We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and awesome hotel !”
Review of Lisbon City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lisbon City Hotel
Ranked #158 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location and awesome hotel !”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Not in the nicest district itself, but was next to the metro, 28 tram stop, and less than 5 euros cab to centre districts.
The rooms and hotel are stylishly renovated, super clean, and an amazing value. Much better than many other budget-friendly hotels I've visited. Plus, there was a gorgeous, clean bathtub in our room.
Skip on the breakfast, the many cafes on the same street offer better selection, and MUCH better coffee, for less price.
Only 12 euros cab from the airport, or as I said, about 15 minutes by metro.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a bigger balcony. Front rooms face busy street and have some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBSHMSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    258
    103
    15
    18
See reviews for
56
266
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here Sept 2013, we stayed for 5nights Sat-Thur.

Upon check in around 7pm we was told that, a window in our room was broken therefore we had to go and stay at a different hotel. Not a good start as I think the hotel was actually overbooked but just wasn't honest about this.

We went to the other hotel stayed the night and returned in the Morning to check-in. Our room was small, clean and had all the necessary things, safe/tv/free wifi/balcony etc.

Hotel is located 5 stops away from Rossio square which is where lots of things happen and close to Baixo Chiado. The hotel is bang in the middle of two metro stations both within 2-3mins walk of each other.

Before booking this hotel,I had read about the homeless shelter next to the hotel. This is true but it's not as bad as people make it out to be. Yes there is homeless people around 5pm, when the center opens to accommodate their needs.
I saw some people start to gather in the morning but they kept themselves to themselves on the other side of the hotel and we didn't feel unsafe.

We had a pleasant stay, my only complaint would be the PILLOWS! They were awfully flat and gave you terrible neck/shoulder pain. We ended up putting the blanket under the pillow which helped.

We loved Lisbon and this hotel was well priced so no major complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mytravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokkola,Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

For three stars hotell this was perfect. Rooms without a balcony are little bit dark but with balcony there is anything you need for two and still enough big in both ways . Location was great and it was easy to go in and out. :)
Breakfest was simple and there was no variation but you can manage with that very well. The staff was friendly and we could change a room with balcony even if we didnt get it right away. We got even a bottle of wine because of my birthday as a present :)
Nobody tried to steal from us and even there were a center for poor and homeless people nearby the hotell they didint bother us.
Lisbon is a beautifull city and warm even in november and only thing which made us nerves sometimes was those who offered drugs about 15 times during our stay for four days in this city. But not nearby this hotell. Keep a good work!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horta, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

nothing romantic but practical with all one could ask for ( good bed, balcony, central, wifi, bar, ...), an honest hotel, and it´s location is perfect as one can walk to everywhere from it - the breakfast is also just right, considering you are in a non breakfast culture country, the variaty was good, incl. fresh fruits and wholesome breads...

Room Tip: some rooms open up to the side road, they are more quiet, or less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EstreladoAtlantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuurne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Small hotel very close to metro stations and within 10 minutes walk of Parque Martim Monez. Quite modern with a balcony to sit outside and have a glass of whine in the late evening, airco, ... All you need when you stay in Lissabon, not the most extra ordinairy hotel, but if you stay in Lissabon you do not just sit in your hotel room.... You are out in Alfama, Baixa Chiado, ... All in reach of this hotel with the metro in less than 10 minutes.
If you book early you have a cheap rate compared to other hotels. All what you need.

Helpful?
1 Thank FilVL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week. This hotel is in an excellent location - it only takes about 10 minutes to get to the centre and other places outside of the centre are still are walkable distance. The hotel is also easy to get to from the airport by the Metro (cost 1.40 Euros). We were slightly sceptical when booking as previous comments have mentioned the soup kitchen next door and homeless people hanging around. I have to say, yes there is a kitchen there but we never experienced any problems at all and didn't feel like the area was unsafe. We walked back to the hotel around 12am - 1am most nights without any problems.

The staff were really friendly during our stay.

We asked for an early check in (flight landed at 10am) and a late check out (weren't flying back until 8:30pm) however, they weren't able to accomodate this. Not so much an issue going back but when we arrived we had to entertain ourselves for 3 hours before we could check in which wasn't ideal as we were hot and tired from travelling.

Our room was very small! Normally we wouldn't be bothered about this as we see the room as somewhere to sleep, not live in, however it really was too small for a week's stay. What made it worse was when we saw the size of the room next door! What made things worse was the lack of wardrobe space (and hangers) and the fact there weren't any hooks on the door or in the bathroom where I could store my toiletry bag. This meant having to clutter the small bathroom shelf with our tolietries to avoid having to get them out and put away plus find somewhere to put the bag everyday.

Another issue on the small room side was the fact that if we opened the patio door, we then couldn't get past the bed. You had to shut the door to get past the edge of the bed. The windows are sound proof however as the hotel is on a main road you can still hear quite a bit of traffic noise.

Breakfast was good - good choice of food available. Apparently breakfast is normally held in a room next to the reception, however, we were advised that as the hotel was full breakfast would be held on level -1 (i.e. the basement) as the normal area wasn't big enough. The basement breakfast room was the conference room. It was slightly depressing having to eat in a conference room in the basement! We opted for breakfast to save us having to find somewhere to eat each morning, however, if I'd known we would be eating in the basement breakfast room I think I would have opted out.

A general note: watch out for pick-pockets! Yes, you will get this issue in most cities and really you just need to use common sense but make sure you keep an eye out if eating at a restaurant with street seating. Pick-pockets like to sit down and pretend to look at the menu or will order just a coffee but they are also eyeing up if they can grab a bag! Make sure you put your chair or table leg through the handles and keep by your feet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elbie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Public Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fruitful comments following your stay with us.
We will constantly improve our services to provide greater experience to every guest.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed just one night on a quick cultural visit to Lisbon. The hotel is ideally located with a short walk to the city centre and very close to the metro station. The rooms are small but ideal for a short stay. The bed is very comfortable and the room had a lovely small balcony to sit out. Found the hotel to be quiet at night, did not hear any noise from the adjacent road. Breakfast was fine but not a huge choice on offer, all the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Public Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments.
We appreciate your compliment on the guestroom comfort during your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Customer Service Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Travel Park
Hotel Travel Park
#108 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#148 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial O Paradouro
Residencial O Paradouro
#150 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Botanico Hotel
Botanico Hotel
#143 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#164 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon City Hotel

Property: Lisbon City Hotel
Address: Av. Almirante Reis 49, Lisbon 1150-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon City Hotel, the newest urban design hotel in Lisbon within easy walking distance of Lisbon downtown and just five minutes from Lisbon International Airport. The sophisticated modern architecture and welcoming atmosphere boast excellent accommodation offering individually-controlled air-conditioning, sound-proofed windows, cable TV, safe-deposit box, direct-dial telephone, work desk, Internet access and data port. Facilities and services include conference and meeting rooms, rent-a-car, laundry, well equipped business center, the exquisite City Lounge Bar, baby-sitting, complementary Buffet breakfast, sightseeing excursions and a metro station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lisbon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing