We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly designed contemporary hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Stunningly designed contemporary hotel with great service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Luxurious room (we got upgraded and our room was huge). Glorious views of the Tagus. The glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom made the room seem even bigger. The black loo paper was a lovely quirky touch. We had a great dinner in the restaurant which had beautiful views of the marina, and a lavish breakfast the following morning. All staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much for them. We were in walking distance of all the sights in Belem. We would love to go back for a longer stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deena63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
It has been a great pleasure to welcome you during your stay in Lisbon.

On the behalf of our team thank you for the published review and comments and also for your preference, description and appreciation about the hotel location.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon as a Spa, Hotel.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    198
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
151
564
29
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is an update on a previous post placed on 12 Oct 2013 which was subsequently withdrawn in order that our further considered views could be provided following our stay at the Altis Belem, Lisbon.

Some negatives - complimentary bottled water only provided on the 1st night and no complimentary coffee offered in room. There was a small expresso type of machine but charging €3.50 for a cup.
If you don't have a credit card, you have to pay your way when buying drinks within the hotel or taking a meal in the Mensagum restaurant, we provided a debit card, but they didn't let us use our room card to settle for drinks etc. I think this was lost in translation, subsequently this was confirmed to us when queried, we could have left a cash deposit instead.

Another concern was the screen / shade in our Aden room, this didn't work, so at nights with the lights on, passing people outside could clearly see into the room, we were told they would attend to this. Despite several requests, it wasn't until our last full day before they were able to offer alternative rooms. I think again, lost in translation, our concern was we weren't kept imformed and we had to keep asking them when the problem could be resolved.

Despite these issues which were embarrassing / a little annoying at the time, we were still very pleased with the location and meals we had in the hotel.

The room we had was a "white" room, glass 'walls' for the bathroom with spendid views of the River Tagus, a marina in front of us and a busy road & railway. Belem had excellent connections into the heart of the city by way of hop on / hop off open top Yelow Bus, trams & normal bus services.

We would have awarded 5 stars but with the negatives mentioned initially, we feel 4 is suitable, most of the staff were friendly & in the restaurant they looked after us very well.

If we returned to Lisbon, we would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure your shade / screen works in the room! The glass bathroom / shower is quirky but great, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and we have taken good note of your suggestions.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I'll start by saying I am not a fan of modern hotels. This hotel is SUPER modern. I can't even understand how I took a shower with no curtain and didn't flood the place. Also... black toilet paper? Really? Only plugs in the room are on the floor under a slide plate. What a pain. Now for the good. UNBEATABLE view. Waterfront looking right at the Monuments. Amazingly comfortable bed. First class service. Great bar and good breakfast. Location was good as well. Stay here for a night to sightsee in Belem. Why take a train in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_alvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are very glad for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and we have taken good note of your review and thank you for your time. A Design hotel is certainty a challenge.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

If minimalism if your thing then this place is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and well equipped - we paid extra to have a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony. Unfortunately the jacuzzi wasn't very clean (scum line on the inside from water marks) which was a bit disappointing. We had hoped to eat at their Michelin starred restaurant but it was booked out. We had sushi in their other restaurant which was tasty and fresh yet the rooms seems like a canteen - not so cosy. The spa is showing signs of wear and tear - not everything works / but we had a great couples massage and the pool was nice. All in all thus is a lovely place to retreat to - although I have to say I think it's way over priced and feel Slightly ripped off at the end of it all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and most of all for the time you have dedicate to us publishing your opinion on Tripadvisor.. We have taken good note of your suggestions in order to engage our team and make it better.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Ideally placed just outside the city but in the Belem area this very comfortable hotel is ideal for a relaxing break. Superb comfortable rooms with excellent views of the river. Very courteous staff and an excellent spa. The pool on the sun terrace is cold but ideal sun trap for those looking to sunbathe! Only downside was the drink prices are very extortionate and subsequently very few customers and no atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On the behalf of our staff I thank you for the time you dedicate us on publishing and sharing your testimony and comments that we took good note to discuss.
.
We are delighted by your choice and preference.for Altis Belem Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. It has been a great pleasure having you with us.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Gratefully

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I really loved this hotel at the riverside and out of the city centre. We had a lovely room, balcony and direct view on the river (room 126). Staff very friendly and helpful. We asked for a late check out, which was no problem. I forget my iphone charger, I could borrow one from reception. The sundeck on the roof has a tiny plunge pool, but in the heat it was very welcome. We made use of the spa every day, very calm and nice. Gym is small but sufficient, if you want to run better to do it outside along the river. There is a 7km track. It is about 12 min drive to Lisbon center, we used our car, parking at the hotel was complimentary, and parking in the city was never a problem.
My only reason for not giving a 5 star review is breakfast. Some of the fruit was not fresh but straight from a can, I would prefer less fruit but all of it fresh in stead of canned fruits in heavy sirup. But that's me. Otherwise very beautiful hotel, great service and nice location.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank h00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
We are delighted by your choice and preference.for Altis Belem Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon. It has been a great pleasure having you with us.

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the time you dedicate us on publishing and sharing your testimony and suggestions, your opinion is important and we took good note.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you are planing a city vacation to Lisbon, but at the same time want a base to visit the surrounding area AND get away from the bustle of the city centre, this is the ideal place for you. Furthermore, this is a great hotel, with professional, courteous service and excellent rooms with superb views. As others have commented, this is a sleek, modern design hotel, but don't be put off by the somewhat sterile views of the building exterior. The reception staff are polite and helpful, and the little touches such as your preferred coffees being brought for you as you arrive for breakfast demonstrate that this is a modern but by no means impersonal spot. Great spa, too, with extremely helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We we very happy with our room with a view over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
It has been a great pleasure to welcome you during your stay in Lisbon.

Thank you on the behalf of our team for the published review, comments and also for your preference.
Your description and appreciation about the hotel location is really according with our message

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon as a Spa, Hotel.

Regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
878 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
204 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Property: Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing