We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you like trains?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Altis Belum is a refined five star hotel with everything you'd want - lovely rooms, good service, great breakfast, fast internet, comfortable beds, black toilet paper.

And if you like trains (I'm a fan) then you'll love watching and hearing them rumble past every 15 minutes from early until late if you're staying on the rear of the hotel.

If you don't like trains then I'd pick your room wisely as they can be a bit disturbing.

Trains aside would thoroughly recommend...

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Rdrdrdrdrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you to make our team happy, sharing your opinion about the service and hotel facilities. Belém is a great area in Lisbon just getting out of the city and with great river views.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We never write reviews but we had to share our experience at the Altis Belem. It's the perfect place for a honeymoon. We had such an amazing time and didn't want to leave. The hotel staff were all very helpful but we felt that Armindo Luis, Front Desk, went above and beyond. My husband & I arrived earlier than check-in time so Luis gave us the option of getting our reserved room or waiting for an upgrade. Of course, we waited for the upgrade. While we were waiting, he suggested that we partake of the morning breakfast buffet and then utilize the spa services. Both were great. Shortly after getting into our room, room service arrived with champagne & chocolates. Customer service and those little details are so important for any hotel stay and Luis earns top marks for this. This was such a memorable stay and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank slimsusie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

A big thank you to make our team feel so happy, in particular Armindo Luis.
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the world on this so important opinion site.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon and always.

We want to count on you as a repeated guest in Lisbon and at the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa!

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Seated on the beautifully landscaped outdoor terrace bar at the Altis Belem, we reminded each other how very lucky we are to be able to experience such an extraordinary hotel not once, but three times. We were making a return trip to Portugal which did not require us to stop in Lisbon but we spent three days there in May just for the sheer joy of staying at the Altis Belem again.

From the very first moment that you are greeted at the desk on your arrival until the very last moment you regretfully leave, everything will be simple and simply perfect. Need a place to shop for Portugal's wonderful decorative tiles? No problem. You will be provided with the names and addresses of several shops and the shops will be called to be sure they are open. Would you like a reservation at a wonderful restaurant? No problem. A reservation will be made and you will be given a reminder card as the desk gently enquiries if you will need transportation for that outing. Every request that we had was promptly and graciously met making Lisbon seem like the easiest city in the world to navigate.

But service is not the only perfect part of the Altis Belem. We loved our spectacular room overlooking the marina and the Tagus River where we had perfect views of rowers, fishermen and ocean-going vessels. And, of course, our favorite addiction was arriving to find Pasteis da Nata, the national pastry of Portugal, waiting in our room. As you can see from the photos, the rooms are very large and have absolutely lovely bathrooms.

You have the delightful choice of breakfasting in the glass-enclosed dining room or on the open-air terrace on a truly sumptuous breakfast buffet. Once again, perfect service adds to an already perfect meal.

If you are still not convinced that this is the hotel for you, take a look at my longer review from January 26, 2013 of an earlier stay. There are not enough words of praise to convey what a complete pleasure all of our stays have been. I envy you your first stay -- enjoy!

Room Tip: For the best water view, choose a room on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your choice of Altis Belem Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon, another thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing your opinion with your review on Tripadvisor and another thank you for helping me to motivate all our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future in Lisbon and at the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa, I remain.

Yours faithful

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel to start our vacation! We arrived on Sunday after traveling for 26hrs and were checked in early by the very efficient desk clerk. We had a marina view deluxe room that had nice contemporary decore and a fantastic king bed.
The hotel location between the Belem Tower and Monument to the Discoveries can't be beaten for seeing Belem. The Monastery of St Jeronimus is also a 5 min walk. Nice fresh breakfast and great coffee to start the day. This hotel will be top of our list should we return to Lisbon!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzyCol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Recognition is a very comfortable feeling for the entire Hotel team and all of us is happy to read your testimony! thank you for sharing it with the world.
Belém is our history and beautifully located by the river side in Lisbon.
We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours faithfully

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The terrace at Hotel Altis Belém has one of the most amazing views of Lisbon, is a great place for a sunset drink. However Hotel Altis Belém needs to rethink how associate its name to events organized by Lourenço Tamagnini as they are a total flop at an organizational and PR level, the event was not professional and a fraud.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SilviaC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We thank you for the gentile comments to the hotel.
we reiterate the information that the organizers of the event G-Spot last Saturday July 5, 2014, was under the responsibility of Lawrence High Tamagnini Promotion, that required to use the space of the Altis Belem Hotel & Spa's terrace for a guests welcome and those would be sent after 00:30 to a tent located next to hotel. For further information please connect to the given organizer contact.
Looking forward to welcome you back as we always did,
Yours sincerely
Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

the hotel was more than what i expect to be honest!! yes its not close to the center but the view and the hotel room spa everything is really perfect i dont mind to stay far away from center but to have these kind of facility

its modern nice

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Belém is indeed a privileged location thank you for the published review. Thank you for the time that you dedicate to us.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa.

Yours faithfully

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of may.
The room was very well equipped and luxurious, with a lovely view of the marina.
The spa was clean, spacious and very pleasant.
Breakfasts were exceptional on both days.
We ate at the main restaurant fist night which was good, and on the second night splashed out on the Michelin restaurant which had all the lovely touches you would expect as well as very helpful unsnooty staff.
All in an exceptional place that I will revisit, which is very rare for me as my standards, to quote the hubby, are unrealistic! Not here!
Well done everyone.

Room Tip: We wanted the marina view and the room was great, river view also had nice little balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luluCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Me and the entire team couldn't be more happy with your testimony!

Thank you for sharing it with the world and motivate the full team, on their behalf I express here our contentment.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours faithfully

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
979 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#13 of 255 in Lisbon
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £108 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing