We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Lisbon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #5 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I would like to recommend Palacete Chafariz d`el Rei in Lisbon. Located in oldest part of Lisbon - Alfama. This renowned old palace offers superb service and a kind of magic :-)

Room Tip: Take an "Amaya" room.It has a balcony with a view for the river.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Palacete Chafariz D'el Rei is a total find -- a super cool gut renovated manion set in the oldest (Alfama) neighborhood in Lisbon. Beyond the six original eclectic rooms, you feel like you're staying with friends. Rui and Maria stop at nothing to make sure that you experience Lisbon (and Portugal) like a local. We were just as sad to say goodbye to them as we were to leave this special hotel.

The hotel itself has old-world charm, while the rooms are all totally modern. We looked at all six rooms and each one has its own personality -- you can't go wrong with any of them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The most romantic and charming hotel in Portugal. With a completely, diferent and a surprising decoration. Nearby de center of lisbon and well located. Lovely staff and service.
few words..an hotel that you never forget... !! NF

Room Tip: All the rooms !!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fouto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is by far the most romantic enchanting hotel I've stayed in. you feel as though you have arrived at a private mansion.
Thank you Rui Teixeira for being the most welcoming, warmest and wonderful host. He runs this hotel with his partner and a solid,efficient team of kind staff. they have restored this abandoned property with utmost care to preserve the authenticity of the house. Oh what a result!! i'm filled with so much joy just reviewing this magical place.
The ground floor public rooms are magnificently decorated with antiques and elaborate mouldings.
We stayed in suite LOLA which was just so glamorous and romantic, the huge living room has great river views. Everything was spotlessly clean.There was a workspace with desk, minibar, wi-fi connection which was fast, heating/AC a big telly with with a 100 channels.

The bed room was cosy with the most comfortable kingsize bed and various size pillows. There was also a huge stand alone antique wardrobe which you could lock. very nice touch as you didn't have to worry about securing all your stuff. Everything was meticulously done.

The bathroom in this suite was huge..with a stand alone bath tub, a bidet and the most awesome monsoon shower. Great towels and shampoo etc. there is a door and a little balcony too which you can open if you don't want the bathroom to be steamy.
Well done Rui..can't wait to see you again soon.


Continental breakfast was served in a beautiful dinning room overlooking the terraced gardens.

I recommend this hotel to you all..you will love it. It is a very special place in Lisbon, there are loads of cafes and restaurants nearby. It is a good 20 minute walk to the main shopping area with all the usual high street names and designer boutiques.

Room Tip: all the suites are totally different.. I would say stay in Lola ..i loved it.. if you want a terrac...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madameswanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

La Palacete was an experience of utter beauty. Rui and staff could not have been more wonderful. Rui has taken an abandoned property and restored it so lovingly and with such style and comfort and attention to detail. Paradise in Lisbon!

Room Tip: Rooms have names...we loved Lola! We faced the river...truly beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RakeshHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

If you want to be happy in Lissabon with your partner, take this Hotel near the Center and Harbour . The Rooms are wonderfull and the Service too kind. Never ever had such an original Stay in a City.
The Start of the Day is a very nicely served breakfast in One of These wonderfull Rooms Looking Out on the tejo.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wwwrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had read great reviews about the Palacete and about Rui, the owner/host. We also saw beautiful pictures online -- but none of it compared to the actual experience when we go there. Rui greeted us when we arrived (9:30 am, after flying all night), and that was the beginning of a wonderfully memorable stay. He could not have been more gracious and helpful all through our visit - from recommending restaurants and making reservations for us, to just being his charming self!

We had a "junior" suite, but what a room it was! Just gorgeous, with fabulous furniture and wonderful amenities. The bedroom/bathroom setup was entirely unique! The entire setting was amazing -- Rui and his partner have restored this "Palace" wonderfully. Oh, and since it IS a B&B - the breakfast was suitably elegant and delicious, with table settings fit for a king and queen.

We'd highly recommend the Palacete to anyone visiting Lisbon, and we certainly would never stay anywhere else if we return that that most-charming city. The location is also perfect for sightseeing around the old historic district of the city.

Room Tip: Choose ANY room here!! We originally had asked for a "regular" suite - but they were book...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 484 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £257 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing