We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Excellent Location, Flawed Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Ranked #34 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Location, Flawed Rooms”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I had a short stay at the Inspira Santa Marta Hotel in September of 2011. Although I had a pleasant stay, and I found the service quite pleasant and efficient, there was an issue with the rooms. Others have mentioned the unique setup of the bathroom, which actually prompted me to book, because I like a modern and unique design. Unfortunately, the execution of that design has some flaws. The flooring in the bathroom is some kind of woven cloth, and the shower had wood planks suspended over the basin. For me, this design created a distinct smell of mold and mildew. It was unmistakable.

I did mention this to the staff, and they did what they could, but it really isn't something they can just wipe down.

At any rate, the rest of my room was ridiculously roomy, and well appointed. The location is excellent, and right where you want to be in Lisbon. The lobby is modern and the staff excellent. I feel conflicted with this review, because I really want to recommend this hotel, but the smell of mold and mildew in my room prevents me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraMencucci, Marketing at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
“Dear “Airmay”,
We thank you very much for your preference for Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.
We first want to apologize for the inconvenience of the situation you describe in your review. I can assure you that the unpleasant smell had nothing to do with the design of the bathroom but yes with an unfortunate coincidence, a one-off technical issue. We are sorry for what happened and not being able to sort it out by the time you were there. We would love to make it up to you on a future occasion. Should you plan to visit Lisbon again, please contact me directly at Sandra.mencucci@inspirahotels.com so that we can treat you with a special offer!
With our best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,808
    1,138
    144
    24
    9
See reviews for
399
1,893
125
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Beautiful, well located, Zen but not too Feng Shui! The staff is amazing, the room are just perfect size with espresso machine, 10 light ambiances, comfortable bed, window shower, reading area, free mini-fridge, desk, big flat screen. One of the best hotel I stayed in my life!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraMencucci, Marketing at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear "Juliegeo",
We thank you for having chosen Inspira Santa Marta Hotel for your stay in Lisbon.
We were delighted to read your very rewarding comments, be sure that they will be shared with our entire "amazing" staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.
Best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had a nice stay in this hotel, However, I would not pay more than 100€/night.
It is very modern and quite close to the shops on Av Liberdade. On the down side, the walk to the old town is 20-25min, which may be a lot, specially coming back at night. I really liked it although next time I would look for something closer to 'Barrio Alto' or 'Baixa'.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraMencucci, Marketing at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear "Osk77",
We thank you for taking the time posting your comments regarding your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel and we hope you'll keep good memories of your experience in Lisbon.
Best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Booked Hotel for long weekend and chose "Superior" room, what a joke .... complained to reception and gave us another just the same, to me this was a "Standard" double. VERY small and claustrophobic.Window, high and impossible to look out of. Offered free tea and coffee but only 2 creams with 3 coffee capsules. Tea if you want it black. Other drinks one of each in fridge, beer normal, beer alcohol free, water and orange juice. Free Wi-Fi if you can stay connected ! always had problems. Only good thing was a comfortable bed and room kept clean. Conveniently situated for heading into town, 20 mins walk or Metro nearby. Good Restaurant opposite and little shop to buy things from, if you fancy a glass of wine before going out to dinner in room, which we did.

Room Tip: Suggest you chose a Suite if you want good size room with proper windows to look out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momeypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraMencucci, Marketing at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear "Momeypenny",
We thank you for taking the time posting your review.
We must say that we also were very disappointed to read that your stay with us didn't reach your expectations. You seemed to have experienced a couple of issues that we would have been happy to sort out during your stay. In fact, there is not much we can do about the hardware but we could have certainly helped you out with any defective services such as the internet.
Should you want to talk it over, please do not hesitate to contact me at sandra.mencucci@inspirahotels.com.
Thank you for having chosen Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon in Lisbon.
WIth my best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights and we liked it extremely. We got a room without a view but din't mind as the room was nicely decorated with an in-room shower (so indeed not suitable for business travellers sharing a room!). There's a Nespresso in the room, the bedding is comfortable and the toiletries very good. It's a 10min walk to the city centre along a nice wide streets with lots of fancy shops. I would definitley stay here again and would recommend to ayone traveling to Lisbon. Parking is in the garage underneath the hotel at around 16 EUR a day. Across the hotel there are a few little restaurants if you're feeling peckish but do not prefer the hotel's restaurant. We did not use the restauarnt or the spa because we didn't have the time to. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our two weeks in Portugal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjennekuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstriddeLisboa, Marketing at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear "Pjeneekuuk",
We are delighted to read your very positive comments about your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel and we are glad to be your nº1 among the Portuguese hotels you've visited :-)
Your comments wil be shared with the entire team.
We hope to welcome you soon again when you next visit Lisbon.
With our best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

A very pleasant stay in this new hotel near avenida da liberdade,close to everything. Charming place, lovely and modern room, eco sensitive, beautiful wellness center even if small, good breakfast, good and friendly service.
One thing to improve: it would be better if we could open the windows (they are locked..)

Nevertheless, I would definitely come back in this hotel during my next stay in Lisboa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dam04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstriddeLisboa, Marketing at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear "Dam04",

We are delighted that your overall stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel was to your liking. For security matters the windows are locked but can be opened on request by our housekeeping service.
Your comments will be shared with the rest of our team.
We hope to welcome you again soon when you next come to Lisbon.

With our best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great hotel, can't find any big issue. Modern, friendly and knowleadgeable receptionists, good if not plentiful breakfast, all the facilities working, very good location (metro/bus are 200 meters away, uphill though), rightly priced, outstanding in room facilities (electronic safe, huge and modern shower, classy furnitures, nespresso machine and boiler for tea, comfortable beds, big mirrors).

Only 2 very minor issues: the light system can be complicated for some but it's very well thought, you can mix and manage to have light in the bathroom with only a suffuse light in the main room and viceversa. Can take a bit to get the hang of but I appreciated the novelty.
The bathroom is not separated from the main room so no privacy whatsoever. The wc and shower have 2 separated areas (with doors) so it's not that bad but if you desire perfect privacy in the bathroom this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian81_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 251 in Lisbon
273 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
881 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 251 in Lisbon
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 251 in Lisbon
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Property: Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing