We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as wonderful as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #3 of 246 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second stay as wonderful as the first”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beyond the exquisite interiors of the individually furnished rooms, beyond the delicious breakfasts available at any hour you choose to rise, beyond having some of Lisbon's most historic sites on your doorstep, what makes a stay here simply the best is the utter delightfulness of each and every of the staff. I was welcomed as family two years on from my previous stay, and felt an honoured guest each minute of my 5 night stay. Great team, great hotel, thank you Ruis!

Room Tip: The bedroom in Lola is a wonderful quiet nest to retire to each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
292
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Gorgeous character hotel - Art Nouveau style (Brazil Art Nouveau apparently), beautifully restored, but feels like a home from home - really comfortable - the staff are so kind and helpful and clearly love their hotel and make you feel welcomed like an old friend. The area is great - maybe 5 mins walk to Praca Comerciao and the metro station just before the square, 5 mins to the Cathedral, and the area itself is a delight of winding old streets, bars and restaurants aplenty. I can't wait to return to what is an absolute gem of a place - the suites are luxurious and spacious and it is really worth the price for the quality of the accommodation and the perfect service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen67892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is one of the most special hotels we have ever stayed in,and we have traveled all over the world. It is a small- six rooms- beautifully restored home in the Alfama district. You really feel like you are living in your own small palace. Three of the rooms are suites and I would particularly recommend the "Lola" suite. The staff are all extremely warm and helpful and make you feel like they are welcoming you into their home.While not cheap, you would expect a hotel of this quality to be much more expensive. Worth coming to Lisbon just to stay here!

Room Tip: The three suites on the first floor are all fabulous. We stayed in Amaya and Lola. Amaya has balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I want to have this boutique hotel every where I go. And all the wonderful team who look after you so well. As soon as I booked this unique and beautiful hotel I received an email from the management thanking me, confirming my stay and requesting my details for my airport pick up at the same amount as a taxi in a far superior car and driver. It was a welcome change to the anonymous reservations and confirmations that you usually encounter. As the other reviewers have expressed this place is exceptional. There are only 6 (I think) rooms so don't delay if you are going to book here as it can get booked out fairly quickly especially if a big event is on, as it was when I was in Lisbon. I had a most gorgeous and palatial room. The one with the 2 large twin beds. The sheets, the towels, the toiletries were top quality. Everyone was so helpful. They printed maps for me when I merely asked directions. They gave me the perfect recommendations for dining very close by. They made you feel comfortable and at home. The breakfasts were fantastic. Its in a great area of Lisbon and walking distance to the castle and many other attractions I did not have time to visit. I immediately recommended this place to a friend who had booked somewhere else. The building itself is hidden away in a lane and has the most exquisite entry. Its really a wonderful experience. As its a small boutique hotel and the area its in is old, there's no room for a pool or gym. I did however get a lot of exercise from walking around Lisbon up hills.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Suite called Sonya Unique. It was at the back of the building. There was some renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

An amazing stay at the Chafariz D'El Rei - everything exceeded out expectations! Palacete Chafariz is a magnet that will bring me to Lisbon again and again! Thank you for making me fall in love with Portugal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Annalu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I have extensively travel throughout the world and decided to travel by car through Portugal for two weeks choosing to stay in historic hotels. Staying at the Palacete in the historical old part of Lisbon was just what we needed to make our holiday in Portugal memorable. Every part of part stay was lovely and I must say there are not many five star hotels that could offer such personal service and quality accommodation. Thank you Rui, Paulo and Maria for going out of your way to make our stay perfect.

Room Tip: We staying in Lola Suite and would recommend it for furnishings and decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful house of character, ideally situated in the historical district of Lisbon. Maria and her team will welcome you as you receive your propore family or your closest friends. We had an amazing weekend for two. Thank you very much and long life Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei!

Room Tip: Just call them and ask for Lola
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaume O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Property: Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing