We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never stay anywhere else in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #5 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

When you first arrive you might frown a bit at the drunken homeless people, but as soon as you walk in and are welcomed by Rui, you will not regret booking here. The building is absolutely stunning, sumptious and opulent. Our room (Lucia) was very big and very comfortable. The beds are great, the shower is fantastic, breakfast is delicious and the decor is one of a kind. Good location too, walking distance from the castle, Praça de Comerço and even Bairro Alto.
As always though, all this would be worthless if the staff were horrible. As luck would have it, you will not find better hosts than Rui and his team. Nothing is too much to ask to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Warm, genuine smiles all around, that make you feel welcome.
I don't go to Lisbon that often, but I will never stay anywhere else again.

Room Tip: I loved my room, Lucia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very good hotel with very kind Manager and Staff. Outstanding rooms and breakfast! In a few minutes you are in downtown Lissabon! A++++++++

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights following a cruise and we had a list of places we wanted to visit in and around town. Maria at the Palacete was tremendous in writing up daily itineraries for us, and making restaurant reservations. The restaurant right below the Palacete (Trigo Latino) was fantastic. And although the hotel area (Alfama) may look a little run-down, it is a beautiful, fun, and safe place to stay and to walk around. Definitely go to hear "fado" music!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This small hotel, really a large manor house, is the best I've ever stayed in. It is conveniently located downtown near the harbour and metro stations. It is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, the rooms are large, quiet and clean. There is a private outside space, and the breakfasts are fresh and plentiful. Throughout, the attention to detail is quite amazing. The owner Rui goes out of his way to make you feel welcome, and will do anything he can to make sure you have everything you need, but importantly, so do the rest of his small team. You are made to feel very special and well cared for. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to the top floor suite - vast bedroom, huge rainshower, with two large and comfortable seating areas overlooking the harbour, and an outside terrace and rooftop. Though we would have been equally charmed by any room in this delightful place. Rui disarmingly tells us he has no idea how to run a hotel. If that's the case, please don't ever learn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NCLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stopped in Lisbon in late May for just 1 night on our way home from Italy. We booked based on the pictures on the website and the central location. The hotel is located in the Alfama district and a short ride away from Bairro Alto. The pictures on the website do not do justice to this small boutique hotel. It actually feels more like being a special guest in someone's very beautiful home. The palacete is lovingly restored and so tastefully decorated, I'd call it curated. Be sure to spend some time on the lush garden terrace where there is a little secret alcove--possibly the most romantic little spot in Lisbon. Rui is a warm and gracious host who saw to our every need. We stayed in Suite Sonya, which I think is the loveliest of all. It was immaculate and very comfortable. It faces the city, so you get the some of the sounds of the neighborhood and the bar just downstairs, which we prefer (it is not a noisy neighborhood and we had no trouble sleeping). Finding the hotel was a challenge for our taxi driver even with the map from the website. He dropped us about a block away, but the hotel's neighbors helped us find our way. At first glance, the neighborhood looks a touch on the gritty side, but after some exploring, we found it truly charming---and a great lunch can be had for very little at any of the local cafes. We found Lisbon very affordable, in fact, especially after the sticker-shock prices in Italy. Tip: comfy shoes are a must as many of the streets are cobblestone. Restaurant: Rui suggested and made reservations for us at Lisboa Noite in Bairro Alto and it was wonderful. We highly recommend it. When we return to Lisbon, it will be in large part just to stay at Palacete Chafariz del Rei again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BavariaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Going back to the UK today after an 8 day stay at the Palacete Chafirez D'EL Rei.The owner Rui is such a nice chap who will do anything to make your stay memorable.Our room was in the Lucia suite.Simple outstanding accommodation.
I cannot wait to return to my favourite hotel and city.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tommo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel was the best part of our stay in Lisbon. It is decorated like a royal manor which makes you feel like royalty member.

We had 2 rooms for my sister and us (me and my husband). Both rooms were very clean, huge and very well decorated. Every time we left the rooms the housekeepers visit and clean the rooms, nearly 3-4 times a day.

The front office guys especially Maria helped a lot and took care of every single need of our every single need. Actually all the staff, including the owner were very helpful by even trying to find dinner places to go and reservations.

Every morning we were welcomed with a very rich and delicious breakfast table.

The hotel is located in a good neighborhood (near to the Paraça do Comercio) but on a realtively unchich little street which is the only thing that pulls the hotel down a little.

This is probably best boutiqe hotel to stay in Lisbon, especially for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aylin_Acar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
873 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 494 in Lisbon
578 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 258 in Lisbon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £246 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing