We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lisbon Happy Hostel
Ranked #137 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Hostel in center in the center of Lisbon, with almost no service and small uncomfortable rooms and very poor breakfast. Average is only for location. No AC and only electric heater. It's nice to have kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

this hostel is located on a quiet street, right off a major tourist street so it's nice and quiet. the set up was more like apartments to me, with rooms off one hall and a kitchen and small common area. we got a triple room for the 2 of us, which was fine however i think it would have been cramped with a 3rd person. the room was clean and the location is very close to the metro and several major plazas.

i was only surprised to be checked in by a woman who spoke only portuguese. that and if you're a light sleeper (like me), request a room away from the kitchen!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supertearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

When we got to Lisbon happy hostel we thought we got the wrong address
There is no sign or anything showing that there was an hotel or hostel in the building
The restaurant next to it had a huge table and therefore we couldn't get in the building easily

The room was pretty and basic so was the toilet but overall very nice.

Kitchen was good, free food and clean space

Wifi was not working properly especially because we were located at the end of the corridor.

The girls Woking there were nice but their English was not that good

I would love to revamp that hostel. It needs help to get attention out there

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigmund84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's in a great location and they offer toast and cereal for breakfast. It is a good value for money paid.
There are some disadvantages though. The hostel doesn't have any big sign at the door so it was quite hard to find it. Also on the door bell and on the front door it's not written that there is the hostel. The hostel is in the 3rd floor (without elevator) and its quite hard to carry up all the luggage.
The hostel is in the center (pedestrian zone) and it can be quite noisy some nights.
Our head was also itching very much after sleeping on those pillows so I think there might be some bed bugs or something in the pillows.

Room Tip: Try to get the room that is not turned on the street, because it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokicaMaribor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Good value for your money. Close to metro, bars, restaurants, shopping. Memorize the address before going, there is no sign.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hostel is very clean and the location could not be better! You will have to search for the number on the door because there is no sign for the hostel. We had a double room with shared bathroom. The room is very comfy, the bathroom a little small but clean. There is a well equipped kitchen where you can prepare meals if you want (Lisbon is not so cheap! :))
If we go back to Lisbon (hope we will), we'll stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

the location is great, as Lisbon is small, you can walk around and go back to hostel if you wish so.
the room is nice and clean, you can make you own breakfast when you wake up.
we had a room with shared bathroom, wich is a bit small, but brand new.
the owner is very nice and friendly. we feel like in our apartment. she also explained how to get from the airport by bus.

Room Tip: room looking street was nice, not at all noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnacarnavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,193 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Aljubarrota
Pensao Aljubarrota
#193 of 262 in Lisbon
55 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
#306 of 503 in Lisbon
107 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#7 of 503 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Happy Hostel

Address: Rua dos Correeiros n. 161, Lisbon 1100-164, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing