We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location - it doesn't look and feel like an hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lisbon Happy Hostel
Ranked #107 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location - it doesn't look and feel like an hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

When we got to Lisbon happy hostel we thought we got the wrong address
There is no sign or anything showing that there was an hotel or hostel in the building
The restaurant next to it had a huge table and therefore we couldn't get in the building easily

The room was pretty and basic so was the toilet but overall very nice.

Kitchen was good, free food and clean space

Wifi was not working properly especially because we were located at the end of the corridor.

The girls Woking there were nice but their English was not that good

I would love to revamp that hostel. It needs help to get attention out there

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigmund84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    48
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's in a great location and they offer toast and cereal for breakfast. It is a good value for money paid.
There are some disadvantages though. The hostel doesn't have any big sign at the door so it was quite hard to find it. Also on the door bell and on the front door it's not written that there is the hostel. The hostel is in the 3rd floor (without elevator) and its quite hard to carry up all the luggage.
The hostel is in the center (pedestrian zone) and it can be quite noisy some nights.
Our head was also itching very much after sleeping on those pillows so I think there might be some bed bugs or something in the pillows.

Room Tip: Try to get the room that is not turned on the street, because it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokicaMaribor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Good value for your money. Close to metro, bars, restaurants, shopping. Memorize the address before going, there is no sign.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labin, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hostel is very clean and the location could not be better! You will have to search for the number on the door because there is no sign for the hostel. We had a double room with shared bathroom. The room is very comfy, the bathroom a little small but clean. There is a well equipped kitchen where you can prepare meals if you want (Lisbon is not so cheap! :))
If we go back to Lisbon (hope we will), we'll stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

the location is great, as Lisbon is small, you can walk around and go back to hostel if you wish so.
the room is nice and clean, you can make you own breakfast when you wake up.
we had a room with shared bathroom, wich is a bit small, but brand new.
the owner is very nice and friendly. we feel like in our apartment. she also explained how to get from the airport by bus.

Room Tip: room looking street was nice, not at all noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Augusta Boutique House
Augusta Boutique House
#149 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Feel Lisbon B&B
Feel Lisbon B&B
#76 of 420 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
#244 of 420 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Happy Hostel

Property: Lisbon Happy Hostel
Address: Rua dos Correeiros n. 161, Lisbon 1100-164, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lisbon Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing