We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #5 of 233 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is an amazing hotel located in a quirky and interesting setting. Nothing - and I mean nothing - is too much trouble for the dedicated staff. The suite had an awesome view out over the river. Sipping white wine (good quality wine) in a quaint and colourful roof garden was simply bliss. All of the historical sites are within easy walking distance. Breakfasts are delicious: attention to detail is a strength. Each day saw different fruits; different juice; and scrumptuous home baked cake. The suite was a juxtaposed mixture of modern ancient / romantic features: carefully blended. I travel the world for work and leisure: rarely have I been made to feel so welcome or special as in this hotel. This must be the best place to stay in Lisbon. So romantic: so well positioned: so interesting: so clean and fresh!

Room Tip: Choose a suite on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff1951_0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
287
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm a little reluctant to write this review because I'm a selfish person and I'd like to keep this place a secret so I can always get a room there when I want to go to my beloved Lisbon again... but alright then... I'll share it with you. There is NO better place to stay in Lisbon than this magical little palace. There is NO place in Lisbon that is better renovated than this one, has more attentive service, or a better breakfast. And I'm in the know... I've been to Lisbon a dozen times by now. So there you go! My secret is out.. hope you can make it yours too. Enjoy. Obrigada!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, I suggest you go there at least 6 times and try them all. Then make up your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place! Hidden down a little ally very close to the hart of town is this magical hotel. We were we received warm welcome upon arrival and the service continued for the duration of our stay. The only draw back it a taxi cannot drop you right to the door, DONT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF THOUGH!!! It's only a short walk, and well worth it!

Room:
The room was very large, and not by European standards - by all standards. We had a studio style kitchenette, dinning, living and lounge area. The bedroom was separate to the studio area and the bathroom was again separate to the bedroom (full ensuite). Our room had a view over the river and is was very nice to wake up to.

Hotel:
An amazing 18th century hotel, the common area rooms are anything but common. They have been kept/resorted to a brilliant quality! It is a true experience to stay here. Breakfast is amazing, you feel as if are really getting the royal treatment!

Staff:
The staff are fantastic, friendly and always willing to help. They carried our 2 x 30kg+ bags up three flights of very tight spiral starts before we had finished checking in. They were very helpful with informing of where the local places I wanted to visit were and how to get there. I cannot fault the service in the establishment in anyway.

Location:
This is a very good location. It is about 5-10 min walk to most of the major attractions. We did get some cabs after walking all day though only as we were tired of walking.

Recommendations:
There are several place that Anthony Bourdain recommends (food wise), I suggest watching this episode and visiting those that you can. The cervaseria trinidade was amazing and a must go for bifana and seafood. I'm not 100% that is how you spell it, though I is very famous with the locals and I'm sure you'll find it with not to much trouble.
Do the hop on and hop off bus, I have for years avoided these, though really enjoyed this one. The Yellow bus has the most frequent busses.
Jump on a tram and just cruz about town, very relaxing and unique experience.

Hope this helps someone, would love to get feedback if you go.

Happy and safe travel!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lukelyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We loved this little secret palace--it lived up to all our expectations, and was an amazing respite. The 19th century mansion is intelligently and imaginatively restored, and the hosts are rightly proud of it. It feels like walking into the set of a period film, or inhabiting the pages of a luxury lifestyle magazine. The attentive and discrete personal service means that you feel more like a royal prince/princess than a paying visitor. All members of the team (Rui, Heloisa and Maria) were perfectly multilingual (flawless English, French etc), professional, friendly, and helpful, and their enthusiasm, pleasure and pride in the hotel was evident.

Definitly suggest it.........just book & enjoy feeling royal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We just returned from our trip to Portugal and stayed at Palacete Chafariz. Everything from start to finish was excellent. The breakfasts, the interior details, the staff, service were all five stars.
The hotel is located in a great location and was walking distance to everything. There are some great restaurants in the neighborhood as well so dinners were easy to choose. It was such a pleasure to stay at a beautiful place such as this. It felt intimate and relaxing, and we couldn't wait to return after a full day of sightseeing and exploring.
Anyone who stays here will truly love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 921nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is beautiful and comfortable and the staff were amazing. We loved Lisbon and part of why we had such a great time is due to the recommendations and guidance from the Palacete staff. We would recommend the Palacete to anyone and plan to go back ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My self and my wife chose this hotel as it is in the old part of Lisbon city with it's roots going back to the Moorish times some 1,200 years ago and having close proximity to St. George Castle (10 min walk-up the hill) and the city center. It is hard to find by taxi due to the old streets with narrow alleyways in the area, but the hotel staff are very helpful and were willing to talk to the taxi to explain the location. The inside of the hotel can only be described as amazing, fully restored and modernized, without loosing it's authenticity. The manager and staff are first class, very helpful, will guide you were to go in Lisbon and try to exceed all your expectations, we felt like part of the family and were really sad to leave them on the last day of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maktari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Property: Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing