisbon to Cascais and Sintra, we went via toll-less roads.

Brown’s apartment in Lisbon Portugal - driving is a nightmare. Finding the car park through the mad traffic and small one way streets makes it even a worse nightmare. We spent almost 5 hours from arrival to parking to finding apartment to getting another car parking that was reasonable –euro 13 per night instead of euro 35. Enough to put us off coming back to Portugal again.

Room much smaller than imagined for an apartment – more like a bed sit than an apartment. Couldn’t find the toilet at first as it was located behind the door. No coffee, tea, sugar or milk provided but there is a small kitchenette (with small cups, no toaster and a very blunt knife). Check in was fine but no explanation of attractions or assistance given.

Apartment itself is central to attractions – centre of shops and restaurants with Alfama and Castle to the left, Belem and Biarro Alto to the right. Portugal is not cheap as proclaimed being cheaper than Spain or most of Europe but it really isn’t that cheap. We found it was a little more than Spain in fact.

Frustrating internet in the room – keeps dropping out. You’d be lucky to have connection or 10 mins before it drops out again. We ended up going downstairs to the coffee shop for connection in the end. There was even 1.5 days without internet during our 4 nights stay there. You’d be lucky to have someone who is constantly at the reception and trying to reach anyone by phone from room is hole in one! Staff not very friendly. No instructions on how to use the washing machine but staff came up to show us. He even provided a clothes dryer to hang the clothes for drying as there is no dryer.

There are 3 funiculars and the santa justa elevator. Buy a 24 hr viva viagem ticket (green) for euro 6 (plus 50 cents for the card non-refundable). Your Euro 6 ticket covers you for bus, tram and elevators in the 24 hours. If you don’t buy this ticket at train station machines, you pay cash on the tram each time at euro 3.60!! You can top up the card when the 24 hours is over. The other 3 funiculars are:
1. Next to the tourist information on main street in Restauradores. This takes you up to miradour for great views across to the castle.
2. Across the main street – behind Hard Rock Café to the left. This takes you up to a small lovely garden with views across to the miradour.
3. On Santa Catarina up to cc do combo in bairro alto. This takes you to views to the waters.
4. Santa Justa elevator that takes you to igreja do carmo.

Tram E 28 takes you to Estrella Basilica, Castelo Sao Jorge, Lisbon cathedral, Alfama and Bairro Alto. Apparently there are any routes that this E28 takes and often at the “end of the line”, the driver will get everyone out and empty the tram – you then have to join the queue to hop onto another E28! We have seen many E 28s going different routes so we cannot figure this out – I think there are only 2 trams – 28 and 15 and the 28s go in different routes.

Tram E 15 takes you from Praca Do Comercio along waterfront to Belem and Jeronimo Monastery.

Lisbon cathedral on the way up to St George’s Castle is not much chop – quite plain really. Free to enter but you can pay euro 4 to go up the top. There is like a castle attached to the cathedral. To the right side of the cathedral, there is a coffee shop, coffee in a retro chair, lovely Hollywood style music and good alfama cake (nata) – with icing sugar and cinnamon sprinkled on top.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a comfortable stay in this well located hotel. Its practically beside the metro and a short walk to the bigger train stations for travels further afield. The hotel is a good base for city centre sightseeing and for trams/buses, all only minutes away. Its also an easy enough stroll home from Barrio Alto after enjoying the restaurants and bars (we took the elevator up!)
Our medium sized room was clean with useful fridge and kitchen utilities and a good sized bathroom. I found the beds a little firm but not uncomfortable but the pillows were amazing! We slept well with no major noise considering it is a city centre hotel. The Wi-Fi never worked properly which left the iPad supplied a bit useless.
The staff were helpful and friendly and most spoke English. There is a large seating area and coffee bar downstairs. Would recommend for convenient access to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mctripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room Tip: A chest of drawers would have been handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#63 of 254 in Lisbon
881 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#35 of 254 in Lisbon
839 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#49 of 254 in Lisbon
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#40 of 254 in Lisbon
353 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#29 of 254 in Lisbon
923 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua da Vitoria 88, Lisbon 1100-619, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 492 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £63 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With elegantly decorated accommodation, Brown's Boutique Hotel offers a central location in Lisbon, a 5-minute walk from Chiado and Bairro Alto. It includes free WiFi access and designer furniture. All units are air-conditioned and include an iHome docking station, Nespresso machine, Smeg kettle and private marble bathroom. Some are equipped with an iMac computer and an iPad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baixa Brown`s Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing