We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very very very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Ranked #35 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a very very very nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we hv been there twice this august once for 3 days in a mini suite and once for 1 night
the rooms were wonderful[we hv been upgraded for our 2nd stay to a room with jacuzzi in a closed terrace [u shld see it to understand how nice it was.
service excellent , the staff very gentle, restaurant good, the hotel is not expensive very good location,in other words dont miss it.

Room Tip: the hotel is located centrally but in quite street therefore believe all rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear “Marco H”,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review regarding your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

We are grateful to learn that your experience was worthy of so many compliments!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back on your next visit to Lisbon.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,628
    1,047
    134
    22
    8
See reviews for
345
1,725
115
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one week at the end of July, and we really had a great time. The rooms are not the biggest rooms you'll see, but they're nicely decorated and kept clean very well. The bathroom has all the facilities you'll need (including a great shower), but is very open, as it is only separated from the rest of the room by a glass (see-through) pane. As a couple we did not really mind, but we can understand that this is less pleasant for people who aren't comfortable seeing each other naked :-) There are many sauna/spa/massage facilities in the hotel, some of which you can use for free. We didn't make use of them but they looked fine. If you want to combine your city trip to Lisbon with a relaxing massage, this is the ideal hotel for you!

Breakfast is great; there's a good choice of high-quality bread, quiches, egg, ham, cheese, drinks etc. and the breakfast staff are very helpful. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but those dishes seemed nice and reasonably priced as well. There are also a few restaurants nearby at which you can get a good and fair priced meal. The front desk staff are generally very nice and enthusiastically showed us some of the nice spots in Lisbon. We must say however that there are one or two exceptions of staff members at the front desk that are not always as warm and welcome as the other staff.

The hotel is located very closely to the city center (10-15 min walk downhill, there's also a metro on a 5 min walk but we only used that to go back to the hotel if we didn't feel like walking back up the hill when returning to the hotel), which makes it an ideal location to explore Lisbon and its surrounding areas. It can get a little bit noisy in the neighborhood during the night (driving cars, people going back from parties, etc.), but if you close the window you won't hear a thing. The rooms themselves are really well isolated, so you won't be bothered by noise of other guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Front Office Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear “Chocolatata”,

Thank you so much for your review of your experience at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

We’re happy to read all the nice comments you made about our rooms, the SPA and wellness area and the restaurant!

Our front desk staff is always thrilled to welcome our guests and give them all the information and tips they might need and we’re sorry to know you found some of the staff didn’t share this enthusiasm and joy.

Lisbon is a city of many charms and hidden gems and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future and, at the end of your day, enjoy our relaxing wellness area and have a dinner with us at Open Mediterranean Brasserie, which we are sure you will not forget.

Our best wishes,

Tiago Alves
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautifully designed with space to breathe. Modern, stylish, but not posh and with enough warmth to make your stay pleasant. Very friendly staff, always ready to help. Once you get to understand the remote control for the lights, you can create various atmospheres in the ergonomic, yet spacious rooms. The see-through shower creates a feeling of extra space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvhpvhpvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Front Office Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear “pvhpvh”,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

We’re absolutely delighted to know everything went well with your stay and it is very heartwarming to read all the nice comments you made to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

Tiago Alves
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We very much enjoyed staying at the Inspira Santa Marta for our two nights in Lisbon. The service was WONDERFUL... very helpful, knowledgeable, and they even left complimentary pastries and port wine for us at night. The rooms are spacious and modern, very open and clean.

The location is a little outside the heart of Lisbon. This was nice, as the hotel was very quiet. However, we wish we were a little closer to the sights that Lisbon has to offer. It probably took us ~15min to walk down to the main squares during the day. This was no problem during the day, but a little annoying at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Front Office Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear "Boggg3312",

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed both the service and the rooms! Thank you very much for this heartwarming compliment!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Lisbon!

Best regards,

Tiago Alves
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014, there were 8 in our group occupying 4 rooms in total. The hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk from the main square in town, it is a little hilly so it is easier walk into town (as it is slightly downhill). It is approx. 25 minutes from the airport and about 20 euros.

Inspira has all the modern comforts, rooms are clean, beds comfortable and a great shower. 2 great bonuses are good Wifi coverage throughout the hotel and bottled water in the room which is replaced daily. The buffet breakfast had both a hot and cold selection and food was replenished regularly. Reception staff are friendly, helpful and are reasonably quick with dealing with requests/questions.

One area for improvement is customer service within the restaurant & bar of the hotel. We had dinner in the hotel our first night and drinks at the bar on 2 separate evenings. Although staff were friendly and willing to help, food & beverage staff were quite slow in serving and responding to requests. However this did not by any means taint our experience of the hotel, just something for management to consider going forward.

A couple of tips – There are 4 rooms on each floor which are bigger standard doubles with larger showers and a more spacious interior, these rooms also have a sleeker interior with wooden steps/benches that lead upto the windows – I was in 217, request one of these for a little extra space. Book a little early and there is a 20% discount on the hotel website.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and great value for money

Room Tip: Stay in one of the larger standard rooms with the steps to the windows - more space for no extra cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmenater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mrs. “Carmenater”,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review regarding your stay!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel overall and that you consider us great value for money!

We will take in consideration your recommendations! Our guests opinions are truly important for us in our constant quest to exceed their expectations!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back on your next visit to Lisbon!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Inspira Santa Marta hotel in Lisbon is an excellent hotel for couples. Set in a quiet area, the hotel is situated about a 10-minute walk from the city centre on slippery white cobblestones.
The hotel room was spacious with different mood lighting settings, modern and stylish décor and furniture. The mini bar was well stocked and inexpensive. Breakfast was included and the selection was very good.

All members of staff we met were very warm, friendly and helpful.

SOME TIPS FOR VISITING LISBON:

-The trams are a quaint and interesting way to see the city. However they usually very crowded, hot and it is difficult to see past moist armpits at what stop to get off.

-You can get a day travel pass at most stations for metro, tram and bus and it costs €6.

-Keep your eyes peeled: there are lots of green statues of rakes who look like Charles Dickens.

-Parking obstructions can be quite common; you might get blocked in if you park.

-There are some beggars at certain points who generally aren’t too much trouble. One vocal Romanian woman splayed out on the white slippery tiles with her small pedigree dog seems to be a permanent feature on Avenida da Liberdade – the main street you take to reach the city centre.

-You might be lucky and get offered cocaine only once.

-Very few shops seem to sell cold bottled water. You can get very cheap bottled water (€0.12) at the mini-market about 1 minute from the hotel as you head along Rua Barata Salgueiro to meet the main thoroughfare of Avenida da Liberdade.

-Eating out: generally the portions are very large. Prices are reasonable, certainly not cheap. You will be offered breads and possibly fish balls as you sit down – these are not free and will be included on the bill.

-There are some excellent breads, rolls and pastries at Eric Kayser artisan Boulanger (padaria e pastelaria artisanal) on Rua do Carmo.

-Take a pleasant stroll along the seafront for ten minutes then sit down and gaze at the Atlantic at one of the cafes on the esplanade.

-Taxi drivers charge different amounts and we never saw a meter telling the price. So make sure you ask the hotel receptionist what it is likely to cost and check that with the taxi driver – we found it should have cost €12 to 15 to get to the airport. It cost €22 in one un-metered cab when the roads were not busy.

THINGS TO SEE

After a day or two wondering the red roof-tiled city and the Moorish Castle give your ears a rest from the barking restaurateurs, innocuous drug dealers and noisome vagrants and let the Atlantic in.

If you want a day at the beach board a train bound for Caiscais at Cais do Sondre station close to Lisbon’s seafront. It takes 40 minutes and three trains depart each hour.

At Cais do Sondre there are separate metro ticket machines and separate train ticket machines. The train ones don't all accept cash notes. The metro ticket machines are blue and you have to follow signs to the metro to the find them – this caused a lot of confusion for a lot of people and there is not usually any staff around to help.

On your pursuit of sandy shores, when you arrive at Caiscais, exit and cross over the road to the large mall and go straight underground (don’t go in the mall). The entrance to the bus depo is to the left down some steps. Take the 405 or 415 that stops at Guincho – it takes about 20 mins.
You can get a combined bus and rail ticket at €15 return. Take cash for the train and the bus as they didn’t accept card payment. You can also just get a single ticket from Caiscais to Guincho at €3.15. It actually worked out €5 cheaper each if you buy a train return and singles on the bus rather than a combined ticket and it will save you queuing for 10 minutes at Cais do Sondre.

As you approach Guincho there is no certain place to get off; when you start to see large beaches and buildings on the sea side get off before the yellow hotel, Hotel do Guincho, on the same side as the sea. To left and the right are large sandy beaches.

To the right of the yellow building (as you look at the sea) is the largest beach. You can hire two loungers a wind breaker and parasol for €20. It is worth it as it is very windy and the airborne sand can be harsh against the skin. To the left is a smaller beach with a few more rocks. Two loungers and a wind breaker cost €12 – this side was generally less busy and more peaceful. Don’t be fooled by the sunshine; it can get cold so take something to cover up.

SINTRA is another must-see place close to Lisbon. You can take the train from Rossio Train Station (A.K.A. ‘the Starbucks building’).

Outside Sintra station turn left and at the end of the road you will see a main car park. Here you can hire Sightsee electric cars. This costs €45 for three hours and has built in sat-nav tour of the main landmarks. This was a lot of fun and much better than walking a few kilometres on hilly terrain in the heat. The roads are one-way too, so it is easier and less daunting and parking is not a problem in the dedicated areas.

One attraction is the fairy tale palace – National Palace of Pena – a German built his Portuguese wife in the 1800s – it’s almost like something from the Brothers Grimm set high in enchanted woodland.

Very close by is the Moors' Castle (Castelo dos Mouros) – this mini Great Wall of China fortress and surrounding area looks like it could have inspired Tolkien. For me it evoked visions of Rivendell, Rohan and Gondor from the Lord of the Rings. After you climb a few hundred limestone steps you are rewarded with spectacular views, but perhaps not for vertigo sufferers.

We did all this in an enjoyable and leisurely 5 days. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BusinessPleasure32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear “BusinessPleasure32”,

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review!

We are truly satisfied to learn that everything went well during your stay, from the breakfast to the location! Thank you for your pleasant comment regarding our staff, it is a pleasure for the entire team to read it!

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Lisbon!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Inspira Santa Marta Hotel and were really happy with our choice. Steps to the metro station and just off the gorgeous Avenida de Liberdade, we were ideally located to explore all Lisbon has to offer.

The rooms were quiet and clean with a modern and stylish feel to them. Our rain shower was a bit leaky getting water all over the bathroom floor, and we did need to have maintenance come in to fix a broken handle on our safe but other than those small hiccups our stay was pretty great.

Free WiFi on the property, but you do need to pay around 11 Euros for breakfast which is kind of a drawback. Easy to get to from the airport, about a 20 Euro cab ride.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor and were really pleased with it, we'd heard that rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear “iamjoelle”,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback regarding your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.

We are very delighted that you had a pleasant stay and to know that you consider us a great hotel!

Regarding the breakfast, its price is set according to the competition and we have a very competitive price compared to some 4 star hotels.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back on your next visit to Lisbon!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
486 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
769 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
799 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
5,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Property: Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing