We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #5 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We ended our stay in Portugal with 3 nights at this hotel and didn't want to leave. It is hidden away at the top of a flight of stone steps in the old district of Alfama and stepping over the threshold of the heavy oak door is like going through the wardrobe to the magic of Narnia. The interior has been beautifully restored and is filled with interesting and lovely objects. There is a real sense of history and the rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnsihed. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. Staying here was a unique experience and worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybermum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Myself and my Husband stayed in this Hotel for one night at the end of a weeks holiday in Portugal, accompanied by my Husband's Parents. We stayed in suites Amaya and Lola respectively. Cannot praise the Hotel or it's Staff highly enough. Special mention must go to Maria, who really made our stay something special. Beautiful setting, with plenty of areas to sit and relax and soak up the beautiful surroundings. Delicious breakfast and no pressure for us to leave by a particular time the following morning. Our only complaint is that we were only staying at the Hotel for one night - we will definitely return and we will definitely stay longer the next time!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noelle_Clin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was the highlight of our stay in Lisbon-a beautifully restored house discreetly situated in Alfama -6 huge suites with all mod cons; We had 2 adjoining suites taking up a whole floor with terrace overlooking the river; Gorgeous breakfast; Exceptionally and tastefully furnished; Very much worth spendign that little extra; Staff so helpful-very luxurious. Can stay here and walk to many excellent restuarants and listen to Fado--a must on your stay in lisbon but keep this gem to yourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were only one night a the Palacete Chafariz and we wished we would have been able to stay longer. We do travel a lot around the world and this is the first time that I take the time to give my comments on TripAvisor. This place is just WONDERFUL. We liked everything about it. We had the room in the tower (on 3 levels) !!! The owner is really nice and take really good care of its guests. I highly recommend to everyone to stay at the Chafariz in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Any rooms but if you can, get the Tower Suite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie-josee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This storical building is located in the Alfama district. The palace is wonderful as the room (i saw lola romantic suite). The breakfast is an unique experience difficult to explain. It's very different with the other hotels. The Alfama is storical district of Lisboa. I prefer other zone of this city but it's important view also this area. The price is high but proporzionate with the service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slymod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and as "experienced" global travelers I must admit we were really flabbergasted! At first, we were quite surprised with the environment - but hadn't yet discoverd the particular charms of the "Amalfa" area of the city - and with the style of the "palacete": a strange mixture of "Art Deco" (in some ways close to Victor Horta) and Mauresque... The "hôtel particulier" has been magnificently restaured: every detail counts, nothing was left to amateurism. We stayed 3 days and it was like being at home (in wildest dreams), because nothing makes you feel being in a hotel - and this is where resides the real enchantment of the place: the genuine, natural, spontaneous kindness of our hosts. Whether it is Ruiz (the director) or Maria or Rafaëlla, they treat you as friends, almost as family, with great competence and goodwill, with kindness and excellent advises, with charm and pride of their "palacete": they really made our stay! Additionnally: the room (Amaye suite) was superb, good beds, perfect bathroom - towels - amenities, excellent breakfast. We really recommand this superb place to anyone who wants to keep the memory of an enchanting place. And not the least: the price/quality ratio is outstanding!
Benoit & Monique - Antwerp, Belgium

Room Tip: The "Amaye" suite is a unique experience, with a terrace embracing the Tage and a very, ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benoit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is converted from a old palace at the Tagus river in the Alfama district of Lisboa. We had the Tower suite with a a steep staircase leading to a small saloon with a sofa. Next to the saloon is large bedroom with direct access to the ample and luxurious bathroom. From the saloon a spiral staircase leads to a small and quite warm living room with access to a balcony running round the hole structure. From the balcony a metal stair case leads to the top of the tower with an artificial grass field with two sun beds and a magnificent view over the Tagus and Alfama rooftops.
Breakfast was served in a magnificent hall at the bottom floor in very tranquil surroundings without any would-be singer barking from an audio system.

Room Tip: Travelers with functional disabilities are discouraged from choosing the tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubenHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
878 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 494 in Lisbon
579 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 258 in Lisbon
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £248 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing