We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Ranked #31 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beutiful”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, the double room is enough for two person but if you have a children you need another solution ( anyway for one night it was ok ), wifi ok, some furnitures in the room needs a renew. The personnel is very kind, but if you want to have dinner @open maybe you don't need a reservation, because the restaurant is good but not crowded ( like someone at the desk told us ).
Next time in Lisbon ... Surely @Santa Marta

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear "Altibu"
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and that you would come back - if you do have children, we also have interconnecting rooms as well as family rooms.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,751
    1,118
    141
    23
    8
See reviews for
376
1,850
122
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is close to two Metro stations in a quiet street section of the R. de Santa Marta. A 15 minute walk away is the old town with literally hundreds of restaurants and bars.
The rooms are very modern, clean and not to the street side. I did not hear anything from my room neighbours.
The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet was very good (fresh orange juice, bread of all sorts, scrambled eggs, ...).
I will definitely come back to this hotel on my next trip to Lissabon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinSwissTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear "MartinSwiss Traveler",
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We are delighted that you liked the hotel and definitely look to welcome you back on your next trip!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

First time for my wife and I in Lisbon. Booked for 4 nights first week in September after visiting numerous hotel sites on the web and of course tripadvisor. We both enjoy city breaks and try to locate within walking distance of the old town.This one has a superb location, 5-10 minutes from the metro, the airport bus stop and a steady 30 minute stroll to the main station and the old town. The Avenue Liberade is 2 minutes away. Its a quiet area at night and literally across the road are fine eating places and a local store to top up on bottled water etc.

The hotel did not dissappoint. The room was very clean and the staff both knowledgable and pleasant.We always get to have the breakfast included in the tariff as this normally works out cheaper and they were only to happy to oblige, as indeed they were when I requested a Metal themed room. Coming back to the breakfast I would find it hard to think of many hotels that we have stayed in that would be that much better.

Security is excellent,you cant use the lift without your room "key".

Overall we found it well worth its rating and value for money.
Would stay there again without doubt.

Room Tip: Email or call the hotel with your requests. I emailed them with a request for a metal room. They r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear "Alan R"
Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted you were so pleased with the hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Lisbon.
Sincerely,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinna, Harjumaa, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A very nice hotell with great staff.
However, room was quite dark in the evening, and if you fell like reading swithing to Reading lighting is required that will make rest o the room go dark! That is horroble! You cannot do much of the work at all, becaus you no can see only the thigs placed directly in the spot light! Allso you you want to use a bathroom you have to swith to Bathroom lighting, that has same problem as lighting mentioned above!
Also room air contitioning is horroble! When ou arrive air conditioning is off and room is very stuffy and hot! So you turn it on! It is blowing quite strongly as yo u end up with a cold! Since air conditioning is always off while you are not in a room, so each and every time after you come to a room is hot and stuffy!!!

Room Tip: I have been staying in room 308 that was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaana-Kateriina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear "Jaana-Kateriina G"
Thank you for your feedback. With regards to the lighting in the rooms, we provide an in-room manual explaining how to set the right lighting mood. As we are a energy conscious hotel, we do not leave Air Conditioning on before the customer comes in for reasons that I am sure you will understand...
We are glad in any case that you found the hotel to be " a nice place to stay".
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked the Inspira Santa Marta for an add on to a conference in Portugal. A colleague and I decided to stay in Lisbon for a day at the end of the conference as neither of us had been there before. We wanted a central location and the conference had been focussing on sustainable tourism so we selected this hotel because of it's green accreditation (Travellife).

It was a sheer delight to stay here and I was only sorry that we didn't have longer to spend here. The lobby design is very cool with a wonderful staircase up to the Retreat Spa. The rooms combined clean funky design with comfort and despite being on what looked like a busy street were well sound proofed. As other reviewers have mentioned the Nespresso machine was great and the complimentary mini-bar (one beer, one water & one orange juice) was still welcome.

We took advantage of the September offer advertised in the lift of a 40min deep tissue massage in the Retreat spa for EUR39.40 and it was excellent for a hotel spa. They have twin massage tables in a room to allow couples or friends be massaged together.

Breakfast was the usual fare - pity there was only fruit salad although it was fresh not tinned but Portugal didn't seem strong on breakfast fruit for some reason.

Location is very central - just off Avenida de Liberdade - and easy walking distance from the main square. We climbed to Barrio Alto (better to take the tram up and walk down) and enjoyed the fabulous view from the top.

One word of caution on dining (not in this hotel but in a small local restuarant in Bairro Alta) - we both tried a Portuguese dish which we didn't recognise called Açorda de Gambas (Bread stew of prawns). We misunderstood the waiter and thought it was prawns in pasta. In fact it was prawns in bread stew - prawns with pieces of bread broken up in garlicky soup to which is added a raw egg just before serving. I am a reasonably adventurous eater but the consistency and texture of the eggy gloopy bread was something neither I nor my friend could stomach and we fished the prawns out of the dish to eat with our salad. Chalk it up to experience.

Anyway I thoroughly recommend this hotel and intend to be back on my next chance to visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
DEar "TravellingKlttyIRL"
Thank you for your recent comments and your recommendation of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Overall very positive. A clean, well designed hotel with friendly staff and many welcoming facilities (such as the Nespresso machine). Decor is of a very high standard. I agree that clearer instructions on basic matters, such as how to control the lights, would have been helpful. The front desk is understaffed in the evening -- just one person when I needed help with wifi access and had to wait 15 minutes. But these are minor quibbles: I will be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_hyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraMencucci, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear "r_hyman",
Thank you for your comments, we're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.
An instruction booklet does exist in the room, it is normally located on top of the working table and it gives all useful information on how to use lighting systems, coffee machine... Our night staff consists in 2 persons and if by any chance one is busy, it might increase time of service.
We hope to welcome you again soon !
Kind regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A very pleasant stay in the center of lisbon. We had a car and there were parking each time between 7pm and 9am its free. loved rhee nespresso machine and kettle to make own hot drinks as many hotels did not provide that.

Mini bar complimentary was juice beer sparkling water good on a hot day!

Service at reception was good, abit slow to check out but not in rush so it was fine.

gym only had 4 machines, didn't visit the spa

Would definately return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusnching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraMencucci, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear "Marcusnching",
Thank you for your encouraging review.
We're glad to read that the added free values such as the tea and coffee facilities and minibar in the room were of your liking.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.
Best regards,
Sandra Mencucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 248 in Lisbon
243 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
846 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,000 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Property: Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing