We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design / Style / Service / Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Design / Style / Service / Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I just spend 4 nights in a balcony room and I really loved the hotel! This was my first trip to Lisbon and I was a little confused as to the choices of accommodations and chose this hotel based upon the reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. Modern style....luxury touches in the rooms.....great amenities.....professional service. Food/beverage service was quick and good. Spa was great! I chose the balcony room because I like to sleep with the windows open at night (and not use the AC). I was disappointed that there was a walkway along my balcony leading to an open staircase to the courtyard below. Other rooms could (and did) walk past my room on their way downstairs. The concierge said it was for "emergency exits" but seemed to be used for regular use too. That certainly restricted leaving the doors open at night and privacy during the daytime. I would choose to stay at this hotel again.

Tulemar Dave

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulemarDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. Belém and thank you for your published feedback.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    179
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
133
514
27
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We're just back from our third stay in Lisbon, and this hotel far exceeded the previous two we've stayed in. The black and white decor may not appeal to all but it most certainly appealed to us. All the staff were friendly and courteous. The pool is beautiful and spacious. The gym is small but well equipped. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious, and as for the Michelin-starred Feitoria.... The meal was out of this world.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AngeS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much.

We were very happy with your published review after your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. during your stay in Lisbon.
Our Feitoria Restaurant team is also "touché" by your compliment.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel would have merited five stars BUT, and it is a big BUT, my sleep quality was zero because on the morning I was leaving I discovered a plasticated undersheet on the bed had been the cause of my sleepless nights. The practice of putting plastic undersheets on beds in hotels is spreading and I urge all Tripadvisor reviewers to title their reviews "Plastic undersheet" if they encounter it. You wake up in the night bathed in sweat, wondering if you are having a heart attack and get virtually no sleep.
Apart from that, everything at this hotel is perfect: rooms, bathrooms, spa, view from hotel, cafe, service. All eclipsed by the undersheet, however.

Room Tip: Remove the understheet as soon as you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon. Belém.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review mentioning the good points.
Please note that our coversheet protecting the mattress is double face, one in cotton facing the sheet and another in plastic facing the mattress.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon in the spa. Not only did it have the usual facilities that can be expected but it was clean and staff were friendly. We went to the restaurant for a few snacks and desserts afterwards and that too was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We were very happy with your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. during your stay in Lisbon and we thank you for your kind published review.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at his hotel mid February. The weather was mostly lousy, but we enjoyed the location close to the sights. The hotel was quiet, I subscribe this to the low season throughout the country. The staff was helpful and offered assistance. The rooms were spacious and the ceiling to floor windows created a lovely openness. The breakfast was top class, the quality, preparation and variety was impressive as much as it was enjoyable.

The hotel, ultra modern with an abundance of black, however did not grab me...no atmosphere and little soul. The black stoneware, always beautiful when new, showed signs of wear. This is evident in the passage ways and bathroom. Talking about bathroom, here modern design outweighed functionality. The spa area / pool was beautiful but I found it hugely out priced. The turn down service was poor.....

It was a good experience which brought to the fore the importance of balance..... between design,functionality and personality. I will not stay here again, even though I enjoy modern combined with luxury, the mix here does not work for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GDW-JDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are very glad for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and we have taken good note of your review and thank you for your time. A Design hotel is certainty not always consensual.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been there twice now. Each time was an excellent stay. The service is brilliant and the rooms provide everything I need. The view to the Boca de bom successo is fantastic. The breakfast is always delicious. I have been there on business trips but I also would recommend it for private stays. Check out the Spa area, it is clean and provides a great atmosphere. If you can complain anything, it's the price. But quality has it's price, so it's fine from my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank til2morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are glad that you have chosen the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon and most of all that you have enjoyed it for more tahn once.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review, we are very happy to read your compliment, and recognition.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at Altis Belem over Valentine’s weekend and thoroughly enjoyed visiting some fantastic Lisbon tourist attractions all within walking distance. As much as we were impressed by the local architecture and history the Hotel and staff were the highlight of our visit. The rooms have a lovely open view of the Tagus River which makes for lovely walks along the riverbank, a delight on a city break. The hotel itself is a rather unassuming building but don’t be fooled, inside is a modern but beautifully designed, inspired living space. Our room 202 was very comfortable which is often elusive when style rules. This was probably eased by the wonderful bedding. I actually described the pillows as “clouds”, much to husband’s amusement. Talking of husband, who is not so emotional or so easily impressed, he also gives the hotel his ultimate approval. I think he liked the fact that this is obviously a five star hotel but the staff are so welcoming and relaxed that you feel you can thoroughly enjoy the luxury without feeling restricted. Breakfast is high quality, service is brilliant. Room service was efficient and I must compliment the chef on making a simple dish exceptional. We were even bought a complimentary Valentine chocolatier creation. I like my own home to be very clean, I work in healthcare so understand cleanliness to aseptic standard so for me to say our room was very clean is high accolade indeed. Finally the staff, wonderful really does not cover the attentive but respectful efficiency that we were blessed with. Every single one of them were lovely but I must mention Jaou who took such excellent care of us. We will definitely return to enjoy this hotel and Lisbon again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are glad that you have chosen the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon and most of all that you have enjoyed it.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review, we are very happy to read your compliment, and recognition.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Property: Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing